We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Restoration

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Restoration
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

945 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Restoration
See the most recent reviews
Showing 938: English reviews
Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2016

OK, let's start with the obvious, it's on the high side of pricing in Charleston, but it seems like everything is. Now the rest, it's a fantastic place. The staff is incredibly attentive, well trained, knowledgeable, accommodating and friendly. A special shout out to Chrissy who saved my marriage by finding me a 2 bedroom so my kids had a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FlaGator09
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Glad we were able to save your marriage!! I'll add it to the resume "marriage saver extraordinaire". Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! Can't wait to see you and your lovely family again one day soon!

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Our first trip to Charleston could not have gone better especially with the accommodations, service and staff at this hotel. Rooms are perfect, updated and clean. Location is easily walkable to shopping, dining and historic interests. I can’t see a reason why I would stay anywhere else on our next trip to Charleston. Highly recommend The Restoration. Only complaint I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

I can't see a reason why you would stay anywhere else either!! Your complaint about the length of your stay is legitimate and one that we receive quite often. We are working on a solution but in the mean time, safe travels and we hope to see you again very soon.... on a longer trip!!!

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Very cool place to stay. Great location. The breakfast in picnic baskets was a great touch. Lots to do! Bikes provided for getting around the area. Rooftop bar and nightly wine tastings. Nice rooftop pool. The employees were super friendly. We will be back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank No1stonesfan
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you for the review!! So glad you'll be back in the future, we look forward to seeing you!!

Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewed 23 June 2016

This was our first trip to Charleston and had reviewed several hotels before deciding on The Restoration, we made a great choice! If you prefer large chain hotels with the same ugly boring decor, small rooms, and large guest capacity The Restoration is not for you. It's a small boutique hotel made up of several buildings connected by courtyards, exquistly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mellowery13
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

The Restoration is truly a unique and special place. We are so proud of the product we offer and we strive to ensure the needs of our guests are not only met but exceeded. Reading this review, I just couldn't be more proud of our team that they were able to keep you so comfortable and excite all of your...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 23 June 2016

We were in town for an appointment at MUSC and decided to spend the night and make a trip out of it. It was the perfect location for us. The staff was friendly and helpful, and we even got a complimentary room upgrade when we checked in (which was such a nice surprise considering our "staycation" was for a medical...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kait_SMast
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

I wish your staycation was under better circumstances but I am so happy you were able to make the most of it. On behalf of the ladies and gentlemen at The Restoration, we hope everything worked out in your favor with MUSC and we can't wait to host a more relaxing staycation for you in the future!! Thank you for...

Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 20 June 2016

My wife and I could not have been more pleased with our stay at The Restoration. From the large, clean and beautifully appointed suite to the friendliness of the entire staff, we are genuinely qualm free and are pleased to give The Restoration an Excellent rating!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig1103
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

We can't thank you enough for the excellent rating. I am personally so thrilled that we were able to create such a wonderful stay for you and your wife. We really hope you're able to come back and see us again soon!!

Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Everything was perfect from the minute we arrived to the moment we departed. The weather was terrible, basically a tropical storm...but we left that at the door and the amenities and staff made it easy to forget. The room was immaculate and luxurious, the amenities were ample and beyond expectation. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. Absolutely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

We take complaints very seriously at The Restoration Hotel and I will personally share the issue of the shortness of your stay with our upper management!! We wish you could have stayed longer as well especially if you had to deal with mother nature not being on your side. I'm so happy you chose The Restoration for your staycation and...

Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 June 2016

This was our first visit with The Restoration and is was sheer class with a few surprises! Upon arrival we were greeted and bags unpacked and our car parked in a cover parking garage! The hotel offers bicycles and is right on King Street where every shoppers dream is so close! From first view the entrance and atrium are whimsically...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Trickster1
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed our hotel, amenities and it sounds like you utilized our outlets. In addition to our food and beverage options, I hope you were able to visit our spa and Port Mercantile sundry and retail shop. If not, it gives you a good...

Reviewed 20 June 2016

great location. beautiful room. cool boutique hotel. Best part was the people who worked there. so friendly and looking to make sure the guests were happy. Tamara the concierge was great in helping with restaurants to hit and things to do. would definitely go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann M
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

Our greatest assets are our ladies and gentlemen and I am so thrilled they exceeded your expectations!! Especially Tamara who is so wonderful and knowledgable. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Safe travels!

Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I loved the size of the suite - reminded me of a studio apartment in NY:) Here is my list of the positives and negatives of this hotel. Positives * huge room - a family of 4 would have been comfortable in our suite * 2 large screen tvs - one in living room, one in bedroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Abesbabe23
klfriedrichs, Front Office Manager at The Restoration, responded to this review

We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It is so important to hear the good and the bad so we can learn and grow. I am so happy that you enjoyed your room, the location and the breakfast. However, we strive to provide the best customer service possible and it sounds like we fell short on...

658 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (312)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (93)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (136)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (319)
Viewed
Amenities (9)
Viewed
Luxury One Bedroom Suite (87)
Viewed
Luxury One Bedroom Suite with Balcony (177)
Viewed
The Hotel (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,726 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#6 of 60 in Charleston
1,314 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
3,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 60 in Charleston
1,964 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 60 in Charleston
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Newly Opened & Re-Created The Restoration welcomes you to be our guest at our newly expanded location on Charleston's iconic King Street. From food and drinks to culture and boutique shopping, we have recreated history for your enjoyment. Come get inspired and experience what the New South is all about firsthand. See below for more details. A world class hotel isn't just a place to get a good night's rest (or a refreshing afternoon tipple,) it's a meeting ground, a place where unexpected elements come together to delight, inspire and entertain. Uniting classic elegance with a natural and easy going Southern touch, The Restoration translates its hometown's vibrant local history and culture into a casually chic, luxurious hospitality experience. It's relaxed and refined and just a little bit left of center-a world where high meets low meets Low Country. The Restoration is all about community. From locals to international travelers, we provide an immersive, beautifully designed environment for guests to connect and relax. It is this civic-minded, progressive mindset that powers the Restoration brand- from our jewel box inspired spa and farm to table restaurant, to the motorcycles we custom design for guests to ride away on. This is classic Southern Hospitality, modernized with a few twists and expanded to meet and exceed the highest standards of today's luxury traveler. We welcome you to experience The Restoration first hand to see what the New South is all about. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Restoration

Address: 75 Wentworth St, Charleston, SC 29401-1427
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $372 - $1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Restoration 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Restoration reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Restoration On King Hotel Charleston
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Charleston
#2 Spa Hotel in Charleston
#2 Family Hotel in Charleston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#7 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#10 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Restoration staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question
Philly
Cincinnati, Ohio
over a year ago
Greensboro, North Carolina
over a year ago

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from The Restoration staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best location.”
762scottn, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go for a suite if you can afford it.”
SimoneSmithson, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Willing to bet there all good rooms.”
mresuz, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a room on the back side of the hotel, next to the garage. Very private, super quiet, great sleep. Would do it again.”
gk01970, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some rooms have stairs, so make sure that works for you.”
thomasmR4969GD, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5