We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton

44 Maitland Rd, Singleton, New South Wales 2330 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (39)
Room & Suite (15)
Dining (10)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 4 hotels in Singleton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
We have 70 rooms, restaurant onsite, swimming pool and tennis court and etc... Good location, 2 km from singleton CBD and 20 mins from the famous hunter valley wineries. very good corporate motor inn. Best value guaranteed in singleton and hunter valley area.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Bar / lounge
Tennis court
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Parking
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Picnic area
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Languages Spoken
English
164Reviews4Q+A45Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 31
  • 66
  • 43
  • 12
  • 12
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Glenn S wrote a review 14 Feb
6 contributions1 helpful vote
If you’ve updated your car forget about this place. Obviously the owner is here is anti EV. They try to overcharge for their EV facilities, but putting the price up over 10 times what it should be, remember other accommodation offers as a complementary service.. the worst part is the absolute arrogant nature of whoever replies to their Google reviews. They are an “expert” on how your car works, obviously, they’ve never owned one. They are convinced that if you charge something you’re staying there, it’ll somehow damage their electrical system, I wonder if that applies to other electrical appliances like laptops or phones. Some people should not be in the hospitality business. What a disappointment. It’s a shame because although it’s old it’s not too bad. Maybe they could bring back the old Manager?
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charbonnier Hotel Singleton, General Manager at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
Responded yesterday
Thank you for you second one star review about the same situation. As previously stated we can not allow you to plug your car in with your cable, which wasn't tested, as this might be faulty and could cause severe damage to the hotel and guests. We are absolutely not EV haters and have been looking into getting a charging station. Thanks.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Andrew M wrote a review Nov 2023
Manly, Australia3 contributions1 helpful vote
If you stay make sure you avoid the older lady on the desk. Very unfriendly, filthy language, rude to staff, heard her yell at staff and swear at them in the hallway. Felt embarrassed for the young girl at reception trying her best. On check out not any better. Almost seemed relieved people were leaving and saw her tear strips off the old man in the office, swearing and being rude. Won’t stay here again, maybe in the future if this lady isn’t there, seems like she doesn’t know anything about hospitality.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Melanie M wrote a review Oct 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Arrive.. check in to 1/5 rooms (all good) collected cards for other 4 rooms , got back 10pm from a day at the wineries and concert to 4/5 room cards not working to access motel lobby or rooms . 2 other guests also had issues, attempted calling after hours mobile and reception for over 1 hour , called police to attend , eventually daughter of motel manager aka anaesthetist got father to recode cards . Then had stuffed up bookings of rooms and had another person expected to check in to the same room one of our guest was currently in at midnight, I had to give advice to such manager to simply code the card he was meant to book our guest into originally to leave in key box for the guest arriving at midnight so they didn’t arrive at our guests room. Absolute S**** show of a place. Manager had mentioned as checking in that they came out retirement to get the motel back into shape . Not a good start I might add.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Montana H wrote a review Oct 2023
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
I wasn’t sure what to expect when I booked this hotel. But I was certainly surprised in the best way. John & Tina were welcoming, polite & friendly on our arrival. They are doing a fantastic job considering they’ve only just taken over. The rooms are neat & tidy & were perfect for our short stay. Breakfast satisfied our needs. We’ll certainly be back next time we’re in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: The pool was lovely & was so refreshing
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Mobile600353 wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution
Great value for money! Terrific amenities all round and the staff were fantastic and friendly, from the housekeepers right through to management. The manager even went out of his way to show my granddaughter how to feed the fish! Onsite restaurant was fantastic with exceptional service. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
henrys586 wrote a review Oct 2023
Newcastle, Australia5 contributions2 helpful votes
My company booked me for three nights and we received a confirmation back. When I arrived I was advised that I was only booked for 1 night. I advised that our travel agent will look at future bookings at the hotel. The manager arrived and he was very rude and told me to go back to South Africa where I belong. I then got upset and the argument escalated. The manager told me to go outside and he will show me what he will do, I gather he was up for a fight. Very easiest and aggressive for a manager. He reported me to my company but left the fact that he was racist against me out of his report. Not what I expected from a manager.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Confirm booking prior to arrival
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Claire D wrote a review Oct 2023
1 contribution2 helpful votes
Do not book this hotel. After hours staff are extremely rude and unhelpful. An aggressive male staff member who took our call and did not give his name cancelled our reservation without reason when we were only trying to organise a late check in. We are travelling with children and this behaviour was unexpected and unprofessional.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Charbonnier Hotel Singleton, General Manager at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
Responded 5 Oct 2023
Thanks for your second review on a different platform. Here is our response we gave you on Google. Thank you for your review, however the facts always get in the way of a good story and as we always know, when someone doesn't get their way they jump straight on to google and leave false claims! When it was mentioned reception was closed, your call was well after 7pm, not just after 7pm, you became irate, you then decided to be abusive and swearing and rude, as it shows in your review the way you think of people. Not once did you ask about family, the restaurant or any of the things you stated. Yes we cancelled your booking with due cause as we don't tolerate abuse at all. We do offer a great service as is reflective on many great guests who stay and their reviews and comments at check out. Maybe if you were less abusive in your manner you too would have experience all of this.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Kathy O wrote a review Aug 2023
New South Wales, Australia11 contributions2 helpful votes
Great service, friendly staff. Complimentary continental breakfast included in the price. Bed and pillows very comfy. Easy to find and close to town. The restaurant Dopplegangers is great. Food excellent, good sized portions Chef and the waitress,Sadiya, were lovely. Really enjoyed both nights dinner there.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Avoid the heavy traffic times as it is on the New England highway
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Charbonnier Hotel Singleton, General Manager at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
Responded 10 Aug 2023
Thanks for the review, your kind words and experience will be shared with our staff and the restaurant. We look forward to seeing you again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heartsea wrote a review Mar 2023
Gosford, Australia16 contributions7 helpful votes
Clean Friendly staff until I met the manager. When I asked for disabled assistance with my bags he exploded at me telling me they dont do that and ended with dont argue with me because I will win. Many other reviews I have read have said similar things but they are mysteriously being removed from the sites. I have never been treated so rudely and will never stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Charbonnier Motor Inn, General Manager at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
Responded 22 Mar 2023
Thanks Chris, it is flattering you want to mention us on 2 different review sites. The truth is you know no-one "exploded". Please ensure you don't lie on these forums, although you feel you need to air these lies in a public forum. FYI - here is the response we left on google from your first review. At least we got a 3, normally from guests who feel it is ok to tell lies we get a 1. Chris, thanks for the review however please ensure you are factual. You mentioned we dont do fresh fruit anymore which means this is not the first time you have stayed so your entire story is untrue to start from as you know what the facilities are. You provoked the interaction and when you didn't like what we were mentioning about things you continued to play the "poor me" card. At 9:50 you and your group were still talking in the restaurant breakfast area, which closes at 9. When asked you stated you needed help, however you had someone with you to help. Additionally you said you researched our property prior to booking and saw there is no access to rooms except the interior hallway. I never said anything about booking direct, I asked if you booked direct with us which you said you did. You kept escalating the argument to which I said I am not going to argue with you. We get many guest with disabilities stay and no-one ever complains or has an issues with our facilities, until you. You stated we dont do fresh fruit anymore which means you have stayed before and know what the property is like. Thanks for the feeling for our staff, ALL of my staff are very hard working and we all have mutual respect and all get along very well. When booking a place you need to remember, you choose us, we dont choose you and everything you have stated is not correct and you weren't argued with or yelled at, and I have three staff who can verify that. I walked away as you didn't want to see reason and we don't tolerate when guests get demanding and rude. As usual though, we do everything wrong and you are right.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jaybee155 wrote a review Jan 2023
City of Greater Geelong, Australia17 contributions8 helpful votes
I enjoyed staying here with a family member for over a week . The manager is very welcoming & professional & staff work together so well as a team a very friendly & helpful . The complimentary Breakfast in dining room was a nice surprise- the restaurant here was also very good quality yummy food - room service is available for dinner menu from 5 30 pm . Sheets & towels , good quality, the pool was great in a lovely setting & large backyard grounds , so peaceful- you can sit outside. You can walk to shops about 25 minutes away - tourist information & cafe 🍵 across the road , they are also very friendly & helpful there . . Convenience store very close & also 7 eleven within short walking distance. . Will be back …
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Singleton area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$154 - AU$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSingleton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
70
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARBONNIER MOTOR INN SINGLETON (AU$154): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton
Which popular attractions are close to Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Nearby attractions include Australian Army Infantry Museum (6.1 km), Singleton Historical Society & Museum Inc (1.3 km), and Townhead Park (0.09 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Conveniently located restaurants include Worn Out Wares, Munkeeskins Café, and Cervo'z Cafe & Catering.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Does Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Sacred Spaces (1.6 km).
Is Charbonnier Motor Inn SIngleton accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.