We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wild Edge Retreat

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wollombi
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Wild Edge Retreat
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wild Edge Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 117: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 June 2015

My wife and I stayed at Wild Edge Retreat for two nights in May 2015. What an incredible experience. It's a selcuded retreat hidden away on the top of a mountain with only 4 Pavilions. Your only 40 minutes away from the Pokolbin/Hunter Wineries but it feels like you are miles from nowhere. The Hosts are fantastic, Alan was most...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bill M
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Bill M, Thank you for your great review of Wild Edge Retreat. We were very pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly are a 'Secluded Retreat', and our mountain ridge location ensures guests can enjoy magnificent, tranquil views. As well as the main wine region around Pokolbin, there are a number of...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 27 May 2015

My wife and I stayed here after our wedding for two nights, was the most perfect way to relax and unwind after a hectic few months leading up to our big day. We stayed in Wind Spirit lodge, was a bit too cold to use the pool - but I had to jump in anyway. Perfect layout and nothing was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Peter D
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Peter D, Thank you for posting your review. It was our pleasure to welcome you both to the Retreat and very pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your mini Honeymoon with us. We seem to have a huge increase of newly weds who, like you, just want a few days of peace and quiet together after the...

Newcastle NSW Australia
Reviewed 23 April 2015 via mobile

My husband and I were lucky enough to stay at the Wild Edge Retreat last weekend! It was simply amazing, the pavilion we stayed in "whispering forest" was fabulous, the bed was comfy, the spa incredible and the view breathtaking! We took advantage of the food platters on offer, the seafood was great value and so delicious! There is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hol_and_b
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear hol_and_b, Many thanks for posting your review of Wild Edge. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your break with us so much, and that you found the facilities so enjoyable too. The views from each of the Pavilions are pretty hard to beat and all offer a different aspect - the private decks are the...

Sydney
Reviewed 13 April 2015

We had such a relaxing time at Wild Edge Retreat and we wouldn't hesitate to book again. It is tucked away just past Wollombi if coming from Sydney. We were warmly greeted on arrival and driven to our accommodation by golf cart, we stayed in Wind Spirit. We were immediately excited by the setup, in particular a large bed in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maatsby
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Maatsby, Thank you so much for your review of Wild Edge. It was really pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us and that you found plenty of time to relax and enjoy the serenity of the Retreat. Due to our location, we are fortunate to have a very diverse number of native wildlife visit...

Reviewed 6 March 2015 via mobile

The most romantic weekend away my husband and I have ever had! The hosts were so welcoming and friendly! The attention to detail in our wind spirit pavilion was phenomenal! We arrived to out candle lit pavilion, we soft music and the most amazing view! The bed was super comfy and it has a lounge area that overlooks the stunning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MADABELLALINE
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Madabelaline, Thank you so much for submitting your review of Wild Edge. 'The most romantic weekend you have ever had' is, in itself great to read, but it seems you enjoyed every aspect of our Wind Spirit Pavilion and the Retreat, which is exactly what we aim for!. . The infinity edge pool with it's amazing mountain views and...

Reviewed 28 February 2015

Travelling a long distance and driving through the dirt and narrow road is pretty hard. But once you drive up to the retreat that's where you were see the most beautiful nature view that god created. I call "Heaven on Earth". I love everything about this place the beautiful room, pool, tub, scenery, smell of nature breeze, essential oil, relaxing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FionaBern
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Fiona and Bernard, Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us, secondly, thank you for posting such a great review of our little piece of 'Heaven on Earth', and thirdly - thank you for uploading the fantastic images. So pleased to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. Now we are just into Autumn, we...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 February 2015

I can not fault this place. From our arrival to our departure - it was nothing but perfection. We had a warm and inviting welcome from our host. We stayed in Whispering Forest and were greeted with contemporary surroundings. The kitchen had a great selection of teas; fresh breakfast daily (which was wonderful); the spa bath was amazing. We also...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dede21189
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Dede21189, Thank you for your review of Wild Edge. It was great to read that you had enjoyed our Retreat so much and thank you also for posting the images of Whispering Forest. Since your stay we have already made a few changes to the Pavilion. The kitchen has been refurbished and now includes full stone bench-tops, new inbuilt...

Sydney
Reviewed 21 February 2015 via mobile

So we went there over New Years 2014 break.... What can I say - Amazing. The trip started off with a pleasant intercom greeting at the security gate. When the gate opened up it was a moment of 'This is heaven'. Walking to the reception through the lush surroundings is nothing short of 'top notch'. We were explained and shown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dan T
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Dan T, Wow! Where do I start? Firstly, thank you so much for your review. It seems our property really hit the spot with you in every aspect, which is always our aim, but great to see when guests feel the same about Wild Edge as we do. We are constantly striving to make improvements to the property to...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 28 January 2015

This was our second stay at Wild Edge, this time a 3 night ‘Babymoon’ to relax and enjoy the long weekend. I only have good things to say about this place. The warm greeting, the cleanliness and presentation of the pavilion and the wonderful view from the balcony all add up to a great stay. Everything is thought of here....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristy L
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Kristy L, Many thanks for your review of Wild Edge Retreat. It was great to welcome you both back and very pleasing to read how much you had enjoyed your 3 night stay. I recall the first time you stayed we had torrential rain, so I was pleased we managed to turn on the sunshine this time! We wish...

Mangrove Mountain, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2015

My partner and I spent 2 nights in the Natures Mist pavilion. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm reception from. With a buggy ride from the car park to the pavilion, once we stepped inside we were taken aback by the beautiful scent circulating the room. The music playing in the room was beautiful and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ricky M
Wildedge, Owner at Wild Edge Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Ricky M, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and also for posting such a great review. It's somewhat humbling when guests write such great reviews, but at the same time very pleasing to read that we have delivered just what our guests were looking for - after all, that's why we are here! During your stay the...

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (112)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (84)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wollombi
29.2 km away
Spicers Vineyards Estate
Spicers Vineyards Estate
#1 of 15 in Pokolbin
829 reviews
19.7 km away
The Sebel Kirkton Park Hunter Valley
30.2 km away
Tonic Hotel
Tonic Hotel
#9 of 15 in Pokolbin
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Cedars Mount View
Cedars Mount View
#1 of 4 in Mount View
144 reviews
2.2 km away
Somewhere Unique
Somewhere Unique
#1 of 4 in Wollombi
209 reviews
0.8 km away
Blair Athol Estate Wollombi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
Room types
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wild Edge retreat is a 'Couples Only' Retreat. Positioned within our 100 acre property on a Mountain Ridgeline and comprising of four luxury Spa Pavilions, each with it's own breathtaking view of the valleys and mountains beyond.Surrounded on three sides by State Forest, Wild Edge offers guests peace and tranquility with the benefits of modern luxury accommodation. Two of our Pavilions have their own private plunge pool. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wild Edge Retreat

Address: 260 Craft Road, Wollombi, Cessnock, New South Wales, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Wollombi
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Wild Edge Retreat Wollombi, Greater Newcastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wild Edge Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The two north facing lodges offer the most privacy and beautiful morning sun, although all the lodges are well separated and private.”
paullZ7306UO, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Only an electric barbecue is offered unfortunately but believe this may be due to the location and potential fire restrictions”
paulmL825IC, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Wind song had beautiful views and private infinity pool.”
554kathrynm, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No bad Pavilions at Wild Edge, consider a room with a pool if staying in summer.”
paullZ7306UO, 16 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Nature's Mist has a lovely view of the valley.”
KarenH219, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5