We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Peak Hill Caravan Park

Traveller (15)
Room & Suite (5)
Dining (1)
Certificate of Excellence


Certificate of Excellence
Small family-owned caravan park on the Newell Highway. A great stop-over location between Melbourne and Brisbane. Walking distance (200m) to Clubs. Fully equipped en-suite cabins from double up to a family of six with linen provided. Drive through powered sites for caravans and motor homes up to 19m in length available. Controlled pets welcome. During the winter the shower floors are heated, and during the summer we have a number of shady sites. There is free WiFi throughout the park.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Public Wifi
Self-Serve Laundry
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
8Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 33
  • 31
  • 3
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
The cabins were dirty and the bins were full. It was over 30 C overnight and the first cabin we stayed in did not have air con that was effective. It also had lots of mozzies and bugs. We asked if we could go to another cabin for our next overnight stay and the owners became
Read more
Response from LeightonandPauline, Owner at Peak Hill Caravan Park
Responded 11 Jan. 2019
Hi Kym. Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry you had such a bad experience this trip. We will address the issues you have raised ASAP. Can you please contact us by email and let us know the nights you stayed and the cabins you were in so we can find out what went wrong. As you have been a happy customer in the past we value you and want to ensure we do not have these problems in the future. Best regards Leighton and Pauline.
Read more
First night on our road trip to Cairns saw us in Peak Hill late in the evening. The room was not overly expensive but the cabin had filthy sofas and dining chairs, worn and dirty floors and not all the facilities worked properly. The manager was made aware that we had a small
Read more
Response from LeightonandPauline, Owner at Peak Hill Caravan Park
Responded 5 Jan. 2019
Hi Eddie. Thanks for your feedback, however we would like to find out more details of your issues so they can be addressed. Firstly is it possible to let us know which date and which cabin you were staying in, also what facilities did not work properly, as unless we know we are unable to fix the problem. We always have been attentive to the conditions of our cabins and even though they are getting old we always work at keeping them clean and tidy. As far as not giving you advice regard the food outlets, I must apologise as I am always telling people that it is 324 steps to the Services Club and the Pub is a bit further down on the same side, so somehow I must have failed to inform you.
Read more
Only planned on staying for 1 night - but with so much to do in the area stayed 3! We decided to stay out of Dubbo and only 76kms down the Newell Highway we found Peak Hill. Lovely caravan park not too crowded when we stayed. The amenities are OK - old and cramped but clean - 3
Read more
Response from LeightonandPauline, Owner at Peak Hill Caravan Park
Responded 1 Dec. 2018
Hi Jay and Bob. We thank you for your rating and feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the attraction around the region. We wish you safe travels in the future. Leighton and Pauline
Read more
WOW.. What a park, this place is fantastic, Leighton is great so friendly and makes you feel so welcome, helps with the van gives you history and information, runs the corner shop as well, pure Aussie hospitality. Seriously don't go past.. If your planning on staying in Dubbo
Read more
Response from LeightonandPauline, Owner at Peak Hill Caravan Park
Responded 19 Oct. 2018
Hi SSDalton. Thanks for the great rating and feedback. We have always tried to make our customers welcome and provide them with information that will give them the opportunity to find out more about the town and surrounding region. It is feedback like yours and the others we get that makes owning this caravan park so enjoyable. Thankyou and have a safe trip.
Read more
Stayed overnight in my motorhome and was delighted with the park. Warmly welcomed by the host Leighton who went to the trouble of issuing us with useful information about the town, where to visit and eat, gave us free access to the 'jurassic' museum within the park. Facilities
Read more
Response from LeightonandPauline, Owner at Peak Hill Caravan Park
Responded 11 Oct. 2018
Hi Joe. Thanks for your rating and review. We fitted ceramic tape to the showers so it reduced the maintenance of changing the tap washers and also they are easy for the elderly to turn on and off. The down side is they are not so easy to adjust the flow so yes it is a bit tricky to adjust the temp until you get used to only needing to turn the tape a small amount.
Read more
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Family and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementPeak Hill Caravan Park
Inside Family Cabin.
Photo provided by managementPeak Hill Caravan Park
Inside Family Cabin
Photo provided by managementPeak Hill Caravan Park
En-suite cabin
"Don't say here there are other places in town which have better reviews."
"Nice quiet place to stay"
"Drive through sites for caravans."
"As far from the highway as possible preferable on the Eastern side."
"If you are passing through this area with your van,call in and stay."
AustraliaNew South WalesPeak Hill
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing