We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

743 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
See the most recent reviews
Showing 737: English reviews
Centereach, New York
Reviewed 8 October 2014

The hotel is beautiful, clean and spacious. It is in a perfect location that is close enough to downtown without being right in the middle of everything. There is more then enough on-site parking and the location is very safe. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. There is free wi-fi and plenty of outlets to charge all of your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank LIdivechick
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Lldivechick, Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your recent stay and for taking the time to give us your feedback. I was happy to read that you were overall satisfied with your stay. However I am sorry to hear that one of our associates soured your otherwise great experience here. I have already spoken with her directly...

Oyster
Reviewed 6 October 2014

I've stayed here three times in the last year ,and each time I enjoyed my visit. By far the best room was our double room with a pull out coach, and a huge balcony overlooking the water. The pool, hot tub, and fire pit were great. As were the staff, and the convenience to attractions. I also enjoyed the walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank D M
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you D M for choosing the Courtyard Charleston for your stay once again. We understand what the Courtyard travelers expect: a clean hotel with exceptional, friendly service. I'm excited that we continue to meet your expectations and the best compliment a guest can give to a General Manager is to return for another stay. I hope you are a...

CT
Reviewed 6 October 2014

we weighed the options of staying in the historic district or on the waterfront during our first family trip to Charleston and this Marriott confirmed we made the right decision. Gorgeous facility, waterfront on the river. Plenty of parking on site and downtown Charleston was a short ride away. Plenty of local parking there that is relatively inexpensive. The front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dons5
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you so much for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott, Charleston for your most recent stay. It is always pleasing for a General Manager to read that a guest was very satisfied with their accommodations, clean rooms and facilities. My staff hasgreat passion for providing outstanding hospitality. Recognition by our guests is the ultimate compliment that their efforts make a...

Mount Vernon, Indiana
Reviewed 3 October 2014

Very nice hotel. It is conveniently located to downtown and other areas. We took a boart trip to Morris Island one day and it was a short drive to the the boat. Also it was an easy return trip. We were a little disappointed that there weren't more places to eat nearby. We did have a great view.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Keith S
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Keith S, Thank you for selecting Courtyard Charleston for your recent visit and for writing a review on your stay at our hotel. I was absolutely delighted to hear how much you enjoyed staying with us and thank you for your complimentary comments. Thank you again and safe travels. Mark Thomas General Manager

Rockaway Park, New York
Reviewed 22 September 2014

The hotel has a van to take you to the tourist area. The driver is a nice person who introduced himself as the hotel Concierge! OK? He didn't offer to help any of the passengers on or off the van. We were in room 409. The only outlet in the bathroom went out, no hair dryer.A man had to come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 27Kathy27
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear 27Kathy27, We appreciate you choosing the Courtyard by Marriott, Charleston for your lodging needs recently. It is never our intention to disappoint a guest in any way, and we are very sorry that you had some issues during your stay. We take all comments, good and bad, and learn from them. I have shared your concerns with the Management...

Reviewed 21 September 2014 via mobile

This room had two queen beds with a sleeper sofa. The ceiling was high. It had all the amenities. Even covered parking. The view from the balcony was great. Even though there was traffic from the bridges it made just for a nice roar. Quiet and very relaxing. Nice cooler time of year too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vickydavis95
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your recent stay at the Courtyard Charleston and giving our hotel and staff a great review. We are happy to hear we were able to impress you with our accommodations and amenities. We thank you for your business and look forward to your next visit. Mark Thomas General Manager

Palm Coast, Florida
Reviewed 19 September 2014

It wasn't as nice as I expected it to be for the money! They need to change the name to " Tax Town " 13.5% + another $1.00 miscellaneous, just because they want toooo... Almost anywhere else in S.C. 6% TAX is all they charge. Plus room tax? A friendly place, ? Not like it use to be! ,:) But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Robert F & Guests, thank you for posting comments about your visit to Charleston. We are disappointed to learn you did not find value for the money spent. We work tirelessly to ensure a clean and well maintained property, with everything in good working order and will try even harder as a result of your comments. Thank you again...

Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 12 September 2014 via mobile

We were visiting the area for 4 days and wanted a water view . This is the ideal spot. Close to downtown with easy access to Folly Beach,Sullivan island and Isle of Palms. Hotel offers a shuttle service for $6 which we used, it also not to far from the free trolley too, which we also used. We had a...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Cookincath
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying multiple nights at our hotel during your recent visit to Charleston. We are very pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and loved your room with the beautiful river views. I am delighted to hear that Eddie was very helpful as is our entire staff. The next time your travels bring you to Charleston we...

Newtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 11 September 2014

I really liked this Courtyard. The staff was great! I wish I had written down the name of the woman who worked with us on the night we arrived as she deserves an award. So friendly and customer oriented. The fan was a bit loud in our room and this was promptly addressed. She gave us very helpful hints on...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KMM0122
HotelMngerGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear KMM0122, Thank you for your wonderful comments. I was so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard Charleston. We work hard to provide high levels of service. I will share your compliments with my team to let them know their efforts are appreciated and noticed. I will look into the few issues you faced and...

Reviewed 5 September 2014 via mobile

Choose another hotel. Snide, snobbish front desk clerk. Waited while she apparently was taking a personal phone call and I suppose I was a bother to her. Anyway, we left without checking in. Plenty of other really nice hotels with extremely polite staff close by. Spend your money elsewhere is my best advice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Denise N
MarkThomasGM, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Greetings from the Waterfront Denise N ~ Thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Please accept my sincere apologies. Your firsthand account will act as a teach tool for our Guest Service team. We work tirelessly to maintain a professional hotel and believe strongly is customer feedback. Thank you for aiding in our efforts to make...

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 km away
No photo provided
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 60 in Charleston
1,048 reviews
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $289 - $547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
Bangor, Maine, United States
8 months ago

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best room is at a competitor hotel. Try across the street”
  • My room! No painting/artwork; just spackle and wall-screws.
 of 5 bubbles DaveP54, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 429 Faces the water and is on the end of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles Tootallal, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“City view room faced a noisy highway and the parking lot - there is literally no city view from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CindiSmith, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles carollM1870AC, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else! Ask for a good room, might take a few times.”
 of 5 bubbles MJB1010, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5