We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

752 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 746: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
 Click to rate
Nuangola, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel was very clean and the beds very comfortable. We didn't mind staying a little bit out of the downtown and it was a good price. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I would stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RP2358
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear RP2358, It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are delighted to read you had an enjoyable stay and were especially impressed with our clean facilities and helpful associates. We appreciate your wonderful review and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston. Mark Thomas General Manager

Madison, New Jersey
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The staff was very friendly and very knowledgeable. The hotel was very clean. They were doing a renovation in the lobby so they served free breakfast. The one complaint I have is that the elevator was not working properly. Seemed like it was jumping all around. Its definitely a maintenance issue that should be addressed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loriep2008
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear loriep2008, Thank you for your remarks regarding your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are so happy to know that you liked our friendly associates and complimentary breakfast offerings. However, we are sorry for the issue you had with our elevator and the inconvenience it caused. Please know that we have alerted our maintenance department, and we are...

Columbia, United States
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Reception staff were pleasant and happy to see us arrive. Our room was nice and clean, the beds were very comfy. However, the AC unit was annoyingly loud and made it difficult to sleep. Great shower and nice large towels. Breakfast was okay, they really need to consider offering half and half for coffee. No waffle maker, bummer. Selection was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishwhiskers
00gc, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Irishwhiskers, Thank you for choosing our hotel and sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is certainly disappointing to hear about your experience, as we truly take pride in our guest service efforts. We have shared your concerns with our team and have taken corrective action to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope that you...

Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The staff is friendly but our room (412) was absolutely terrible. We had maintenance issues from the start - with the toilet and front door being stuck due to warping. The room was completely unsafe as the door wouldn't lock once we were inside. The room itself is dated and creaky but, the bed was comfortable. However, to make matters...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cally B
00gc, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Cally B, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We have discussed your concerns with our team so that we can take the proper steps so this does not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope...

Holland, Michigan
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Super clean and being updated as we speak Nice location - easy to reach historic district by car or shuttle but just enough out to not be stuck in traffic Only down side that kept it from being a 5 was the hot tub was closed for service and the pool is not heated Lovely view and grounds on the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lsmilo
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear lsmilo, It was a pleasure to have you as our guest at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. We are glad to read you had an enjoyable time and that our location was perfect for your needs. I will share your feedback with our maintenance team to ensure all our facilities are working properly. We appreciate your review and look forward...

Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed 3 nights & enjoyed it tremendously. The room is spacious & extremely clean. Check in/check out was a breeze. The staff was friendly. Parking was no problem at this location. They were renovating at the time of our stay but it posed no problems for any of the guests. The entire hotel is an A+.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marie W
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Marie W, Thank you for including the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront in your travel plans. It's wonderful to know you had an amazing stay and that you enjoyed your comfortable room and our courteous service. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Charleston. Mark Thomas General Manager

Tuscaloosa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a very nice place to stay while in town the rooms are nice and the corner rooms are great very nice staff and very accommodating, the entrance to get in to the place is a little weird but would recommend to tohers

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beatuscaloosa
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Beatuscaloosa, Thank you so much for recommending the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront to future guests! We are glad you enjoyed our well-appointed rooms and the excellent service delivered by our associates. Thanks again for your kind review. Please come back and see us again soon. Mark Thomas General Manager

New York City, New York
Reviewed 24 March 2017

As with everyone else lately, I have to say that the renovations are a major disturbance. It's difficult to get up the stairs and navigate the lobby, since the construction crew and their "stuff" is everywhere. I think that Marriott might have said something on the website when I was booking. That being said, the rooms are standard Courtyard Marriott...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 749David
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

We greatly appreciate your recent review regarding your stay at our hotel. I am sorry that you had to endure the mess associated with our renovations. We are very excited about this project and would love for you to come back to see the final results. If you do return to the area, please contact my office, as I would...

Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed 24 March 2017

As many others have pointed out, this hotel is under major renovations! Cannot believe this hotel would continue to take reservations while doing such major renovations! The entire lobby area, market/food area, hallway to the elevators is a complete mess. DUST everywhere, unsafe walking areas - uneven plywood to walk on to get to the elevators. Only one elevator seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank parispls
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear parispls, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to our renovations in progress. As much as it is a dusty and noisy nuisance at the present time, the outcome will be a wonderful new place to stay in the future! We would love the opportunity for you to...

Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewed 20 March 2017

As others have noted, the construction is a serious problem. And, like others, we had no warning - and then no apology. But, the real issue is poor management combined with a badly designed overall layout for the hotel. Staff are poorly trained and generally unhelpful. When we finally did get our room cleaned, the housekeeper left neither towels, toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TheHaze
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear TheHaze, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. Exceptional service for every guest is our highest priority so we were disappointed to learn this was not your experience. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate team members so adjustments can be made. We value you as a guest and hope that we have the opportunity to...

407 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (163)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Pool (8)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Standard Room (57)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.6 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#37 of 61 in Charleston
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $281 - $564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travellers.
17 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
South Lyon, MI
Bangor, Maine, United States
9 months ago

See all questions (17)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“3rd floor was high enough to see a great view, and not pick up the noise from the pool.”
Irishwhiskers, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 412”
, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Go on the 4th floor facing the Bay”
749David, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best room is at a competitor hotel. Try across the street”
  • My room! No painting/artwork; just spackle and wall-screws.
DaveP54, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 429 Faces the water and is on the end of the building.”
Tootallal, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5