We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
202 Kinghorne St, Nowra, Shoalhaven, New South Wales 2541 Australia
View all 12 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (17)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.


#6 of 8 in Nowra
The centrally located Nowra Motor Inn offers clean, comfortable and affordable rooms in a variety of accommodation configurations to cater for both short and long term stays. The Nowra Motor Inn is an ideal choice for tourists, families, social groups, clubs, sporting teams and those travelling for business and work that want easy access to Nowra and the Shoalhaven region, whilst staying in a relaxing and peaceful environment. The Nowra Motor Inn is a quiet, family owned and operated motel of 29 clean rooms. Guests can take advantage of our salt water swimming pool, BBQs and entertainment areas, which are ideal for relaxing or socialising. We provide secure off street parking for our guests within the Motel complex, in addition we also offer large vehicle parking for trucks, boats, caravans, coaches and buses in a secure parking compound behind the main building (Secure Gate access via Gould Avenue). We are located just 2 minutes from the town of Nowra, which is far enough to provide peace and privacy, yet close enough to provide convenience of shopping, restaurants, clubs and town amenities all of which are within walking distance. All rooms are non-smoking (Smoking is permitted in defined areas around the Motel), and come standard with fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, air-conditioning, toaster, plates, bowls, cutlery, iron, ironing board, hairdryer, etc. A range of beers, wines and spirits are available from reception during opening hours. The Motel is under new ownership, and your hosts Guy and Thearum are looking forward to welcoming you to the Nowra Motor Inn and showing you first hand why our motel is renowned for returning customers, comfort, convenience and courteous service.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Secured parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
BBQ facilities
Outdoor furniture
Self-serve laundry
Outdoor pool
Complimentary tea
Wine / champagne
Picnic area
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Khmer


Full view
44Car recommended
Grade: 44 out of 100
11Restaurantswithin 1 km
0Attractionswithin 1 km
152Reviews0Q+A28Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 44
  • 53
  • 28
  • 11
  • 16
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eileen Bradley wrote a review 5 May
1 contribution
After booking 5 weeks in advance while travelling to Nowra Motor Inn for an overnight stay we received a phone call to say they had no room for us. We'd had a confirmation when booking for a twin room on ground level as we are in our 80s. 10am on the day of arrival and they tell us they have no room for us. This was very distressing and inconvenient for elderly travellers.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled
Lyn M wrote a review May 2021
Quakers Hill, Australia8 contributions3 helpful votes
Nowra on the verge of winter and no electric blankets! The room did have an old box air conditioner above the windows but the batteries in the remote control were flat. Sadly as it was after 7pm the reception was closed and though there be an intercom to ring, there was no one in attendance to respond. In order to warm the room I had to stand on a chair to manually turn the unit on. On top of this the old unit was so noisy it was like trying to sleep in the engine room of the Titanic. It may be trendy to have a Self Serve Check In system but who caters for your patrons needs? IT WAS CHEAP & THAT'S WHAT WE GOT!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from Guy Peterson, Owner at Nowra Motor Inn
Responded 23 May 2021
Lyn, We don't use electric blankets because the insurance companies are forcing them out of the industry. Almost all of our rooms have new split A/C systems, if you had a box A/C you were staying in one of our budget rooms, which are all completely functional. Yes, we do provide a check-in kiosk to allow guests to access their rooms after hours; however, our phone is monitored 24 hours, and we have staff that live on-site to provide assistance whenever required. Our intercom and phone services are patched directly to Nitel who are an Australian Motel reception company that charge by the minute, and had you called they would have been only too happy to provide assistance. We are sorry that the batteries in your remote were flat, and again this would have been resolved had you called reception. We are sorry that you felt it necessary to leave such a harsh review given the quality of everything else in the room you stayed. However, we do understand that people these days do love to totally trash a business whenever given the opportunity.
Read more
vickie140770 wrote a review May 2021
Greensborough, Australia9 contributions3 helpful votes
Even in Covid affected times I can't understand why face washers and hand towels are not available. There were ashtrays that need emptying around the property and as a non smoker that is unpleasant. Bed was comfortable and the shower was a bit hot n cold. Other room facilities were clean and functional
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1 Helpful vote
Surinder A wrote a review Feb 2021
Sydney, Australia16 contributions6 helpful votes
The bed mattress and pillow was too soft. Adjacent rooms cigarette smoke was coming through the windows. Nowra Motor Inn needs to be a non smoking zone. Guests were smoking outside their room. Too much plated smoke around.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Response from Guy Peterson, General Manager at Nowra Motor Inn
Responded 25 Feb 2021
Hello Surinder, with regards to the mattress and pillows being too soft - our mattresses and pillows are high-quality Sealy commercial range which have been developed to suit the broadest range of guest preferences. However, we do understand that the preferences of some people fall outside of this range. With regards to cigarette smoke, all rooms and enclosed spaces on the property are 'non-smoking'. I am also a non-smoker, and do understand your frustrations. However, some people do smoke, and we do allow this outside the rooms in designated areas.
Read more
Lauren B wrote a review Feb 2021
2 contributions1 helpful vote
Clean room, comfy bed, great location, large tv and friendly staff. Facilities available were clean and plenty of parking. Great for one night walking distance to most restaurants. Recommended to anyone passing through or staying a weekend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
SAL wrote a review Mar 2020
Camberwell, Australia8 contributions4 helpful votes
The 3 most important things are spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed and a good shower. We stayed in rom 13 which has recently been refurbished. Best value for money, which was complimented by the friendly staff Belinda and Thearum
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1 Helpful vote
Darmic19 wrote a review Jan 2020
Sydney, Australia11 contributions6 helpful votes
We had made a booking for 2 rooms checking in on 31/12/19 for 1 night. We were visiting family and friends in Vincentia (South of Nowra) and had planned to head back to the Motor Inn to check-in, change and head back to Vincentia for Dinner with our family. As the weather and conditions deteriorated due the the devastating bush fires on the NSW South Coast we progressively saw the skies darken, the haze and smoke increase to the point where the sky was nearly pitch black at 3pm in the afternoon. As we were all concerned we made several calls to the RFS for their advice on travelling back to Nowra and to get an update on the overall conditions, and were advised after numerous phone calls to stay where we were and not to attempt travelling back to Nowra as the roads were closed and major congestion followed with many people trying to leave the Vincentia area and surrounds. I rang the Nowra Motor Inn to advise them of our situation and spoke with a lady there who put me onto Guy (Manager or Owner I think) and advised him that we would not be able to get to Nowra to make use of our rooms as we were strongly advised by the RFS not to attempt the trip and I was not about to place my family in a potentially harmful situation. After explaining our situation Guy advised that he would not be able to offer us a refund for the 2 rooms we had booked as it was a last minute cancellation and they relied on room bookings during this peak times. While I totally understand this to a point I find that decision harsh as we had every intention of checking in and staying the night there as planned, but on advice of the RFS and the worsening conditions this was not possible. Disappointing to say the least that he would not offer us a refund or rebate of some kind given the circumstances! I am not normally someone who posts negative feedback for the fun of it or to harm the reputation of any business as I also operate a small business, but once again wanted to express my disappointment of their decision given the unforeseen and escalating fire and weather situation at that time. Also, just to add this isn’t about the monetary refund and more about the principle of their decision knowing how dangerous conditions were on the South Coast on that afternoon. Regards, Darren M
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Response from Nowram, Manager at Nowra Motor Inn
Responded 24 Jan 2020
Darren, You phoned during the day to confirm your booking, in fact around 1pm you phoned and advised that Darryl your friend from Canberra had already arrived in Nowra and would be heading to the Motel shortly. We didn't hear anything further from you until later in the afternoon when shortly before closing the office you advised that you wanted to cancel the booking as your friend from Canberra had decided to return home and you were going to stay in Vincentia with your mom and sister who were staying at a beach house there. As we clearly explained to you over the phone, we could only offer a refund if the rooms re-sold; however, given the office was just about to shut this would be unlikely. 1 - 2 hours earlier we were turning people away that were looking for rooms due to the road closures heading South. We could have sold these rooms again several times over if you had of given us sufficient notification. As already advised to you, we would be more than happy to help you lodge a claim if you have travel insurance on the credit card you used to pay. However, it is not reasonable to expect us to refund this booking when giving us virtually no chance at all of reselling the rooms on New Year's Eve which is one of our busiest nights.
Read more
KiwiRoverJim wrote a review Jan 2020
Auckland, New Zealand49 contributions30 helpful votes
Given what's on offer, I found this property to be well over-priced. At best, I could describe the room as 'adequate'. It was clean and tidy, the bed was comfortable, but it was dated and shabby. It is desperately in need of refurbishment. Even some general maintenance wouldn't go amiss - no plug in the hand basin, duct tape holding together the lamp over the bed. Plus, it is on quite a busy road and there was considerable traffic noise in the mornings. Double-glazing could be a solution. On a positive note, it is reasonably handy to the main shopping street of Nowra and I thought the service I received from Reception was exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Sleep Quality
Troy C wrote a review Dec 2019
Melbourne, Australia53 contributions14 helpful votes
We had an overnight stay in this lovely Motor Inn and I must say that I was pleasantly surprised by how nice everything was presented. A friendly welcome at reception, a freshly renovated room with free wifi, smart TV, aircon, fan, comfortable bed and clean crisp linen. I had a chat with staff and they advised that they are working on renovating all the rooms so this will be very nice when finished. The food in the restaurant was very good and there is no need to head into town, which is only a couple of km away anyway. If you are staying here, you have everything you need, including a nice clean pool and modern gym equipment. I can honestly say that this is the best quality Motor Inn I have ever stayed at. I will certainly be back if I am passing through Nowra again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Room Tip: The most recently refurbished rooms are upstairs and they are quiet and very comfortable.
See more room tips
Meredith L wrote a review Oct 2019
2 contributions
We stayed 5 nights at Nowra Motor Inn could not complain about anything very clean staff are very friendly. I have read some other reviews and I think some people expectations of a budget motel are too high. I would definitively stay there again and would recommend it to family and friends
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Room Tip: We had a ground floor room and it was fine
See more room tips
USD 77 - USD 91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
AustraliaNew South WalesShoalhavenNowra
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Nowra Motor Inn
Which popular attractions are close to Nowra Motor Inn?
Nearby attractions include Bottlerocket Bar & Cafe (1.2 km), Roxy cinema (1.2 km), and Aquatique (1.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nowra Motor Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Nowra Motor Inn?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Nowra Motor Inn?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Nowra Motor Inn?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nowra Motor Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include Kohli's Indian Restaurant, Tuscany Wood Fired Restaurant, and The Cake Store.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nowra Motor Inn?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Nowra Motor Inn?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Khmer.