We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Surfside Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Charlestown
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Surfside Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 171: English reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Friendly greeting when we got there to the Motel, Very clean had a lovely room with a mini kitchen which was awesome . Very quiet, close to all we wanted to go to especially the Nordic Lodge Restaurant, Going back next summer God willing :) South RI is a great place to visit, We went in the off season so...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen T
Reviewed 15 September 2016

We had a large group of friends (about 15) come here the weekend after labor day, just last weekend, we basically took over about half the motel. We all enjoyed the clean rooms and great central location. Debbie was great along with the gentlemen that also helped out, I never caught his name. They have nice large gas grills available...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
Karen C, General Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. Glad you enjoyed your visit & hope to see you again.

Poughkeepsie, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2016 via mobile

Great little motel. We had a room with a kitchenette that was fully stocked full size fridge, microwave very clean room two beds. Quiet location in Charlestown. It has been here since I believe since 1938.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank traveler1892
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 12 September 2016

We stay at The Surfside Motel several times a year when we visit Charlestown, RI for the beaches and the Rhythm & Roots music festival on Labor Day weekend. The rooms are clean and smell fresh. They are very helpful when making reservations and accommodating in person. We recommend The Surfside Motel to friends. The available outdoor shower is nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
Karen C, Owner at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate your business.

Woonsocket, Rhode Island
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Charlestown has become our second home and truly enjoyed our stay. Central to activities and restaurants in the Charlestown area; great room with the sea theme; made us feel like we were at home. Quiet area even though near highway. Will book again next year!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whaacctg3
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and being in Charlestown. I look forward to see you again soon. Debbie

East Moriches, New York
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Hate to write a poor review about a small business; but they charged our credit card for an online reservation that I did not complete, I wanted to get my wife's approval before completing my purchase. Somehow my reservation was processed without my knowledge and I never received a confirmation. If I had received a confirmation I would have cancelled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ogentry
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

I am sorry that you felt you had to write us a bad review do to the fact that your credit card company sided with us because I had proof that you did make your reservation online. As I explained to you on the phone I had all copies as proof along with your confirmation number and reference number that...

Rhode Island
Reviewed 20 July 2016

During a visit to Matunuck beach/Ocean Mist for amazing musician and show....found The Surfside Motel with a room, kinda last minute, and was so impressed!! So comfortable and roomy, kitchenette and full size fridge, and all the items needed to settle in.....wanted to stay longer... Was able to grab a late night snack in Wakefield, enjoyed breakfast in Charlestown at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Newenglandtraveler21
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I look forward to having you again as our guests and pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us along with the events in the area. Your shared comments are greatly appreciated. Debbie

Montreal
Reviewed 7 July 2016

I spent one night at Surfside in July 2016. We were on our bikes and therefore didn't have a choice since it was getting dark and rain was coming. The motel itself is ok. Small rooms that haven't been renovated in decades but clean. The surprise was really the price: 185$ for a room that was worth 60$. No breakfast....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank marcsan
Surfside1955, Manager at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I would like to be able to apologize for your stay due to your comments but I'm sorry I can't. If you had checked out other motels directly close by you would see that we are in line price wise with all the others. Yes, we maybe slightly higher but...

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

My husband and I finally made it to our favorite place! Always a pleasurable stay. Debbie & Chris are just wonderful, warm, friendly people. And Melony who is the housekeeper is just as nice and personable. Anything you need or want, it's not a problem. Clean, Cozy & Quiet. Give 'em a call. You won't be sorry.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lynn M
Karen C, Owner at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business.

Edmonton, Canada
Reviewed 29 April 2016

With the Surfside Motels perfect location. It's close to the sandy beaches, and great attractions to and around Charlestown. The room was clean, the amenities were great. The one thing that sets the surfside Motel apart from any other place is this. Debbie, with her warm and charming personalty, incredible customer service, and great recommendations for the surrounding area. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank meganukem
Karen C, Owner at The Surfside Motel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business.

37 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
12.1 km away
Weekapaug Inn
Weekapaug Inn
#2 of 18 in Westerly
198 reviews
15.3 km away
Winnapaug Inn
Winnapaug Inn
#7 of 18 in Westerly
122 reviews
15.0 km away
Hampton Inn South Kingstown - Newport Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 km away
The Break
The Break
#1 of 8 in Narragansett
175 reviews
18.3 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Stonington
17.6 km away
Pleasant View Inn
Pleasant View Inn
#2 of 6 in Misquamicut
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Conklin Family welcomes you to the Surfside Motel. A cozy 15 room motel located near beautiful Charlestown Beach. We have efficiency units for extended stays, or standard rooms with small fridges and microwaves, A/C, cable, wireless internet, flat screen tv's with built-in DVD players, gas grills, and picnic tables outside. Clean, quiet, and comfy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Surfside Motel

Address: 334 Narrow Ln, Charlestown, RI 02813-4164
Region: United States > Rhode Island > South County > Charlestown
Price Range: $79 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
The Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Surfside Hotel Charlestown
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Surfside Motel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cobleskill
5 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Surfside Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We like the upstairs room with a king size bed. All of the rooms are off the main road and very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles sampM2853LY, 11 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upstairs rooms have cozy tables for two on the deck, which offer a nice play to enjoy morning coffee from the nearby Dunkin Donuts.”
 of 5 bubbles vistadomar, 17 Apr 2016 | Read review
“For a quiet nights sleep, ask for a room on the second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles elinors710, 17 Jul 2015 | Read review
“We like a king efficiency. Good size fridge and micro”
 of 5 bubbles vikingmom15, 5 Nov 2014 | Read review
“Room 8 was well located and convenient (but we heard those staying in room 9!)”
 of 5 bubbles Axel8807, 13 Oct 2014 | Read review
5 of 5