We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Colonial Motor Inn

51 Bullara St, Pambula, New South Wales 2549 Australia
Traveller (2)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (1)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#2 of 2 motels in Pambula
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

If you’re looking for a charming motel in Pambula, look no further than Colonial Motor Inn.

Rooms at Colonial Motor Inn offer a kitchenette, a refrigerator, and air conditioning providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with free wifi.

A pool will also help to make your stay even more special. If you are driving to Colonial Motor Inn, free parking is available.

If you’re looking for a pub, consider a visit to Top Pub, Zac and Rubys, or Royal Willows Hotel, which are all conveniently located a short distance from Colonial Motor Inn.

The staff at Colonial Motor Inn looks forward to serving you during your upcoming visit.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Pool
Outdoor pool
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Sofa
Iron
Microwave
Refrigerator
Electric blanket
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
Languages Spoken
English
62Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 42
  • 13
  • 4
  • 0
  • 3
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
cafandgim1 wrote a review May 2023
Melbourne, Australia573 contributions19 helpful votes
Feels like it isn't a fully functioning motel anymore. Reception is nearly gone, swimming pool has been filled in, and large cobwebs in the room. Some of the other amenities listed on website when booking also were non-existent. Other than the cobwebs the room did feel clean and wifi was working (just)
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Rory wrote a review Mar 2021
55 contributions62 helpful votes
Centrally located to restaurants and Pambula Main Street. The motor inn has good quality beds, quiet and very clean. Their is nothing this Motor Inn lacks for a visitor. The owner is hospitable and was very accommodating to our large group.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
=-) wrote a review Oct 2020
Canberra, Australia70 contributions23 helpful votes
I stayed a night over a long weekend, when Merimbula was packed to the brim. Pambula is a cute historic township, 10 minutes drive from Merimbula. The hotel is of an older style, but the rooms are comfortable, well furnished and clean. Bathroom and kitchen facilities are excellent, and stocked with the necessities - including a free continental breakfast. Better and friendlier service than many places that cost much more. 5 minute walk to local brewery, cafes, historic sites and the natural wetlands reserve. Great spot for a quiet weekend away.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
teresa292017 wrote a review Mar 2020
Traralgon, Australia5 contributions1 helpful vote
Our room was dated but the sheets were clean and the bed comfortable. Continental breakfast was included. There was a night light in the bathroom, I have never seen this in a motel before and it was a brilliant idea. Thank you
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Weejots wrote a review Feb 2020
Merimbula, Australia11 contributions1 helpful vote
I am sorry to write this as I support local businesses whenever possible. I stayed two nights at the Colonial and found the room was not clean. The blanket on the bed had an awful mark, possibly substance, and I immediately put it into the cupboard and slept in the sheets. There was an unpleasant smear on the ceiling where something had been squashed and the TV screen was marred with visible dark fingerprints. The bench surfaces were in places sticky which I cleaned. At 11 the second night I found a large insect in the sheets and was handed a can of fly spray when the manager had removed it. The bathroom was clean but the rest made for an uncomfortable stay. I was disappointed as the majority of the reviews I read were positive. I photographed all of the things I have listed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Fitzroy_cub wrote a review Dec 2019
52 contributions4 helpful votes
Motel owner is the lowest of the low. We left a day early at 8am based on govt alert because of the enormous bushfire approaching the area for fears the only road back home would be closed and it later was. Despite this and us telling them our reasoning they took full advantage of the situation and still charged us at the full rate for the day we didn't stay. We let them know early so they could resell the room to one of the thousands of displaced people in the area. Definitely would have resold the room to someone else. Double income that day. This experience, like the motel room, was absolutely awful. Next to very noisy main road too.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme M, Owner at Colonial Motor Inn
Responded 3 Jan 2020
Don't normally respond to comments but, as you've attacked my character I shall make an exception in this instance... It's normal for tariffs to be paid prior to or upon check in, so as you were already occupying your room full payment had already been made. The motel has a 3 day cancellation policy and, as you left on the last day of your stay the policy was applicable... Never the less, if you felt you were entitled to a refund this could have been openly discussed but, when you ring with the sole intention to abuse me any prospect of negotiation dwindles very quickly... Furthermore any guest who has stayed at this motel knows the rooms to be clean, comfortable and spacious with quality amenities. Highway noise is minimal during the day and drops away to unnoticeable during the night. Thank you for your correspondence.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Ros K wrote a review Dec 2019
Wincanton, United Kingdom39 contributions12 helpful votes
Lovely spacious accommodation, with comfortable settee, dining table and chairs and kitchen area. Large comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with excellent shower. All sparkling clean and in first class order. Owner very friendly and attentive. Fresh milk in fridge on arrival. Kitchen area very well equipped. We rang ahead to ask for a quiet room as this motel is just off the main A1 highway and he was very obliging. Would thoroughly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Diane G wrote a review Oct 2019
Macquarie Fields, Australia281 contributions65 helpful votes
Stayed here as an overnight stay for work. Owner was friendly and helpful with dinner recommendations. Rooms are older furnished but bed was super comfy. Rooms are quiet even though it's on the highway. Well worth the stay and priced well.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Phil P wrote a review Oct 2019
Brisbane, Australia57 contributions9 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed one night early October. Easy to locate. Quiet location. Genuinely nice hosts with good local knowledge as to where to eat. Large clean room with comfortable bed and pillows. Fast WiFi. Would stay again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Roger Q wrote a review Oct 2019
45 contributions13 helpful votes
I visited the motel on a work trip and was very impressed with both the size of the room, facilites, and the fact the owner brought me bread and milk, and there were cereals, butter and jam etc in the room at no extra cost. The bed was comfy, the room clean and tidy and there was also a microwave in the room which for me is good because I always eat in the room as I type reports at night. Highly recommended and a short drive from some lovely beaches.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Pambula area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$129 - AU$133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesPambula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

COLONIAL MOTOR INN (AU$129): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Pambula) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Colonial Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Colonial Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Panboola Wetlands (0.4 km), Black Daisy Trading (0.9 km), and The Village Gallery At Oaklands (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Colonial Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Colonial Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a refrigerator, and a seating area.
Is parking available at Colonial Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Colonial Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Wild Rye's, Oaklands Cafe, and The Top Pub.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Colonial Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Colonial Motor Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 km away from the centre of Pambula.