We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Orbitz.comUSD 94*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
USD 117*
USD 94*
USD 117*
USD 117*
USD 94*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

308 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 307: English reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I don't have enough time to write about all the problems. The entire hotel is outdated with dirty carpets, smelly halls and rooms. Our room had a broken toilet, food stuck to chairs, rusted towel racks, the shower curtain rod had been pulled hard enough to break the faux marble it was anchored to. The room smelled badly, the alarm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on this property. I have only been here a short time and I am very actively working on an action plan to give this property a bit of the updating she is needing. Some of the item are quick fixed while other will take time. However I am determined not...

Milton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 August 2016

While the location was very convenient to the highway, we were unfortunately greeted by less than enthusiastic desk staff and given keys to a filthy room. There were crumbs on the carpet, stains on the towels and bedding, various types of hair throughout the bathroom and the smell of stale smoke throughout. When we called the desk to let them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaf02125
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Please accept my apology on behave of my staff for not meeting your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. Even when things go wrong I like to know about them. then I can take action on correcting the issue no matter what it is. I will address the proper departments on the importance on how...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

I gave one star because at least the bed was comfortable. Very unhappy. Room was dirty....blood on curtains....blood on bedspread. Bathroom was dirty....mold in shower and toilet...someones dirty washcloth left. Everything in room was dirty. Continental breakfast...the tables were dirty. I have stayed in a lot of places and don't like to complain. We didn't really notice all of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethannwv
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I would like the opportunity to talk with you, if you wish to call me at the hotel since I have no contact information for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your...

Suitland, Maryland
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Horrible!!!! Woke up after an hour with bed bugs all over my 3yr old, 10yr old, my wife and myself; they were in the pillows and all over the bed! I left that night and management still has not called me back! I even took one and have it to the front desk since they said it was a beetle..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlo025
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for your stay with our hotel. As many hotels, even the most exquisite hotel will at one time or another have to deal with these pest. They are unpredictable and undetectable at times and then unfortunately they show up in one of your rooms. They are can be brought into hotel by other guest or even by some...

Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 3 August 2016

The Clarion is conveniently located and easy to get to from I83 and/or the PA Turnpike. There are several restaurants and fast food close by (Bob Evans, Pizza Hut, McDonald's). The hotel staff were very friendly and check in was a breeze. I was here on business, so I didn't have a chance to check out the pool, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jen K
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Reviewed 2 August 2016

Years past due for renovations. Entryways, hallways, bathrooms, carpets, wallpaper, woodwork, even the parking lot is way past due for renovations. Would have went elsewhere had there been availability.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule. I apologize on behalf of my staff that your stay did not meet your expectations. I hope my staff was helpful and professional during your stay. We have started an action plan on some of the renovations that are needed. I have only been a few short months and...

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 28 July 2016

We held a full day workshop for local business owners and CEOs recently at the Clarion. Metalaye Enterprises Inc. located in The Clarion Hotel is an amazing event company - so easy to work with and so creative! We received so many compliments on the event decor (especially the name tag presentation and book store!) and the food. Highly recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarar872016
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 21 July 2016

From the website and our booking we thought this place would be better. Housekeeping were still sorting out rooms at 6:00 pm and the general untidy state of the hallways wasn't just from that day's traffic . . . if it was then someone should have been out and about with a vacuum! Our room was tired. No more to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tony O
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience...

Millsboro, Delaware
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Thank goodness we got the group rate of $99 a night! I would've hated to pay full price. As of 6:30pm we still didn't have clean towels (I had to hunt down the laundry room), there were used q-tips in the floor, tub stopper was cracked & broken, VERY LITTLE AIR CONDITIONING in the room, and the electrical sockets were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TripleTMom85
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write this review. My guest opinions are important to me. This was not a typical stay at the hotel. We are in the process of updating our rooms and the hotel appearance. Improvement sometimes are not an overnight fix. But we are dedicated to get them completed as...

Endicott, New York
Reviewed 5 July 2016

Just spent this past weekend at the hotel for a baseball stay to play tournament. The good: Friendly staff, lots of space and gathering areas for groups of kids, acceptable free breakfast, sheets and towels looked clean, and the Garlic Poet attached to the hotel was fantastic! The bad: Spent about an hour cleaning/disinfecting the bathroom, light switches, etc.. in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peggles2016
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Clarion Hotel and Conference Center Harrisburg West. Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your recent visit. I have shared your feedback with the proper department. Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback....

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New Cumberland hotels
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.6 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 13 in New Cumberland
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.6 km away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 13 in New Cumberland
81 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Inn New Cumberland/Harrisburg South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Drive, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Price Range: $111 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms at the pool area.”
mariavE3650UQ, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“check the room before you unpack”
kristah699, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room to the back of the hotel and away from the highway/turnpike.”
STL-Mike-Rose, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 50s on the second floor (250, 251 etc) have Wi-Fi issues”
823jayanthm, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“wouldn't recommend it”
765shawkatm, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Orbitz.com
USD 94* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUSD 117
Expedia.comUSD 94
PricelineUSD 94
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates