We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Rhett House Inn

Orbitz.comUSD 263*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 325*
USD 263*
USD 325*
USD 263*
USD 325*
USD 263*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
The Rhett House Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,000 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 997: English reviews
Start your review of The Rhett House Inn
 Click to rate
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is the place to stay in Beaufort. This southern Bed and Breakfast is one of a kind! Amy couldn't have been more sweet, accommodating, and has the ability to make magic happen. Anything you ask of her, she does with a gracious smile. Chef Beverly's breakfast, is no joke. I wish I could hire her and take her with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BartsandBarb
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent several days at the Rhett House Inn, and it was exceptional. The location was one block from the historic district, which was ideal. Once we parked our car, we didn't have to move it. The staff was superb and attentive, especially Gloria, the front desk attendant. Breakfast selection and food was great. We strongly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbbeshers
AimeeT1820, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. We are even more thrilled that Gloria and our staff exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to visiting us again.

McDonough, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

The photographs on the web site must have been taken when the property was in prime condition. Our room #14 ( a dingy room ) was in an outside building greatly in need of some capital expenditure . However this alone would not prompt me to write a review but a number of other factors. 1. The afternoon desk clerk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pkohn44
Lewes, Delaware
Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I just returned from a long weekend at the Rhett House. We have stayed here before and were looking forward to returning. Amy,who is the afternoon inn keeper, remember us from our previous visit. We stayed in the New Castle House. This is a separate home on the property. The accomidations were amazing! We had the entire...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
AimeeT1820, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Paul, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We also delight in the fact that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to your next visit. We know how much you enjoyed the New Castle House, so maybe it can be your permanent room when you visit :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Beaufort has always been dear to my heart. 31 years.. in fact. But what I love is that the Southern charm of the Rhett House Inn never disappoints. We love the porch and the light filtering through the Spanish moss on the old oak trees, we love the historic tales being told by the walking tours and carriage rides, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claudia V
AimeeT1820, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

Claudia, thank you for such a beautiful review. We are thrilled that the Rhett House is so dear to you, and that you have been visiting for 31 years. It certainly is a place rich with history. We are even more thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We can't deny Chef Beverly's breakfast is beyond delicious. We look forward to...

Okatie, South Carolina
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our ladies birthday group recently went to The Rhett House for brunch. The staff was most helpful in highlighting the menu, service excellent and, all in all our brunch was a success. Parking was not a problem, might have been that it was early in the day but in the area of TRH there is some free street parking. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank scsuz
AimeeT1820, Manager at The Rhett House Inn, responded to this review

We are delighted to hear that your birthday group enjoyed your brunch here. We appreciate your feedback about the winding stairs, and you'll be happy to know that guests can enter the house through our back door, which has minimal stairs! We hope you decide to stay with us one evening to further experience all we have to offer. Thank...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sometimes you wonder if a place can live up to its reputation. We found that in the case of the Rhett House Inn, it really can. The staff are all so eager to help, and even during busy times, they get it right with service. The veranda porch is just an amazing place to really relax and watch the carriage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathy E
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautiful Bed and Breakfast within easy walking distance to main downtown area of Beaufort. Old building that is quite comfortable. Staff was great. Blueberry Pancakes among the best with real maple syrup for breakfast on the spectacular porch. Great way to begin the day.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vincent V
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I decided to plan a trip to Beaufort to see the air show put on at the nearby Marine base. The show was fabulous. The Rhett House Inn however did not live up to the charm that it could have. We were there for two nights and actually stayed in one of the cottage rooms. Not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chet W
New Hope
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place was not what I expected at all. I was expecting an elegant southern inn. Instead we found a tired and shabby place. First, the room was not as clean as I like. The bed spread and towels were stained, despite the fact the staff claimed they were washed. The carpet was filthy. Second, the bed was very uncomfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivian B

264 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (103)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (53)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
0.3 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,155 reviews
0.4 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
926 reviews
0.1 km away
Best Western Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
688 reviews
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Beaufort
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn & Suites Beaufort at Highway 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The multi award winning historic Rhett House Inn, located in Beaufort, SC, with its sprawling verandahs and white columns, is known for it's Southern Hospitality and has been the home away from home for many movie stars like Barbara Streisand, Ben Affleck, and Gwyneth Paltrow. Bordering the Intracoastal Waterway and in Beaufort's Historic District, the Rhett House Inn is a few walking blocks to all restaurants, bars, and shops. Complimentary champagne on arrival and after dinner deserts. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Rhett House Inn

Address: 1009 Craven St, Beaufort, SC 29902-5577
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Price Range: $267 - $813 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rhett House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The Rhett House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rhett House Hotel Beaufort
The Rhett Hotel
Rhett Hotel Beaufort
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Beaufort
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beaufort
#3 Business Hotel in Beaufort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Rhett House Inn staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Overland Park, Kansas
Tarpon Springs, Florida
over a year ago
yankee in the south
over a year ago
Citra

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Rhett House Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best could be the Barbara room... we loved it.”
claudiavW1122PU, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Great accessibility to main downtown area”
vincentvZ362NI, 9 May 2017 | Read review
“If the AC doesn't bother you, ask for the room with the door to the porch.”
jhenry921, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We loved room 15 with it's porch”
lacallanan, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Talk directly with the reservations person at the Rhett House for the best chose of room.”
fllucas, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 263* /night
View Deal
TravelocityUSD 263
Expedia.comUSD 263
Booking.comUSD 325
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates