We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown\/Riverview
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 559: English reviews
Marietta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nothing spectacular but in a convenient location and clean. No complaints and nothing out of this world. Had a breakfast but not our thing. Nice view of the river. We ended up here because our original booking was at a hotel that is pet friendly and we have allergies.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
Ashley G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Amy K, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtwon/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you liked our location and river views. We hope to have the opportunity to welcoeme you back in the future and win a 5 star review. Until then, wishing...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here for our "mini-moon" First time visiting Charleston and would recommend this hotel for first timers. Let me say this is not a luxury hotel and you get what you pay for...but for this hotel class I would give it 4 stars. When we were there they had different activities/snacks in the lobby daily which was fun. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Krystal G
Ashley G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Krystal G, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a nice first visit to Charleston, SC. We are glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of our hotels many complimenatry amenities. We do hope...

CHESTERFIELD
Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff was extremely friendly, including front desk, breakfast servers, and shuttle driver. They were extremely helpful with recommendations and suggestions that made our stay a success! The hotel has a complimentary shuttle that goes to the downtown area from late afternoon to late evening. Rooms were very spacious and clean. Will stay at this hotel again when visiting Charleston.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
Ashley G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Tim C, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed our complimentary shuttle service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for a...

Greer, South Carolina
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband frequents the MUSC health system, and since we live in Greenville SC, I have started to try different hotels relatively close to the hospital. I will tell you, I DID have a reservation for the Comfort Suites on Bee St. ( for the proximity to MUSC) but cancelled after reading the reviews on their parking situation. For myself,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PghGirlGoneSouth
Ashley G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear PghGirlGoneSouth, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience with us. I will be sure to pass on you kind words to our hardworking staff for a job well done. We would love to...

A TripAdvisor Member
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is my second time here for work and the team at this hotel are wonderful. The hotel is beautiful and the view is on point. Strongly recommend everything is about the hotel is a knock out. Only wish they would kick off breakfast at 0645 or earlier.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Sumter, South Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for the weekend and couldn't have been happier. The only downside to visiting this time of year is the amount of people trying to get to James island. When we pulled up parking is a little tight but not too bad. Good looking lobby as soon as you walk in. Staff couldn't get any friendlier. They told us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccoywe
Ashley G, Owner at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Mccoywe, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtown/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our hardworking staff for a job well done. We hope to welcome...

Jasper Ga.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel while we visited downtown Charleston last month. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was very tasty with a nice variety of choices. In fact, one morning they even had corned beef hash as a choice and I'm one of those people that loves corned beef hash and have never...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dennis M
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

An average hotel. Nothing special! Stayed for business, and it was conveniently located. Just over the bridge to Charleston. Front desk staff seemed very distracted when I tried to check in and then again when I stopped by to ask a question the next day. The room was clean and large but seemed somewhat dated. The harbor view was nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank amurph12
Ashley G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Amurph12, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your input and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us. We always want guest expectations to be met and exceeded upon arrival. We are pleased to hear that you did enjoy our complimentary hot new breakfast buffett and harbor views. We regret to...

Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Let me say this first to ensure your visit isn't ruined by a "possible" temporary parking lot experience. (You might not even run into this dilemma) "If" you arrive at night, it's likely that you will find it nearly impossible to find a parking space. You might have to park alongside the building or along the fenceline on the backside...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank C. S
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Spring Hill Suites is a great place to stay while in Charleston. It is right on the water next to a marina so the views are great. Parking is free which is a big plus. They have different little snacks in the lobby every afternoon. The shuttle runs into downtown from 5 until Midnight which is very convenient. Altogether a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Megan R
Ashley G, Manager at SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview, responded to this review

Dear Megan R, Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Downtwon/Riverview. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and our complimentary evening shuttle service. I will be sure to pass on your comments about the bathroom light to our team. We...

309 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (99)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (122)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Double Suite (40)
Viewed
King Suite (41)
Viewed
Pool (6)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
The Hotel (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hampton Inn Charleston - Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott Charleston Riverview, the ideal choice when traveling to Charleston for business, family vacations, or romantic getaways. Conveniently located near MUSC and Roper Hospital, you will find your inspiration at the SpringHill Suites. From the moment you enter this downtown Charleston hotel located 1.5 mi from the bustling historic district, you will find breathtaking views, old world charm, and unpretentious southern hospitality. Our spacious all-suite hotel's service amenities are designed to fit your lifestyle- with suites that are 25% bigger than average hotel rooms. We'll spoil you with amenities such as free WIFI, complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, complimentary evening shuttle to the historic district (5pm-11pm), and an outdoor pool & whirlpool… just to name a few! So, what are you waiting for? Come stay at the SpringHill Suites by Marriott and let us show you what Charleston is all about! ... more   less 

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview

Address: 98 Ripley Pointe Dr, Charleston, SC 29407-7597
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $168 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview 3*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview Hotel Charleston
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Charleston
#28 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#37 Family Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Boxborough, Massachusetts
4 months ago
Spindale, North Carolina, United States
5 months ago
West Point, New York

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room options include river view”
 of 5 bubbles 273TimC, 26 Nov 2016 | Read review
“closer to front desk is not as quiet, but very convenient to coffee bar.”
 of 5 bubbles PghGirlGoneSouth, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“King suite was amazing!”
 of 5 bubbles mccoywe, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms near the elevator and housekeeping closets are noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaL739, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Get a waterview. Wonderful sunrise watching location”
 of 5 bubbles GerryG719, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay