We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Belmond Charleston Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Belmond Charleston Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,878: English reviews
United States
Reviewed 2 April 2015

Our family of 4 spent 3 nights at the Belmond Charleston Place and had a wonderful experience. We booked a parlor suite (6A) and the adjoining room (609). From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed the staff exceeded my (already high) expectations. I booked our stay using a credit card program though my Amex credit card that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VacationIsMyJob
Sawyer
Reviewed 1 April 2015

This is a wonderful property with an amazing staff, committed to making your stay perfect. Don't be afraid of the price because it's well worth it. Anyone who says money can't buy happiness hasn't stayed here.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Richard M
Southern Ohio
Reviewed 30 March 2015

We spent 3 very comfortable nights at this stylish property. Without exception the staff exceeded expectations. The Palmetto Grill, Charleston Grill and Thoroughbred Grill were all excellent for hotel outlets. The room was splendid and the beds were a pleasure. Unfortunately our room door did not lock several times. On one occasion this led to an unexpected 1:00 am visit...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jazzguySO
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear JazzguySO, Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us. While we are glad you enjoyed our restaurants, staff and comfortable rooms, we are sorry you had an issue during your visit. I can assure you that this issue has since been fixed, but we again apologize that you had to deal with it while staying with...

Reviewed 29 March 2015 via mobile

Up all night -paper thin walls. I can hear every conversation from the rooms on both sides of me! This would not really be an issue if my kids and sister where in adjoining/adjacent rooms as we were promised. Instead, we are separated by loud, drunken idiots throwing things around the room and slapping each other. I can hear everything...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mt w
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear mt w, Thank you for your feedback as we go over all of these reviews to better our guests experience. While we are glad you found the front desk to be understanding, we are sorry you had noise issues during your stay. Again we appreciate your comments. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 29 March 2015

We found the Belmond to be beautiful in every way. The rooms are gorgeous, the staff warm, friendly and highly professional and the location cannot be beat. We will definitely be returning to stay at the Belmond again. Thank you to everyone at the Belmond for offering us their sophisticated brand of southern hospitality!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank R L
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear R L, Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and found our staff to be friendly and professional, as we all do our best to ensure excellent customer service for our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to Charleston again soon! Sincerely, Paul...

Houston
Reviewed 28 March 2015

The best thing about the Charleston Place is its location, adjacent to both King Street shopping and the market and a short walk to the major sightseeing attractions in Chaleston. The downside is the price--I am paying (with taxes etc) $600 a night (in season) for a Premier King Balcony Room. Frankly, it is not worth that price. My room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Golfdr
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Golfdr, Thank you for your positive and constructive feedback as we read all of these reviews to better our guests' experience. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our central location, but also appreciate your comments on the rest of you and your friends' stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond...

Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewed 28 March 2015

Great Hotel, beautiful pool, grounds and building. Only downside is they are doing some pretty extensive renovations and the construction noise was noticeable during the day, other than that perfect. Impeccable service from a great staff and beautiful rooms.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Sean S, Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and appreciate your kind words regarding our service, staff and rooms. We hope that you will choose to come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Atanta, GA
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I was upgraded to one of their newly renovated rooms and it was beautifully appointed and comfortable. The sounds from the hallway were a little too loud but otherwise the room was perfect. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The location was ideal for all Charleston attractions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TraveLoggin
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear TraveLoggin, Thank you for your kind review of Belmond Charleston Place. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our newly redesigned Premier rooms and that you found our staff to be nice and helpful during your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Charleston again soon! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Charleston
Reviewed 27 March 2015

I left an article of clothing in my room only to notice that it was missing long after my departure. It only took a single phone call to the security department to receive the offer of having the garment shipped to my home. Thank you. Beautiful facility and fantastic service. I checked in on a Saturday. Even though the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear David, Thank you for your kind review! We are so glad that security was able to find your left item and send it to you directly. We truly appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Hickory, North Carolina
Reviewed 26 March 2015

This hotel is pure elegance! The rooms and Club Level have been newly decorated -- very sheek, yet very classically Southern. The color palattes are soothing and inviting. If you can swing for the Club Level, the food and service are excellent....good variety, newspapers, W-Fi, nice cocktails, and a quiet place to retreat. The indoor pool - which opens up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gerrie220
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear gerrie220, Thank you for your very kind review on your recent stay. We are glad you got to enjoy our recently redesigned Club Level as well as the Club Lounge amenities, it really is a treat! It sounds like overall you enjoyed your stay, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your experience and we...

565 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (548)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (129)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (133)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (183)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,565 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
King Charles Inn
#17 of 60 in Charleston
2,564 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
1,233 reviews
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just minutes from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including a full-service European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; award-winning dining; 28 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Orient-Express service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $385 - $961 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 4.5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spend a little extra and book CLUB level!”
 of 5 bubbles B5008GZmichellek, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Interior rooms are quite nice and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles Maugie_L, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“4th floor has fitness room and spa”
 of 5 bubbles heatherbM7939FA, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a balcony that looks over the main strip if possible.”
 of 5 bubbles lbunker67, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We paid for and enjoyed a room with a king with the little balcony that was fantastic.”
 of 5 bubbles rejohnson, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay