We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Belmond Charleston Place

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Belmond Charleston Place
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Belmond Charleston Place
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,001: English reviews
north carolina
Reviewed 1 August 2015

We were so impressed with the level of service and true "Southern Hospitality" the staff displayed at the hotel. Starting with the valet and ending at check-out, everyone did their job efficiently and with a smile. It's a busy hotel with lots of guests coming and going. You might say a bit of a frantic lobby area, but no one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bjd3
Michigan
Reviewed 31 July 2015

This hotel was amazing! Amazing accommodations, amazing food, amazing staff, etc. The pool was a great size for the location.....I was impressed! Our room was a nice size and our family of 4 did not feel like we were on top of each other. The food (we were on the club level) was very good....breakfasts were great with lots of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Skigirl1012
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewed 30 July 2015 via mobile

Beautiful hotel in a great central location perfect for touring charleston by foot or by cab. The staff was very friendly and the room was great, nice decor and clean. There was a slight lack of attention to detail that kept this from being a completely perfect stay. There were makeup stains on multiple towels and a request to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Msp2485
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 July 2015

I've stayed here twice, most recently for our elopement. I called a few weeks before and was put in touch with Robert Ball on the concierge staff. He was GREAT! Helped with so much prior to our arrival and even married us! All the hotel staff were helpful and at check in they even knew our story having stayed there...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kellis692
Alma, Arkansas
Reviewed 28 July 2015 via mobile

Walk out any door of this grand luxury hotel into the lovely historic district, and within close walking distance you will find first class shopping, restaurants, and the beautiful Bay Area. The City Market is 1/2 block away. Service here is among the friendliest we've ever experienced and they are very polite and pampering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank airedalemom7
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear airedalemom7, Thank you for your kind review. We’re happy that you liked our location and found it convenient. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 July 2015

My niece found this on Rue LaLa and so we had a great discount but the service was world class throughout our stay. The location couldn't have been better, right across from the market and walking distance from everywhere you'd want to go. The entire concierge staff makes you feel as if it is their entire reason for living is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MaureenONeill
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear MaureenONeill, We are happy that you and your niece enjoyed your stay with us. And that your found our staff to be friendly and accommodating. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you two back in the future! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Virginia
Reviewed 26 July 2015

Springtime in Charleston is clearly the most popular season there. Rates are high, however, Charleston Place is an ideal choice for many reasons. First, location. heasing our of the property's entrance, there are a plethora of places to aim for on foot. This includes options for historical sight-seeing, wonderful dining, as well as shopping. Rooms at this hotel have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravelDontTour
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear TravelDoneTour, We are so glad that you had a wonderful experience with us at Belmond Charleston Place! We’re happy that you liked the cuisine at the restaurants and found our staff to be helpful and attentive. Thank you for your review and we appreciate your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Sincerely, Paul...

North Carolina
Reviewed 25 July 2015 via mobile

Our room was nice and the bed was comfy. Staff was very nice. Our first room's AC was broken. It took about 45 mins to get someone to come fix it. He fixed it then a few hours it was broken again. We had to change rooms at 11pm. Other than a very humid and hot first day in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdrianneO
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear AdrianneO, Thank you for your review. We are sorry you had some issues with your room upon arrival, but we are glad we were able to put you in a great room for the rest of your stay. We appreciate your patience and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 25 July 2015

This is a beautiful hotel that delivered great service and excellent food. My room was spacious and had wonderful amenities. The bed was luxurious and comfy. The bathroom was very clean and I loved the walk-in shower with the rainshower head.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Kim R, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to welcoming you back! Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston Place

Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewed 25 July 2015

Chris, Barbara, and Chris at the Belmond Charleston Place are true examples of professionalism and courtesy. I help to plan the meetings for my company, and the one we did the last week needed last minute changes and adjustments. The crew at Charleston Place took each email with grace and produced a flawless experience for my leadership team.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Terie M
CharlestonPlace, General Manager at Belmond Charleston Place, responded to this review

Dear Terie M, We are so pleased that our Meeting Planner and Sales Team staff were so helpful to you during your company meeting. They really do work hard to go above and beyond, so we truly appreciate you sharing your experience! Thank you and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Sincerely, Paul Stracey General Manager Belmond Charleston...

651 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (631)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (153)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Room/Suite (141)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
2:54
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (227)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,960 reviews
Planters Inn
#10 of 60 in Charleston
1,608 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Historic Charleston’s premier hotel just steps from famous homes, museums and churches. World-class luxurious accommodations including European spa; rooftop pool; “The Club,” a private concierge level located on the top two floors; multiple award-winning restaurants; 20 exclusive boutiques and the legendary Belmond service, all in the heart of downtown. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Belmond Charleston Place

Address: 205 Meeting Street, Charleston, SC 29401-3110
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $448 - $1,082 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Charleston Place 5*
Number of rooms: 434
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Belmond, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belmond Charleston Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charleston Place By Orient-Express Hotel Charleston
Place Hotel Charleston
Charleston Place Hotel
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Charleston
#4 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#10 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#17 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and other travellers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Belmond Charleston Place staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms with balconies really give you the feeling of gracious Southern hospitality.”
680dianej, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid the 6th floor. There is no view.”
patgammon, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Club level. Rooms 808 - 818.”
damonr399, 13 Apr 2017 | Read review
“While many reviewers praise the club floor, we found our room on the 5th floor perfect for our needs and much more affordable.”
HappyCamper19046, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book the Club level”
jljkd, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5