We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Middletown \/ Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

374 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport
See the most recent reviews
Showing 353: English reviews
Flushing, Michigan
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Quality feeling, nice rooms, good size rooms, great beds to sleep in, good Wifi, great breakfast, refrig and microwave & coffee in rooms. Exercise room and indoor pool. AC and Heater easy to use. Hated to only stay one night, loved this place. Looks and feels new.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
srnhg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown, RI and writing such a great review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your guestroom and the hotel amenities such as our complimentary breakfast, fitness room and indoor pool. We hope to see you again on your next trip to the area!

Yorba Linda, California
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We arrived a little early and had to wait an hour before our room was ready. It definitely to cold and windy outside to do any more sightseeing. Once we got to our room it was nice and clean. The Internet doesn't have a password and it was not the best. Our IPads would lose wifi service regularly and would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Reviewed 25 October 2016

I was giving HI another chance after a bad stay in Latham. Stayed in a Kind Jacuzzi suite at the Middletown location and was shocked. First off I have a King Bed at home, the bed in the room was definitely not a king bed, Queen at most. Next the room reeked of chlorine or cleaner smell when we checked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear Daniel G, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had with the room you received, especially the outside noise which affected your stay negatively. It is with deep regret that we fell below your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us...

South Lyon, Michigan
Reviewed 23 October 2016

I travel a lot and stay in many hotels, particularly Holiday Inn Express. This is not an HEI caliber hotel. There were many, many issues in my stay. After much phone tag (both of us at fault for this) I spoke to the General Manager and ran through the issues of an unclean room in poor repair, unclean common areas,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gblack7205
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Dear gblack7205, Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for staying with us. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay due to the level of customer service received, poor cleanliness of the room and the surrounding area of the hotel as well as the dining experience during breakfast. I want to...

Hamilton, NJ
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We stayed here at the Holiday Inn Express Middletown/Newport in October as part of a 3 day trip from NJ to RI on a bus. We arrived at 5:30 pm and 2 of the rooms including our's were not ready. Check-in is 4:00 pm so this was not what we were hoping for. We almost missed our 6:30 pm reservation...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank BIGDAVE57
srnhg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown, RI. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority and we apologize if you did not experience our best efforts. We also have very rigorous standards of cleaning for our hotel. We will be addressing your concerns with the manager of the hotel and apologize for your inconvenience. Our...

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Nice place, no problems. My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights in October 2016. We were part of a bus tour group. We liked the hotel. It is clean and new and is located next to a Chili's restaurant and across the street from a shopping center with supermarket. The hotel is a 20-minute drive from the Newport...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AlanG1211
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Just what you would expect-Clean, good breakfast, nice pool and hot tub. The staff was smiling and working hard. Stayed one night and would go back again. Centrally located and much better than staying in Newport. Lots cheaper and only a 10 minute drive.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tosamike7425
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

We had two nights at this hotel and we had a double room which contained two double beds and a fridge. The room was spacious and very clean. Beds were really comfortable. The hotel included free breakfast which was the usual standard fare but more than adequate for our needs. Coffee and tea were available 24 hours a day in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hollieberry
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed here with a few friends so we could attend another friend's graduation, and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice everything was. It's a no-nonsense hotel that's reasonably priced and is walking-distance to several restaurants and a short drive to other activities. The beds were comfortable and the staff were friendly. The breakfast was good as well.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dustythoughts
srnhg, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guests at the Holiday Inn Express in Middletown/Newport and writing such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed our convenient location, just minutes from downtown Newport. Our complimentary breakfast is also a favorite amenity of many of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Loved the Holiday Inn Express. Great location fifteen or twenty minutes away from everything. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy. Breakfast was good too. Eggs ,bacon,and pancakes plus more!! The staff was friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Dametri for all your help. We had a great time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nora M

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Middletown hotels
1.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Newport/Middletown
1.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Newport Middletown
0.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Courtyard Newport Middletown
Courtyard Newport Middletown
#6 of 18 in Middletown
267 reviews
4.0 km away
Newport Beach Hotel and Suites
1.3 km away
Residence Inn Newport Middletown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just minutes from downtown Newport, Beaches, The Newport Mansions and so much more; Holiday Inn Express Middletown is the perfect retreat from a long day of adventures and exploration. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport

Address: 855 West Main Road, Middletown, RI 02842
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Middletown
Price Range: $108 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport Hotel Middletown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Middletown / Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Even my ground floor rooms have been super quiet in either wing every time.”
 of 5 bubbles markn733, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance to take advantage of good rates!”
 of 5 bubbles jeffcT5222PI, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are well constructed. All rooms are quiet. We stayed lower level, no problem.”
 of 5 bubbles 637fayem, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room toward the rear of hotel to avoid road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles BIGDAVE57, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Third floor wonderfully quiet!”
 of 5 bubbles TraceeW, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5