We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

304 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
See the most recent reviews
Showing 303: English reviews
Independence, Missouri
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

Booked this hotel via Hotwire. Co sidering they are considered a 3.5 star hotel via Hotwure we were very disappointed. The carpets are very stained. Found 2 dead spiders in our bathroom. Very old fixtures and no fridge/microwave in rooms. Laid on bed for about 5 minutes and out of the corner of my eye saw something crawling on pillow....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jab0618
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for your stay with our hotel. As many hotels, even the most exquisite hotel will at one time or another have to deal with these pest. Since your son flushed the insect you saw, we were unable to determine if that is what it was. We always have the rooms taken off market so they are not sold....

Reviewed 8 September 2016

I was recently at the Clarion for a wedding. I could not be more impressed. The customer service and amount of amenities exceeded all of my expectations. We were able to enjoy and relax in the indoor pool. The room we stayed in was extremely clean and well kept. From the front desk, to the house keeping, it was beyond...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Casey H
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments I will pass them on.

Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I organize events for my company and I have had our last 2 Holiday parties at the Clarion. I was very pleased with the reasonable rate for the room and even more impressed with the menu selection. The event planner was very creative and really helped me wow my guests. I recently had a smaller event there and was just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jannene M
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. I will pass them on.

Reviewed 29 August 2016

From the very moment I walked in, I was very disappointed with this hotel. For instance, the McDonald's trash along with an empty liquor bottle left over by a previous guest was still lying there. Next, the bedspreads were not changed which was a horrible sight to say the least. I think there is no proper communication between the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jayanth m
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I consider all comments good or bad helpful in many ways. They help me know was department is performing well and which department need more help in accomplishing my goal, which is the satisfaction of my guest. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future just to see what we are...

Flanders, United States
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Stayed on my way taking my son back to college. About what you would expect for and $80 a night (AAA discount) room. Nothing fancy but comfortable and clean. The Garlic Poet, the restaurant located adjacent to the lobby was amazing. Great food, great beer, excellent and knowledgeable staff. If for any reason for staying at this hotel it should...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James R
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for your great comments. We hope to see you soon.

Campbell Hall, New York
Reviewed 22 August 2016

not clean , AC in room wasn't working despite of complaint wasn't fixed , found empty bear bottle at the room from previous guest , wifi in room too weak, dead cockroaches on the staircase , not expensive , located eight off the exit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shawkat M
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. Even when things go wrong I like to know about them. then I can take action on correcting the issue no matter what it is. I will address the proper departments on the importance on how these issues impact our guest expectations.

Reviewed 20 August 2016 via mobile

I don't have enough time to write about all the problems. The entire hotel is outdated with dirty carpets, smelly halls and rooms. Our room had a broken toilet, food stuck to chairs, rusted towel racks, the shower curtain rod had been pulled hard enough to break the faux marble it was anchored to. The room smelled badly, the alarm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt L
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on this property. I have only been here a short time and I am very actively working on an action plan to give this property a bit of the updating she is needing. Some of the item are quick fixed while other will take time. However I am determined not...

Milton, Massachusetts
Reviewed 10 August 2016

While the location was very convenient to the highway, we were unfortunately greeted by less than enthusiastic desk staff and given keys to a filthy room. There were crumbs on the carpet, stains on the towels and bedding, various types of hair throughout the bathroom and the smell of stale smoke throughout. When we called the desk to let them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisaf02125
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Please accept my apology on behave of my staff for not meeting your expectations. Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. Even when things go wrong I like to know about them. then I can take action on correcting the issue no matter what it is. I will address the proper departments on the importance on how...

Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

I gave one star because at least the bed was comfortable. Very unhappy. Room was dirty....blood on curtains....blood on bedspread. Bathroom was dirty....mold in shower and toilet...someones dirty washcloth left. Everything in room was dirty. Continental breakfast...the tables were dirty. I have stayed in a lot of places and don't like to complain. We didn't really notice all of this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bethannwv
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I would like the opportunity to talk with you, if you wish to call me at the hotel since I have no contact information for you. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your...

Suitland, Maryland
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Horrible!!!! Woke up after an hour with bed bugs all over my 3yr old, 10yr old, my wife and myself; they were in the pillows and all over the bed! I left that night and management still has not called me back! I even took one and have it to the front desk since they said it was a beetle..

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marlo025
Donna S, General Manager at Clarion Hotel & Conference Center, responded to this review

I apologize for your stay with our hotel. As many hotels, even the most exquisite hotel will at one time or another have to deal with these pest. They are unpredictable and undetectable at times and then unfortunately they show up in one of your rooms. They are can be brought into hotel by other guest or even by some...

130 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (73)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (23)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Cumberland
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS New Cumberland Inn & Suites
0.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New Cumberland
Holiday Inn Express & Suites New...
#2 of 14 in New Cumberland
46 reviews
7.1 km away
Red Lion Hotel Harrisburg Hershey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Harrisburg West
0.3 km away
Quality Inn New Cumberland - Harrisburg South
0.5 km away
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
Scottish Inns New Cumberland
#4 of 14 in New Cumberland
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Concierge
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located 5 minutes south of Harrisburg in a suburb of New Cumberland. Has easy access off of 2 major highways, Interstate 83 and Interstate 76, the Pennsylvania Turnpike. Attractions that are a short drive away from the hotel include Hershey Park, Pennsylvania State Capitol, Pennsylvania Farm Show Complex, the Amish (Lancaster County), Harley Davidson Plant, and historical Gettysburg. Enjoy local sports with the following clubs: Harrisburg Senators, AAA baseball, and Hershey Bears minor league ice hockey team for the Colorado Avalanche. Indoor heated pool nestled in a tropical courtyard are just 2 of the amenities that are offered. Guests of the Harrisburg Clarion Hotel & Conference Center can enjoy fresh, locally-sourced ingredients and from-scratch cuisine at the hotel’s on-site restaurant and bar, The Garlic Poet. You will find over 21,000 square feet of flexible conference and catering facilities which provide the ideal setting for many special occasions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel & Conference Center

Address: 148 Sheraton Dr, I-83 & PA Turnpike Exit 242, New Cumberland, PA 17070-2440
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > New Cumberland
Price Range: $106 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarion Hotel & Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Clarion Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Harrisburg Hotel New Cumberland
Holiday Inn New Cumberland
New Cumberland Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Clarion Hotel & Conference Center staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room to the back of the hotel and away from the highway/turnpike.”
 of 5 bubbles STL-Mike-Rose, 28 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms in the 50s on the second floor (250, 251 etc) have Wi-Fi issues”
 of 5 bubbles 823jayanthm, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“wouldn't recommend it”
 of 5 bubbles 765shawkatm, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“An "inside room" on the first floor has access to a courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles jenk941, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“The back rooms look out over the highway and can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles tonyo37, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay