We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Expedia.comUSD 228*
View Deal
GreenLeadersSilver level
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 461*
USD 228*
Great Deal
USD 237*
USD 229*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

744 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 738: English reviews
Start your review of Courtyard Charleston Waterfront
 Click to rate
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewed yesterday NEW

As many others have pointed out, this hotel is under major renovations! Cannot believe this hotel would continue to take reservations while doing such major renovations! The entire lobby area, market/food area, hallway to the elevators is a complete mess. DUST everywhere, unsafe walking areas - uneven plywood to walk on to get to the elevators. Only one elevator seemed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank parispls
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

As others have noted, the construction is a serious problem. And, like others, we had no warning - and then no apology. But, the real issue is poor management combined with a badly designed overall layout for the hotel. Staff are poorly trained and generally unhelpful. When we finally did get our room cleaned, the housekeeper left neither towels, toilet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheHaze
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear TheHaze, Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit. Exceptional service for every guest is our highest priority so we were disappointed to learn this was not your experience. We have shared your feedback with the appropriate team members so adjustments can be made. We value you as a guest and hope that we have the opportunity to...

East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 1 week ago

Checked in without and knowledge of the demo/remodel going on (for seemingly the better part of a year. Registration area/ bar / IT center / Outdoors / parking / hallways / Elevator... AND ROOMS are all under construction. Banging was endless... even the GM left early. When I complained, they said "You can check out and we won't charge you."...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Dave P, Thank you for staying with us. We are very sorry our current appearance was a surprise. Although we fell short of meeting your expectations this time, we hope you will consider us on your next visit to the area so that we can better deliver upon the experience you deserve. Sincerely, Mark Thomas General Manager

Augusta, Georgia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Marriott didn't tell us this waterfront hotel was under serious renovation when we booked. If you are coming to Charleston, avoid this one for a couple of months until it is done (I am guessing May 2017). The smell of turpentine burned our eyes and we had to stuff towels under the door, open the windows to get to sleep....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tootallal
00gc, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Tootallal, Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay. I am sorry for the inconvenience caused due to our renovations in progress. As much as it is a dusty and noisy nuisance at the present time, the outcome will be a wonderful new place to stay in the future! We would love the opportunity for you to...

Philadelphia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If they have information on the front page of their website that says this hotel is under major renovation, I didn't see it (but I don't think it is there.) Not only is pretty much the entire lobby/first floor torn up but so was the hallway where they issued me a room. Besides walking through plastic sheeting and clouds of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank PhillyLover
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Phillylover, Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront with us. We are very sorry our current appearance was not what you had anticipated. We strive to maintain the highest standards, not only in service, but also with regards to maintaining the overall look and feel of the hotel. Unfortunately, this...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here over the weekend. The rooms are very spacious and have great balcony views. Location makes it easy to get to all the attractions. They are currently doing construction and it starts around 07:00. I would wait until they are complete before booking. It's very loud. Other than that the hotel was very clean and staff was helpful. I...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brandy W
00gc, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Brandy W, Thank you for your stay at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront and for sharing your feedback online. We are glad that you liked our welcoming associates, convenient location and your spacious room as well. However, we are sorry your visit was while our renovations were underway and that you had to endure the dust and noise that construction...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 17 February 2017

Booking on line has the great disadvantage of not knowing that the hotel of choice is under construction . This hotel is in a great location, overlooking a lovely marina and the river. However, that did not compensate for trying to park in what seemed like a minefield of construction, with no signage to indicate how to get to reception....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank suwu2015
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear suwu2015, Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We have discussed your concerns with our team so that we can take the proper steps so this does not occur again. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope that...

Sterling, Virginia
Reviewed 13 February 2017

There was quite a bit of construction on the first floor near our room, and it consistently woke us up each morning - if not the actual construction, then it was the workers in the hallway. Our room was average, clean, and comfortable. We had a city view, which was actually a view of the parking lot and noisy road...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CindiSmith
00gc, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear CindiSmith, Thank you for your recent stay. We appreciate you mentioning our wonderful outdoor space. We think it is one of our best features and we are so glad to see you enjoyed it so much. We do, however, apologize for the construction that we have going on. We hope you will visit us again when it is complete....

Kaneohe, Hawaii
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

We flew into Charleston for a wedding. The location of the Courtyard is great. Our room looked out over the river and marina. It was a short ride to the historic district, the hotel provided a shuttle. The room was large and comfortable. The staff were all amazingly helpful, whatever we needed they were there to make sure our needs...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael S
00gC, Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at the Courtyard Charleston Waterfront during the wedding party. We are delighted you loved your spacious room along with the beautiful view, our convenient location, and our delicious breakfast buffet. Thanks for highlighting our staff for a job well-done. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you soon. Mark Thomas General Manager

Yorktown, Virginia, United States
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Stayed one night and never again until construction is complete. Construction started at 0720 on a Saturday morning. Parking lot underneath is a mess with old furniture. Staff was outstanding! They were super friendly and helpful. Location is good near downtown but not with the hassle of parking or one way streets. Overall will stay again AFTER complete.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jon C
00gC, General Manager at Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, responded to this review

Dear Jon, thank you for taking the time to share a review of your stay with us. We are pleased to hear how wonderful our staff treated you, but apologize for any inconveniences that our current renovations caused. We truly appreciate your feedback and will share it with our management team to make sure we are always providing the best...

390 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (204)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (50)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (26)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Other (48)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (146)
Viewed
Amenities (11)
Viewed
Partial Water View 2 Queen Larger Guest Room (51)
Viewed
Pool (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)
Viewed
Waterfront King Guest Room (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (4)
02/04/2017 03/04/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Charleston hotels
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Waterfront/Downtown
0.6 km away
Charleston Marriott
Charleston Marriott
#36 of 60 in Charleston
1,048 reviews
0.9 km away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Downtown/Riverview
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Residence Inn Charleston Downtown/Riverview
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston Downtown - Ashley River
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Downtown Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover Courtyard Charleston Waterfront, located just minutes from the heart of downtown Charleston, SC. Unique among hotels in Charleston, guests can experience stunning views of the Ashley River while enjoying our hot breakfast options, unwinding on our beautiful terrace, swimming in the outdoor waterfront pool, relaxing by our fire pit or whirlpool, or resting in their spacious guest room. Our stunning hotel is a short drive from the city's top destinations including; the shopping on King Street, the downtown market, historic plantations, and military parks. This unique hotel offers a 24 hour fitness center and a business center. Join us each morning in The Ashley River Cafe for a delicious breakfast buffet. If you're looking for something quick, our waterfront Charleston hotel offers a 24-hour market with snacks, beverages, soups, sandwiches and salads. Our Charleston, SC meeting space is ideal for intimate rehearsal dinners, meetings, and social events. Experience true luxury accommodations at the top waterfront hotel in Charleston, Courtyard Charleston Waterfront. An unforgettable retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Charleston Waterfront

Address: 35 Lockwood Dr, Charleston, SC 29401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Charleston
Price Range: $290 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Charleston Waterfront 3*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard Charleston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Charleston Waterfront Hotel Charleston
Charleston Courtyard
Charleston Marriott
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Charleston
#33 Business Hotel in Charleston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
NW Louisiana
over a year ago
Bangor, Maine, United States
8 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Charleston Waterfront staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best room is at a competitor hotel. Try across the street”
  • My room! No painting/artwork; just spackle and wall-screws.
 of 5 bubbles DaveP54, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 429 Faces the water and is on the end of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles Tootallal, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“City view room faced a noisy highway and the parking lot - there is literally no city view from this hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles CindiSmith, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a balcony”
 of 5 bubbles carollM1870AC, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Go somewhere else! Ask for a good room, might take a few times.”
 of 5 bubbles MJB1010, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
USD 228*
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 237
Orbitz.comUSD 229
TripAdvisorUSD 228
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates