We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Colonial Motor Inn

4 Ungarie Rd, West Wyalong, New South Wales 2671 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (8)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 8 hotels in West Wyalong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Colonial Motor Inn allows you to enjoy true country hospitality at its best. With a superb restaurant on site you can enjoy quality wholesome steakhouse meals at very reasonable prices. There is plenty of on site parking available for larger vehicles with trailers or boats. Surrounded by parks & located close to the centre of town makes the Colonial Motor Inn an ideal stop over location.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Meeting rooms
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Room service
Microwave
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Business
77Reviews1Q+A8Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 30
  • 27
  • 15
  • 2
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Neil wrote a review Jan 2024
Melbourne, Australia1 contribution
Stayed there on route to Parkes with my two brothers so had two rooms. Both rooms clean and comfortable, air conditioning worked well and though rooms and motel dated enjoyed our stay. Easy walking distance to town and management very helpful and accommodating ( pardon the pun). Will definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kim G wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
I spent a week here while I was working in the local area. Right from the start the staff were very accommodating of my requirements of supplying breakfast for early morning starts and a packed lunch. I will definitely stay here the next time I am in West Wyalong.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Susan H wrote a review Sept 2023
Sydney, Australia104 contributions44 helpful votes
Great spot for an overnight stay. Rooms clean bathroom a bit small. On the corner of highway so a bit of road noise. Unfortunately, the restaurant was not open and we had to go elsewhere.. Staff very helpful especially when I forgot something and had to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Amusos wrote a review July 2022
15 contributions3 helpful votes
Expensive considering the condition of the place. Needs some love. Tiny bathroom, shower door needs repairing, wi fi doesn't work, no toaster or hair dryer. Beds were comfy, good microwave. Wish I'd read the reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Linda M wrote a review June 2022
Adelaide, Australia13 contributions2 helpful votes
A one night stopover on our way to Brisbane. The bed was comfortable, the shower was quite small. Friendly staff. There was an accidental overcharge to our account, but all was sorted quickly by hotel staff.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kylie Mels wrote a review May 2022
Melbourne, Australia12 contributions4 helpful votes
Country hospitality was not on show here. Everyone has a bad day so we’re prepared to be generous and put it down to that. Check in slow - waited 20 mins. No information about the room or amenities. The room itself was basic but comfortable. WiFi didn’t work, TV had sound but no picture. We asked about this and were greeted with an eye roll and sigh - as though we were asking too much. Asked for directions to a local restaurant and received a grumpy ‘you should be dining here’. Well if we knew there was a restaurant on site we may have! Overheard neighbouring rooms complaining about noise and no WiFi so we weren’t the only ones. Shower had hot water only.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Kym Barry wrote a review Apr 2022
Brisbane, Australia3 contributions
The rate of $140 is a complete waste of money. The room and it’s amenities are old,walls cement which is flaking. The bed lies up against a brick wall.Seriously,it needs a good clean and full refurb. One occupant has a large dog with an array of dog dish,bed. I could go on but I won’t
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: On main road,this motel appears to have long term residents. The a/c is a old block unit. I would...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Lezah K wrote a review Mar 2022
Brisbane, Australia7 contributions
After a long ride in the rain, arriving at the Colonial Motor Inn to find a very clean room and an exceptionally comfortable bed with high quality pillows was fabulous. Unfortunately, we didn’t get the opportunity to dine at the steakhouse, however we were given a great tip to head up to the nearby Chinese restaurant which didn’t disappoint!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Michelle W wrote a review Dec 2021
Greater Melbourne, Australia12 contributions2 helpful votes
Room was clean and tidy although very dated. Bed was comfortable and clean - had good free wifi. We chose to eat at the local hotel instead of in-house. Check in was easy although the manager had difficulty accepting the fact that we don’t have a home address as we are full time on the road and advised they could get fined if we didn’t have a home address!! Have never had an issue before for being No Fixed Abode.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
sally m wrote a review Jan 2021
Melbourne, Australia6 contributions3 helpful votes
A dissapointing experience. We choose this hotel while driving picking the most expensive in west Wyalong expecting country quality. It was a hot night, the a/c struggled, the pool was closed due poor maintenance, it was on a corner of the highway that was frequented by trucks turning. The rooms we very tired, and small. It felt unloved and needs a freshen up. A quick look and there seems to be much better value around .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Carol Douglas, General Manager at Colonial Motor Inn
Responded 30 Jan 2021
Thank-you for you review. Yes, you stayed in West Wyalong on one of the hottest nights so far thhis Summer. We are sorry that you were disappointed that our pool was closed, but as you can appreciate, trying to access the necessary parts to fix chlorinators is difficult during this pandemic with a shortage of goods. In rder to keep our guests safe we abide by all regulations regarding water quality, so our pool was closed on the day in question. Our pool has since been fixed and is back to looking sparkling. As managers, we cannot address the size of our motel rooms, but we are currently undertaking a refurbishment plan to freshen the rooms up as you suggested.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the West Wyalong area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$148 - AU$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesWest Wyalong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
24
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COLONIAL MOTOR INN (AU$148): 2024 Prices & Reviews (West Wyalong) - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Colonial Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Colonial Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Holland Park Swim Centre (0.7 km), The McCann Park Tree Sculpture (0.1 km), and Big Bull Mural (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Colonial Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Colonial Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Colonial Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colonial Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Paragon Cafe, Whats Cookin, and The Metropolitan Hotel Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Colonial Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Colonial Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of West Wyalong.
Are any cleaning services offered at Colonial Motor Inn?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Does Colonial Motor Inn offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Is Colonial Motor Inn accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.