We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Shippen Place Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Shippen Place Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Shippen Place Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 155: English reviews
Ferney-Voltaire, France
Reviewed 19 November 2016

Glad to have chosen something other than one of the hotel/motel chains - you are downtown, good restaurant/bar (take advantage of 10% off food as hotel guest), parking lot, and very friendly staff (Ms. Brennan was extremely helpful when we checked in). While the building may not be as historic as the dining room suggests - with a traditional old-school...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marshall B
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Marshall, Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey and for rating our hotel so highly! I am so glad that you found our hotel to be clean and convenient and that you enjoyed the accommodations and hospitality that we strive to show to each guest, during every stay. We always aim to give you...

Washington DC
Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Everything was right at your fingertips, hotel restaurant coffee shop bar parking nice little college town Rooms were fabulous and everything new clean even the stairwells. Breakfast was great coffee especially good no great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fttvienna
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fttvienna, Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us! It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a clean, great breakfast and convenient experience. Your five star review is greatly appreciated! We would love to have you back and we do hope to see you again...

woodstock
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

We have stayed here before and will stop again. We chose a parking lot side room this time to avoid the noise of street traffic. Little did we know that room 417 has a constant noise related to some type of vent fan that is in the bathroom. Closing the door seemed to help. We love the University grille. However,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank woodstockflea
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear woodstockflea, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We strive to give you a great experience, and I am pleased to learn that we were able to meet your expectations in many ways; though I regret to hear that you weren't thoroughly impressed with the vent fan in the bathroom. We appreciate your rating and are...

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times. It's central location and amenities make it the perfect place to stay while in Shippensburg. It's just a minute from everything! The rooms are well kept the staff is awesome and everything you need is just steps away. The rooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The University Grille is wonderful. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tim P, Thank you so much for your feedback and kind words regarding the five star service and accommodations that you received during your most recent stay with us! It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide a comfortable and convenient experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business and...

Reviewed 27 October 2016

Reserved this location based on the reviews, and I was definitely not disappointed! Stayed here 2 nights for our trip to Gettysburg. Enjoyed the restaurant and bar. Sat outside the first night, enjoying our meal, great service and the perfect weather. The next night, sat inside the restaurant, enjoyed a great meal, service and ambiance. The room was very comfortable,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
Mallory W, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

I am so glad to hear from you and to discover that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. It is great to hear that we were able to meet your expectations of service and hospitality! We look forward to seeing you again!

Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend for the weekend. The room was great and the king size bed was so comfortable. The only strange thing was the corner room we had didn't have darker curtains that closed but in the morning the sunlight wasn't as bright as we thought. The staff was great and polite. We got in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
Mallory W, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I love hearing when guests have a great time during their stay. It is awesome to hear that our staff members were polite and that the restaurant met your expectations. I will be sure to share with the staff that they provided you with the quickest check out you've ever had. We hope to...

Mount Arlington, New Jersey
Reviewed 22 October 2016

Booked hotel for 2 nights. Going to see Diamond Rio band at Luhr Performing Center Sat Oct 22. Got here today. Ate at University Grille for lunch and dinner. Lunch great and dinner even better. Tonite Friday, was Steak Night. I had fillet mignon, my husband the 14 oz ribeye. Both cooked to perfection. If you visit here, you have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia777
Mallory W, Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the University Grille's new Friday night steak special and it left a good impression. I also wanted to thank you for reviewing us on trip adviser as well as giving us details about your stay at the front desk at check out. It really does help...

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Very loud guests and rooms that don't offer a buffer from the hall noises and the road noises. Nicely appointed rooms and a great lobby area. Terrible breakfast if you want more than coffee and a cup of yogurt (eggs /sausage look plastic )

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shirley C
Cassandra K, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. I'm glad your found good value in our rooms and lobby. I am deeply sorry to hear that you had trouble with noises and the breakfast. We are working on addressing your concerns to insure this is taken care of immediately.

Williamsburg, VA
Reviewed 16 October 2016

We spent four nights here over a holiday weekend when everything was booked solid in Gettysburg. We enjoyed our stay in this quaint, historic town, & it was only a 40 minute drive to Gettysburg. Pleasantly surprised with how nicely appointed our rooms were - my brother had a King suite with a large sitting room with TV, mini kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VASAFARI
Cassandra K, Front Office Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us! We are thrilled to hear about your stay. It is good to hear that you found our corner king and our king suite exceeded your expectations. It is also amazing to hear that my staff members were very helpful, I will be sharing your review with them to commend them on a job well...

Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

We found this hotel to be one of the nicest. People were very friendly., rooms were clean & good breakfast with good space. They even had a banquet set out when we went in to get a room. Would go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pondlong
Cassandra K, Guest Relations Manager at Shippen Place Hotel, responded to this review

Dear pondlong, Thank you for leaving your five star rating of our hotel. We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay as well as our breakfast and thank you so much for appreciating our efforts of providing you with clean, comfortable , and hospitable experience. On behalf of our entire staff, we thank you for your business...

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shippensburg
2.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Shippensburg
2.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Shippensburg Hotel
2.0 km away
Courtyard Shippensburg
Courtyard Shippensburg
#3 of 6 in Shippensburg
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
Sleep Inn & Suites Chambersburg
#6 of 16 in Chambersburg
291 reviews
16.2 km away
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
Candlewood Suites Chambersburg
#7 of 16 in Chambersburg
184 reviews
15.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Chambersburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access

Additional Information about Shippen Place Hotel

Address: 32 E. King Street, Shippensburg, PA 17257
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Shippensburg
Price Range: $80 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shippen Place Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Shippen Place Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Shippen Place Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
North Port, Florida
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Shippen Place Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Small street beside the hotel leads to the parking lot.”
 of 5 bubbles morningskywoman, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“You can hear some traffic from the rooms on the main street, but that calms down later in the evening.”
 of 5 bubbles 787kathleenb, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get room on fourth floor and/or one not on the street side of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles J6541NSmariav, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in an upper level room away from the elevator and facing King Street. It was quiet with a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles slm60898, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
“The fourth floor was great! Nice of of downtown!”
 of 5 bubbles 718toddl, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5