Chalet Sonnenhof
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chalet Sonnenhof

29 Wheatley Rd, Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, New South Wales 2624 Australia
Traveller (36)
Room & Suite (6)
Dining (5)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 2 special B&Bs in Perisher Valley
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Family
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese
Property amenities
Hot bath
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Game room
Skiing
Spa
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Kids' meals
Vending machine
Billiards
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Room features
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms

Location

29 Wheatley Rd, Kosciuszko National Park, Perisher Valley, New South Wales 2624 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 63 out of 100
63
Cooma Airport
51.9 km
See all flights
63Reviews0Q+A13Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 13
  • 2
  • 2
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Lucinda M wrote a review Sept 2020
8 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Really friendly helpful management we had a great time. Staff were so willing to accomodate transport and special requests. Loved the little bar and the ski shots and chatting with the owner and his charismatic son. Great place to stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
julzinlondon wrote a review Aug 2023
London66 contributions37 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Its already been mentioned, but the food was excellent. Every night it was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Was great after a hard days skiing. We didn't feel that we needed lunch each day and just had breakfast and dinner which was fine.
Nice atmosphere with all the guests. The pool table is not free which is surprising. I think if it was it would get used more and create a good focus in the lounge room instead of everyone just being on their phones.
The beds were not that comfortable so I didn't sleep that well.
The spa was only open 2 nights out of the 5 that we were there which was a shame as it did feel nice on my muscles. It was closed because of broken glass (which aren't allowed in there anyway) and vomit. So not the chalets fault that other people couldn't follow simple rules.
Very warm weather meant that there wasn't enough snow to ski to the lifts so lots of walking in ski boots.
If I was going back to Perisher I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Cas S wrote a review July 2023
Sydney, Australia8 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Just spent 5 nights at Chalet Sonnenhof with my daughter. We absolutely loved it.
Charlie, Zac, Nick, Danielle, Chloe and all the staff are so friendly and helpful. The food is ridiculously good, the beds are so comfy and the lounge area is perfect for a wine by the fire after a day's skiing. Could not recommend it more highly.
We will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Susan J wrote a review July 2023
Greater Sydney, Australia16 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
DO NOT BOOK here

I booked 3 weeks out and did the right thing booking directly with Chalet Sonnenhof so the booking sites don’t take their fee

The booking was for my son for his 21st

2 weeks out my son has found out he has a stress fracture in his back and obviously skiing is off the cards.

I emailed Chalet Sonnenhof as soon as we found out on the 8th July still hadn’t had a reply followed up on the 15th July received a reply saying it wasn’t their policy to refund.

They didn’t offer a credit just said maybe we could get friends to take it. A week out who is going to want to take this and pay $2000. It was a 21st birthday present.

Over $2000 for two nights accommodation this just isn’t good enough.

Not only have I lost $2000 dollars I now have to buy my son another 21st birthday present.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aab1976 wrote a review July 2022
Sydney, Australia80 contributions94 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Convenient location - easy to ski out in the morning and a short walk home at the end of the day. Cute little bar for an afternoon tipple. Nice common lounge room with pool table and open fire to hang out after dinner. The AMAZING staff make this place feel like home, Zac, Charlie, Cloe, Ben. Excellent food by Chef Jack every night (fingers crossed you get the ribs one night!).
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: NB no on-site parking, but it’s easy to leave car at Bullocks Flat & the Chalet will pick you up...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steph J wrote a review Sept 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place to base yourself to attack the slopes! Clean, warm, and cosy. Well equipped with massaging hot tub and awesome food! The Hof Bar is friendly and well stocked. Staff welcoming and nothing’s a problem.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jarrod L wrote a review Aug 2014
Sydney, Australia21 contributions43 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Going to the snow is such a great family experience and Chalet Sonnenhof is a good family setting.
We enjoyed the spa and sauna, the little bar, the lounge area, convenience of staying in Perisher and meeting other people staying at the Chalet.
We loved the food. It was surprisingly good, both breakfast and dinner. The kids meals were excellent as well.
But, the place is rather run down and old, the rooms are small and it feels like the owners are trying to save $ in funny ways. For example, limited pick up from the snow fields in the afternoon (it is a difficult walk up to the chalet from the bottom of the lifts), limited time for the spa and sauna (only 4:30 to 6:00pm sharp!), cheap and limited toiletries, no room cleaning service and no towel changes.

As there was no parking at Perisher we had to take the ski tube from Bullocks Flat and the cost was surprisingly huge at $256 return for two kids and two adults!! Ouch. Add to that the need to get a 'Hans Oversnow' taxi to the chalet at $39 for all 4 of us and we hit a brutal cost of nearly $300 just to get to the chalet!!
Would we recommend it to friends? Yes, with some warnings.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2014Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pete12345689 wrote a review Aug 2013
2 contributions11 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is WAY overpriced and over rated! the service is poor the food is like prison food(they tell you what to eat)and it looks nothing like what's on their web site, false advertising( a mouth watering steak) the spa is never open the owners husband needs a personality change. I will never ever stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2013
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof
Responded 18 Aug 2013
I'm sorry you feel this way, and I don't understand why you didn't mention any of this "if " you did in fact stay here. We have had many guests stay here this season and haven't had any complaints about the food, only compliments. The spa has operated every scheduled day this winter. We can not understand why anybody would create a malicious story like this. P.S. I have never tried "prison food".
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sam H wrote a review July 2018
1 contribution5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
4 days skiing in Perisher, great snow, great weather and great accommodation. Chalet Sonnenhof is in a prime location for access to front valley. The Chalet was warm and cosy and the food was fantastic. Wonderful, friendly service which was incredibly helpful. Will definitely be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TomPerisherValley, Manager at Chalet Sonnenhof
Responded 24 Aug 2018
Thank you for your review, we would love to have you back :)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jimmyjack2440 wrote a review July 2009
Crescent Head11 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at the Chalet Sonnenhof for the first weekend of the nsw July school holidays. I can honestly say that chalet, staff, facilities and service were all above average. The meals included in our package were all 5 star and the bar prices were more than reasonable.

After a long day on the slopes, you can enjoy a nice heated spa and sauna before unwinding in the bar and heading upstairs for a fulfilling meal.

The owner operator team are more than willing to cater to your every need and the barman Sam is a warm welcome after a day on the slopes catering for whatever you fancy, as well having stories to share.

The Chalet provides over the snow transport on arrival and departure to the ski tube terminal, plus the added service of a daily shuttle service from the ski base up the hill to the Chalet.

Therefore I can strongly recommend the Chalet Sonnenhof to anyone looking for on snow accommodation in perisher valley with a friendly family atmosphere that will having you coming back the Chalet for years to come.

P.s. Write you name in the bar and add to the many years of tradition. Look for Marty and James 2009, written straight above the bar when sitting at the bar and you will see this travelers engraving.

James Steinmetz
Crescent Head NSW 2440
Read more
Date of stay: July 2009
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Perisher Valley area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesKosciuszko National ParkPerisher Valley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHALET SONNENHOF - 2023 Reviews (Perisher Valley) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Chalet Sonnenhof
Which popular attractions are close to Chalet Sonnenhof?
Nearby attractions include Perisher Blue Ski Resort (0.5 km) and Perisher (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Chalet Sonnenhof?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and a spa.
What food & drink options are available at Chalet Sonnenhof?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Chalet Sonnenhof?
Conveniently located restaurants include High Ground Coffee Bar, Brunelli's Cafe, and Alpine Eyre.
Is Chalet Sonnenhof located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 1.0 km away from the centre of Perisher Valley.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Chalet Sonnenhof?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Japanese.
All Perisher Valley HotelsPerisher Valley Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Perisher ValleyHotels near Chalet Sonnenhof
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars