We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Beaulieu House at Cat Island

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Beaulieu House at Cat Island
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

79 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Beaulieu House at Cat Island
See the most recent reviews
Showing 79: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

My elderly Parents, a brother with his 9, 16 and 20 year old children and I visited the Beaulieu House this past weekend and occupied 3 of the guest rooms. This was my 3rd visit over the past few years. Seeing the wildlife Deer enroute to Cat Island is always a highlight for me. This was my first time meeting... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ernestine B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile

My husband and I had an amazing time in Beaufort, SC, mostly due to our visit at this lovely B&B! I had always dreamt of staying at a bed and breakfast and I'm glad that this was my first experience! The hostess was super accommodating and communicative. Although we arrived at night, Diann was helpful in guiding us to her... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sweetjane1
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2015 via mobile

Had a wonderful experience staying with Diann. Beautiful view from my room. Delicious eggs benedict breakfast accompanied by great conversation and wonderful recommendations for what to do in Beaufort. The Beaulieu House is a serene , peaceful and relaxing oasis at the end of Cat Island. My wife and I have been on a cross country road trip and this... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank JaphyRyder88
Graham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2015

As soon as I entered, I smelled the mildew. The area around the registers in the ceiling were black with mold. The towels appeared clean until they got even the least bit damp then the mildew smell became unbearable. The first night I slept with the sheet pulled up over my face to stop the smell. Breakfast the next morning... More 

Helpful?
5 Thank Beth L
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

Dear Beth Lynn, I don't consider this a review as much as a spiteful personal bashing. It is a shame you were incapable of articulating your concerns directly to me. More 

Jacksonville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2015 via mobile

Where to begin. Price was $100 higher when we arrived than when we booked. Website stated there would be a confirmation email that you successfully booked your stay.....never received one. When we arrived we discovered our king bed to actually be two twin beds so there was a gap right in the middle. A/C was kept on 78 degrees which... More 

Helpful?
10 Thank mbright3291
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

Sam and Paige, Your accusation that I overcharged $100.00 is TROUBLING and an exaggeration.. Why didn’t you inquire at the time I charged you?? The fact is that you were charged an additional $66.00. This is the reason: You originally booked July 7 and 8 which, were a Tuesday and Wednesday. You later called to say you had booked the... More 

Waukesha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2015 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at this beautiful B&B. Our room was very clean with a spectacular view overlooking the river. My husband, a commercial airline pilot, is an avid bird watcher and was delighted at the amazing variety of birds in the backyard. He said it was the highlight of our 10 day trip in the Carolinas. It... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne A
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2015

This was our second visit to Beaufort so we decided to book a different B&B. It's a bit off the beaten path, but what a beautiful location. Diann provided excellent directions as well as dinner recommendations. We enjoyed the river view while chatting with her over a glass of wine. It's eclectic and cozy. If you like collectibles, you'll love... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank kmlholt
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2015

Just outta town & on the water! Loved the great coffee, Belgium waffles & fruit plate for breakfast. Coffee out by the water with the sun shining on ya, can't beat that this time of year. The bed was comfy, with, I think, a down comforter & pillows, very nice! The innkeeper Diane was great to deal with! I'll be... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Michael M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2014 via mobile

When I think of a bed and breakfast hotel, Beaulieu House is it!! The lovely furnishings, the delightful hosts and amazing breakfast. It is located within distance to the old downtown Beaufort. It has wonderful porch swings that over looks the Beaufort River and if you are lucky enough you can also spot some dolphins in the water. My only... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Davion P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2014

Should not be a bed and breakfast. Owners dog/ had pooped and vomited in our room, room smelled like a litter box. Owner was rude, refused refund our money. After hour long argument we got refund and left..

Helpful?
7 Thank Treycole
beaulieuhouse, Owner at Beaulieu House at Cat Island, responded to this review

My son and best friend were here and insisted that I respond to your recent online review. They thought you were completely out of line for posting visceral comments 4 months after your request for a refund was granted. I refunded your money, but only after I felt vulnerable, threatened, and feared for my personal safety. More 

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Beaufort hotels
7.6 km away
The Beaufort Inn
The Beaufort Inn
#4 of 15 in Beaufort
1,073 reviews
7.6 km away
City Loft Hotel
City Loft Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beaufort
877 reviews
7.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Sea Island Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Hampton Inn Beaufort
Hampton Inn Beaufort
#6 of 15 in Beaufort
603 reviews
7.8 km away
The Rhett House Inn
The Rhett House Inn
#2 of 15 in Beaufort
941 reviews
9.8 km away
Comfort Suites Beaufort
Comfort Suites Beaufort
#7 of 15 in Beaufort
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the Intracoastal Waterway just five minutes from the historic district of Beaufort, South Carolina, between Savannah, Charleston and Hilton Head. This beautiful inn is perfect for exploring Beaufort, Hunting Island State Park, Cat Island, Port Royal and the Sea Islands. Air-conditioned accommodations boast bold and tropical Caribbean color schemes and feature lowcountry verandas with golf and/or river views. Stay in a main house guest rooms or carriage house suite with a double Jacuzzi, shower, kitchenette and private entrance. The Beaulieu House is a pet-friendly inn. Savor a complete gourmet breakfast served common-board in the River Room overlooking Chowan Creek and St. Helena's Island. Afternoon refreshments are served upon request on the veranda. The adjacent Sanctuary Golf Club has a newly rebuilt 18-hole championship golf course and an Olympic-size swimming pool. Looking for an pleasant day browsing local art galleries and boutiques or an adventurous day hiking, biking and kayaking, Beaulieu House at Cat Island has the perfect accommodations! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Beaulieu House at Cat Island

Address: 3 Sheffield Ct, Beaufort, SC 29907-1724
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Beaufort
Price Range: $256 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Beaulieu House at Cat Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaulieu House At Cat Island Hotel Beaufort
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Beaulieu House at Cat Island staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Beaulieu House at Cat Island staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I would have chosen a room looking out over the back”
 of 5 bubbles lovebug29044, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't even go.”
 of 5 bubbles Debhunter57, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“à la fin de la route (On the end of the road) Peaceful & Charming”
  • Sunrise March 2016 6:40am
 of 5 bubbles michaelkT6268RM, 20 Mar 2016 | Read review
“second floor waterfront rooms”
 of 5 bubbles DaveShanes, 3 Mar 2016 | Read review
“We had a room with a view of the sunrise.”
  • View from the deck just off our room.
 of 5 bubbles JohnT276, 3 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay