We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    White Cliffs Underground Motel

    129 Smiths Hill, White Cliffs, New South Wales 2836, Australia
    Save
    Best prices for your stay
    09/07/2017 10/07/2017
    1 room
    • 1 room
      2 adults
      • 2 adults
        0 children
        • 0 children
          Traveller (90)
          Room & Suite (17)
          Dining (6)
          Overview
          • Excellent31%
          • Very good42%
          • Average16%
          • Poor5%
          • Terrible6%
          Travellers talk about
          Free Parking
          Pool
          Non-Smoking Rooms
          Restaurant
          Family Rooms
          Bar/Lounge
          Wheelchair Access
          Free Wifi
          Air Conditioning
          All hotel details
          {"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
          Write a Review
          Reviews (179)
          Traveller rating
          Traveller type
          Time of year
          Language

          1 - 5 of 177 reviews

          Reviewed 2 weeks ago

          Hard to rate this property as it was so different to "normal" motel. Definitely worth a one night stay. Shared bathroom wasn't a problem as our room had a rear door entry into this area. Not a luxury shower but I wasn't expecting it to...More

          Thank Lynette B
          Response from Janineg8, Manager at White Cliffs Underground MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear Lynette B, Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your stay with us and that you weren't disappointed. The Underground Motel thrives on reviews and travellers like you and we always aim to meet expectations. We are currently...More

          Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

          We had a great stay at the underground motel. Didn't feel claustrophobic at all as the rooms had high ceilings and ventilation shafts. The shared bathrooms weren't a problem as there were quite a number of individual rooms. The staff were fantastic and the meals...More

          Thank Steve C
          Response from Janineg8, General Manager at White Cliffs Underground MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear Steve C Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your stay with us and that you weren't disappointed. The Underground Motel thrives on reviews and travellers like you and we always aim to meet expectations. We are currently...More

          Reviewed 4 weeks ago

          We stayed 2 nights at the Underground Motel, the first night was OK, we were able to have a really nice dinner in the Motel restaurant, Continental breakfast included however you could not get a cooked breakfast if this was your choice. After a day...More

          Thank Iggy1950
          Response from Janineg8, General Manager at White Cliffs Underground MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear Iggy1950 Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your stay with us and we are very disappointed to read your expectations were not met. There is certainly no excuse for the lack of service or food for that...More

          Reviewed 17 May 2017

          An experience! Not claustrophobic as anticipated with spacious well ventilated dug out rooms. The public areas get natural light and there is a very peasant out door area. The food was good for the country and the dish of the day the best choice. Great...More

          1  Thank Andrew N
          Response from DanikaS26, Marketing Officer at White Cliffs Underground MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

          Hi Andrew N, Thank you for taking the time to leave this review! Many people are surprised to find the underground rooms so comfortable considering that they are underground. But there is a reason why the townfolk of White Cliffs choose to live this way!...More

          Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

          We went to this motel on a family road trip. We stayed here purely for the novelty of the ultimately unique experience of staying underground. If thats why you want to visit then this is definately the place for you. Each room carved out of...More

          Thank Haley002
          Response from Janineg8, General Manager at White Cliffs Underground MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

          Dear Steve C Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your stay with us and that you weren't disappointed. The Underground Motel thrives on reviews and travellers like you and we always aim to meet expectations. We are currently...More

          About
          Amenities
          • Top amenities
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Free Parking
          • Bar/Lounge
          • Hotel Amenities
          • Free Parking
          • Things to do
          • Pool
          • Restaurant
          • Bar/Lounge
          Details
          • Room types
          • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
          • Family Rooms
          • Number of rooms
          • 30
          • Location
          • Australia >
          • New South Wales >
          • White Cliffs
          • Also Known As
          • Underground Hotel White Cliffs
          Add Photo Photos
          Traveller (90)
          Room & Suite (17)
          Dining (6)
          Pool & Beach (2)
          Hotel & Grounds (74)
          Nearby
          Nearby Restaurants
          White Cliffs General Store
          6 reviews
          1.34 km away
          Red Earth Opal Cafe
          28 reviews
          1.36 km away
          Nearby Attractions
          Paroo-Darling National Park
          7 reviews
          1.34 km away
          Questions & AnswersAsk a question
          30Kattang
          What are the toilet & bathroom facilities like?
          17 March 2017|
          Answer Show all 8 answers
          Response from 711sylviag | Reviewed this property |
          Bathrooms were clean, no bad odours, no queues when I was there. There are lights on all the time, so you won't get lost during the night.
          2
          Votes
          Room Tips
          "Make sure to go up the stairs to catch sunrise/sunsets"
          Read review
          "Try to get a room closer to the amenities as it can be quite a long distance from your room."
          Read review
          "All the rooms looked fabulous ."
          Read review
          "Choose one close to the bathrooms or one with the window"
          Read review
          Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
          Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing