We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Harbourview Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Harbourview Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,902 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbourview Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,890: English reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

If you are not familiar with Charleston & want to be able to walk to everything, this is your place! Quiet, clean and comfortable. Breakfast choices in the morning to have served in the room was a nice touch. The rooftop terrace nice place to sit at nighttime viewing the city.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pshahb
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear Pshahb, How great it is to see you took advantage of our most convenient location in Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for sharing your compliments of our beautiful views and complimentary services. We send our best and hope to accommodate you again in the future. Please contact me anytime if I...

Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We stayed here in August to celebrate our anniversary and were not disappointed. We had a room with a balcony on the 4th floor that overlooked the harbor and the fountain. The room was a nice size, the bed extremely comfortable, and the A/C very cold which was great on those hot days in Charleston. We were there for several...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank IrishDawgTraveler
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear IrishDawgTraveler, We are thrilled you had a terrific stay at the HarbourView Inn. On behalf of our entire team, we thank you for sharing your compliments of our services and amenities with us and our future guests. We hope to have you return to enjoy our view on a future visit to Historic Charleston. We send our best to...

Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Reviewed 16 August 2013

My family and I (wife, daughter 18, son 15) stayed for two nights at the Harbourview Inn in early August. It was our first trip to Charleston. The Inn is one of the reasons we hope to return to Charleston. Our room was on the 3rd floor in the newer section of the Inn and we had a fair but...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank RWM-JR
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear RWM-JR, We are so happy to read such a detailed description of your experience at the Harborview Inn. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your compliments of our free amenities and our friendly staff. We are glad you enjoyed the services and accommodations, and it will be our pleasure to welcome you back on a return visit....

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our family stayed at the Harbourview for 3 nights in early August and overall we were very happy with our choice of hotel. The location is ideal for walking to many places in the tourist district of Charleston and the trolley stop outside is quite convenient. Although there is no pool, our kids liked playing in the large fountain at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MUhrblock
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear MUhrblock, Thank you for providing us with such great feedback. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we appreciate you sharing your experience and suggestions with future travelers. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our specialized services in our gem of a hotel and took advantage of our 'perfect' location. While HarbourSide guest rooms do not have...

Chicago
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at Harbourview from July 17-20 for our anniversary. We loved the location and the perfect views. We had the corner suite with 2 balconies and enjoyed our morning breakfast and evening wine on the balcony, watching the harbor traffic. The suite was comfortable, clean, nicely decorated (didn't need the fireplace in July, but would be great in January!)....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ReaderChicago
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear ReaderChicago, We are so lucky to have two boaters take advantage of HarbourView Inn’s location and write such wonderful feedback about our views. On behalf of our entire staff, we appreciate you sharing your experience with future travelers, and we are thrilled to be a part of your special occasion. We hope we may accommodate you on a return...

Toronto
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Spent one night for a special occasion. Location is great as it is walking distance from the main shops and restaurants while the view is also an added bonus. Boutique hotel feel with southern charm. Overall service is above average with nice touches such as coffee and iced tea all day long, wine and cheese early evening and cookies and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ivoyageur
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear ivoyageur, HarbourView Inn is thrilled to be part of your special occasion. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers. We are happy to see you took advantage of our convenient location and enjoyed our specialized services. We hope to accommodate you again in the future, and we send our best...

Manhasset, New York
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

This is an upscale hotel right in the heart of downtown Historic Charleston. Pros: 1. Rooms are very large, decorated in Victorian fashion. Beds are very comfortable and the room is decorated very tastefully. 2. The hotel is beautiful inside and out. You feel a sense of luxury as soon as you enter. 3. Everything you'd want to see in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jt007_12
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear jt007_12, Manhasset, New York We thank you for this most informative review. All forms of guest feedback will help in the continuous improvements to the HarbourView Inn’s services and accommodations. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate your compliments of our specialized services, our convenient location, the accommodations and the appearance of our gem of a hotel. Also,...

Reviewed 12 August 2013

This hotel is located in a perfect place in historic Charleston. You can walk easily to the battery area and to the market place area. Great view of the harbor and right across from the pier. Booked the great escape packag which was great for us. Continental breakfast, happy hour wine and cheese, two nice robes, $75 to restaurants, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jedrow755
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jedrow755, We are delighted you took advantage of our Great Escape Package and our convenient location in Historic Charleston. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for sharing your experience with future travelers. I would like to especially thank you for complimenting the staff; they are truly our most valuable asset. We would welcome the...

USA
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here one night last fall on a last minute weekend getaway to Charleston. Location is perfect. Just a few blocks to Market Street in one direction, while a slightly longer (but manageable) walk through historic Charleston in the other direction takes you to The Battery. Waterfront Park is right outside your window. Dozens of restaurants and bars in every...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank pharmertoo
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear pharmertoo, We are elated to have you recall your stay with us in fall of last year. On behalf of the entire HarbourView Inn team, we thank you for the great review of our great location convenient to area attractions and dining. We look forward to accommodating you again, and we send our best to you and your family....

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed four nights for our ten year anniversary and our first time in Charleston. The service and attention to detail were awesome. The complimentary snacks and drinks all day were a nice touch, along with the wine and cheese hour and warm cookies and milk every night. The location was right in the middle of all the must see...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marz293
AGM-HarbourViewInn, Guest Relations Manager at Harbourview Inn, responded to this review

Dear Marz293 We are ecstatic to hear the HarbourView Inn delivered a quality experience to you during your special occasion. On behalf of the entire team, we appreciate you sharing and complementing our specialized services and convenient location. We look forward to your return, and we send our best to you and your family. Please contact me anytime if I...

795 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (328)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
View from Room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
1:22
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (139)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (430)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Grand Harbour View Room (87)
Viewed
Harbour Side Room (82)
Viewed
Historic Wing Room (92)
Viewed
The Hotel (117)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 60 in Charleston
2,650 reviews
French Quarter
The Vendue Charleston's Art Hotel
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 60 in Charleston
2,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
1,528 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
1,271 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#5 of 60 in Charleston
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoy unparalleled service and signature amenities from this AAA Four-Diamond and Condé Nast "Gold List Award" luxury hotel. Panoramic views, vast atriums and beautifully appointed guest rooms - some with private balconies, working fireplaces, and whirlpool tubs - await your arrival. From the moment you enter one of the most historic hotels in Charleston, SC, you will find modern features and services, old world charm and unpretentious Southern hospitality. The waterfront and atrium lobbies are reminiscent of Charleston's early years as a colonial nautical trading hub. They offer the perfect setting for idle reflection, a glass of wine or just the refined sport of people watching. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Harbourview Inn

Address: 2 Vendue Range, Charleston, SC 29401-2152
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston > French Quarter
Price Range: $386 - $812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbourview Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Harbourview Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbourview Hotel Charleston
Harbour View Inn Charleston
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Charleston
#6 Family Hotel in Charleston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Charleston
#18 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbourview Inn staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Harbourview Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room with a harbor view”
 of 5 bubbles BradBrian, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side have harbor view. We were right at the atrium, but the rooms were unbelievably quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles rayfolks, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lovely room, booked from website & was not disappointed with our choice!”
 of 5 bubbles 944cherylw, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I would think 1st floor rooms off the "Atrium" might have more noise in AM due to those choosing to have their breakfast there.”
 of 5 bubbles 791leslieh, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 4 th floor 401 to 406 are the premier Harbour view rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Bossea, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5