We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 267: English reviews
Gosford, Australia
Reviewed 16 January 2015 via mobile

In summer we had a lovely break in this hotel. Very dated and in need of refresh. In saying that I couldn't fault anything. All comfortable and staff very good. Would never pay the rack rate though. Look for deals in summer.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank peter y
ThredboResort, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your summer vacation at TAH and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. TAH is the perfect summer getaway and of course lot's of specials available for guests. We hope to see you again soon! Best Regards, TAH

Australia
Reviewed 8 January 2015

Our two night summer stay here was a Luxury Escapes special deal so I can't really comment on pricing. The hotel purports to be four star quality (self rated). It's comfortable and well maintained and the staff were pleasant, helpful and responsive. Our room, a King Double, similarly was comfortable, and quite well furnished, albeit a bit crowded because of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mumbo51
ThredboResort, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thredbo Alpine Hotel. Best Regards, TAH

Australia
Reviewed 7 January 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights on our way from Sydney to Orbost in Victoria. We had a terrace room looking up to the mountains, all excellent. Had a fabulous walk and enjoyed watching mountain bikers riding down the tracks from the top. One ski lift was open but we didn't go up as it was windy. Strongly recommend Thredbo...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaMonica
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed your mountain view. I agree completely that Thredbo is a great place in Summer. Have to see the view from the top next time you visit. Kind Regards, TAH

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 6 January 2015

We stayed for three nights and had a pleasant stay but the place really needs a update. The tartan and wood which did give a mountain lodge feel also made the place look very dated. Good things - comfortable bed, hotel great location close to everything, reception areas have plenty of room to relax and use wifi in, spa and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gundagirl
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our location and breakfast. Sorry for any inconvenience but due to the time of year the restaurant offerings can be slim during the week. We hope to see you again soon! TAH

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 5 January 2015

Booked direct from Rydges website, we expected that this hotel was operated by Rydges. However, upon arriving at Thredbo village, the absence of Rydges hotel directional signs was an omen. It seems that Rydges does not manage this property. The hotel restaurant was closed except for a buffet breakfast, and we learnt that in the days leading up to Christmas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Egalitarian
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles in our industry very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, which our guests expect. You are correct we are...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 January 2015

We spent one night at TAH as part of a long road trip. We arrived after a 8 hour drive, tired and looking forward to a shower and a bit of rest. Unfortunately, reception was rather abrupt and chilly, which was very disappointing. Not the best start to our stay. We took our key and dragged our heavy bags up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ALMRT
Bethany P, Front Office Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. The issues you have addressed will be brought up with our Front Office staff. We truly apologise for any inconvenience. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you...

Narrabundah
Reviewed 30 December 2014

While I did not stay in the hotel we had a very pleasant drive up from Jindabyne and then a memorial walk around the village before going into lunch in the Kosciuszko Room. We were very surprised by the high quality and variety of the foods on offer. It was a select your own arrangement with a very large range...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gordon35au
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to celebrate Christmas Lunch with our hotel. Your comments have been passed onto our Executive Chef Kane Stamp. Look forward to serving you again soon. Kind Regards, TAH

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 29 November 2014

Lashed out and got a balcony room at the front with mountain and ski-slope views. Terrific 1960s-style ski resort decor - all pale wood, tub chairs, checks and tartans. Coffee plunger and small packet of ground coffee a nice touch. Bathroom dated but roomy enough and well-designed. Walls thin though, and unfortunately not James Bond in the St Moritz suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SeriousFrolic
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property, your comments are very much valued. Sorry for any inconvenience resulted by the bridal party, the off season is rather popular for weddings also. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Thredbo Alpine Hotel Best Regards, TAH

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 November 2014

You need to realize that nothing in Thredbo is cheap, at any time of the year, however there is a variety of accommodation and it does vary in dollar value and quality. I have stayed in three places in Thredbo over the years and this place is in my view the best value for money I have stayed at. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
Bethany P, Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

**Please note this review if for the THREDBO ALPINE APARTMENTS Dear Guest Thank you for the positive review of our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Thredbo Alpine Apartments. We hope to see you again soon! TAH

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 30 October 2014

We stayed during the October long weekend and had a fantastic time. The golf course was superb (the beautiful weather that weekend really helped); the band at the pool bar was great entertainment; the reception staff were generally friendly (although sometimes hard to flag down when in their back-room); and the buffet breakfast every morning was truly impressive (I LOVED...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ajh268
Bethany P, General Manager at Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with our hotel. We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities and that our friendly staff helped to make your stay a memorable one. The lovely staff member is Wiki from Cascades, a valued part of our team. Also for future reference we have moved the computer to the...

80 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Thredbo Village
0.2 km away
Candlelight Lodge
Candlelight Lodge
#1 of 5 in Thredbo Village
180 reviews
0.1 km away
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
The Denman Hotel Thredbo
#4 of 5 in Thredbo Village
166 reviews
0.1 km away
Alpenhorn Lodge
Alpenhorn Lodge
#2 of 5 in Thredbo Village
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Winterhaus Lodge
Winterhaus Lodge
#5 of 5 in Thredbo Village
14 reviews
30.3 km away
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
Lake Jindabyne Hotel
#1 of 10 in Jindabyne
376 reviews
14.7 km away
Lake Crackenback Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the heart of the village, just metres from the base of the Kosciuszko Express Chairlift. This is a historic property with an alluring sense of alpine culture - it has great character, charm and warmth. The rooms are comfortable and cosy, the dining outstanding and the staff friendly and welcoming. Hotel facilities include restaurants, bars, a spa, sauna, outdoor pool, guest laundry, bike room and car parking. Thredbo is famous for après activities and when staying at the hotel you have both restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. Enjoy casual meals and a lively pub atmosphere in The Local Pub & Bistro and relaxed restaurant dining with breath-taking views in Cascades Restaurant. Thredbo also has a year round events schedule featuring live music, festivals, special food and beverage events, hiking, mountain biking, fly fishing and everything in-between. With something for everyone and only a stones throw from everything, Thredbo Alpine Hotel is the perfect place for your next mountain escape. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel

Address: Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Friday Drive, Thredbo Village, Kosciuszko National Park, New South Wales 2625, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kosciuszko National Park > Thredbo Village
Price Range: $122 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Thredbo Village Alpine Hotel
Thredbo Alpine Hotel
Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel Thredbo Village
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Rydges Thredbo Alpine Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best view from the top floor facing West although the rooms may get hot summer months.”
 of 5 bubbles pfoye, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great location,but needs some TLC”
 of 5 bubbles lizzyb2016, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No lift but level 3 low even numbers 304, 306,308 may have mountain view and away from noise of apres ski pool party?”
 of 5 bubbles juliaw281, 12 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Better to stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles rmp26, 2 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Wifi is available everywhere but in your room”
 of 5 bubbles HarakaMtColah, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5