We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Booking.comUSD 250*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,026 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,018: English reviews
Start your review of Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel
 Click to rate
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I were so pleased with our stay here two years ago, we decided to stay again during our March visit to Charleston. What was once an elegantly furnished lobby and room with a southern touch is now a cookie cutter ultra contemporary hotel. As soon as we walked into the once plush lobby, we knew things had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DRS21281
Heather G, Operations Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DRS21281, We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts on our recent renovations. We hope that our whimsical design will provoke our guests to venture out and discover something truly indigenous to Charleston. Thank you again for your comments.

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Location nice..but the staff with the exception of the bell staff had no interest it seemed.. paid for a corner room with balcony.. balcony was all stone walls so couldn't see anything like the others with wrought iron railings..had to stand on toes to see anything..wrong to charge.. also air conditioner not working very well..they control settings. Lot of bugs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mdavis6613
Heather G, Operations Manager at Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mdavis6613, We are sincerely sorry that you were dissatisfied with your room and for the experience that you had. We appreciate the opportunity to hear your feedback so that we may make appropriate changes. Should you return to Charleston we hope you get the chance to rediscover the Charleston Renaissance.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well equipped spacious room in old Greyhound building. Wifi is payable and poor if not in the conference room network. No restaurant but free breakfast with limited selection. Valet parking staff very helpful the rest is average. Very close to the heart of shopping district. The conference facilities were well served.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ivan F
Greenville, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent warm knowledgeable reception from the valet as we drove up. It so happened they were having a worldwide Renaissance event. Complimentary local beers, local whiskey and Rodney King barbecue. Also a local band. Well done event! Rooms are comfortable, bright and cheery. All staff is on their toes! Happy to recommend the Renaissance Charleston- oh yes, great location just...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Spence C
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lobby was nice, construction on dining room and bar so they were not available. Front desk seemed indifferent and annoyed not sure why. Great locations. We were there for 1 night and we normally don't spend that kind of money but we were treating ourselves. Our room was very nice and clean but our reservation was screwed up and we...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diana D
Management response:

Dear Diana D, Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay with us. I am glad that we were able to collect your comments and not only correct the issues but compensate you based on the experience you had. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again should your travels bring you back to...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Full disclosure = I am a Hilton guy. I travel a lot for work and Hilton properties are my "go to" choice. But I do occasionally stay at Marriott brands, mostly Courtyards and Spring Hill Suites. So when this Renaissance was the hotel for a wedding, I thought "great, we get to stay at a top of the line Marriott"....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike B
Management response:

Dear Mike B, We are very grateful for your generous feedback and have shared your feedback with our appropriate teams to ensure we continue to have our best products in place. We hope to have you back soon to experience our new Restaurant when it opens up in June.

Webster, New York
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We upgraded to this hotel from a Courtyard. We did that to be in the city and could walk around town. The hotel is well situated to get around town. After booking we were informed that the restaurant would be closed for an upgrade. Because of this the hotel offered a morning breakfast that was more than acceptable. They offered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard U
Park City, Utah
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Newly remodeled lobby and rooms. Friendly staff. Excellent location. Free guest bikes. Great platinum free breakfast. Gym is new and nice. Pool is a little small (but hotel is small) with nice comfy lounge chairs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Theskigal
Kennebunkport, Maine
Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great. The hotel is comfortable and very millennial friendly (I am not one). Nothing like "your mother's Marriott" as the bedrooms have no carpet, funky art and wallpaper. I didn't mind it but some might. The flatscreen TV was terrific and huge for the size of the room. Loved it. The bathroom wallpaper was bunny rabbits which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaineSnookums
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was lovely and spacious, the bathrooms well-appointed (Aveda bath products, yay!) and the staff courteous, friendly and helpful. Because the restaurant was closed for renovations, a complimentary hot breakfast buffet was offered, which, while not elaborate (scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, biscuits, fresh fruit, toast/bagels) was fine. A complimentary wine/beer cocktail bar was also provided from 5:00-7:00 or so. (a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank landryclan

121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Andrew Pinckney Inn
#21 of 61 in Charleston
1,524 reviews
The Restoration
#6 of 61 in Charleston
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Market Pavilion Hotel
#9 of 61 in Charleston
1,343 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Planters Inn
#10 of 61 in Charleston
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Around every wrought-iron fence, narrow cobble stoned street, and moss-draped oak, there is something charmingly Southern to discover in Charleston, SC. When you step through the doors of the re-imagined Renaissance® Charleston Historic District Hotel, this unique Charleston paradigm unfolds. More than just a place to lay your head, our new guest rooms evoke a personal home-like space, furnished and decorated with a mix of modern and vintage pieces collected over time, and local finds one might discover on famous King Street. Stay energized with our fitness center and outdoor saltwater pool or our Navigator can help you discover nearby historic landmarks, shopping, dining and entertainment. One of the city's most renowned small event destinations, our locally inspired breaks and creative room set ups offer the perfect location for weddings and meetings designed for the senses. Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel is a place that never gets old, no matter how much history surrounds it. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel

Address: 68 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1430
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $332 - $750 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Charleston
Charleston Renaissance
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#30 Business Hotel in Charleston
#32 Family Hotel in Charleston
#34 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Renaissance Charleston Historic District Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask about where balcony is and if it is a concrete wall around..do not pay for that..”
mdavis6613, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“not near the electrical room at the end of the hall”
dianadM8397EW, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Free wifi for Marriott members”
benjaminh512, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms are great”
RRSATL, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't get a room with juliet balcony facing street !!!!!!!!”
geraldinegao, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 250* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 250
HotelQuicklyUSD 321
Expedia.comUSD 251
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates