We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Oaks Lure

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oaks Lure
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

263 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 258: English reviews
Start your review of Oaks Lure
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

After booking online we found out our credit card got charged twice. Called 4 days finally able to get someone to confirm it will refund back to our card. The problem of this hotel everything is very old. The photos on the website could be taken 10 years ago. And the hotel is lack of maintenance. Open the door you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LGLLG
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

It is disappointing to hear that you encountered such issues with your stay. A lot of our furniture is in the process of being replaced, but we have not completed as of yet. We do have an after hours caretaker on site available for after hours issues. I will ensure that perhaps this number is highlighted more boldly on the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had a 2 night stay at Oaks Lure. Before we left our excellent service began. As I was travelling with my older mother, Rebecca called to check on whether my mother would be OK with stairs, she was efficient and lovely to deal with. Upon checking in, we were served by the extremely friendly Emily, who offered recommendations of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jen O
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay the service delivered by our stay. we look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks Lure in the future and I will pass your feedback on to my staff.

Perth, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent an anniversary, 3-day weekend at Oaks Lure Nelson Bay. We had asked for a room with a view, and were very pleased to be given a room on the fourth (top) floor with a panoramic view of the bay. Our room was spacious, clean, and well-equipped, with a good layout. Overall the facility was quiet, and kudos to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dougnorm
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback and it is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Lure apartments in the future.

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Terrible - do yourself a favour & don't stay here. It was that bad that we left early to come home. Stove, dishes & dishwasher all dirty - complained & kitchen was 1/2 cleaned - still not clean in my opinion. Lounge desperately needed cleaning - it was velour & had absorbed that much sweat over the years in was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it is regretable that you did not find your unit to the standard we normally present to our guests. Our lounges are quite aged now and we are working toward replacement of lounges this year. They are regularly professionally cleaned to maintain them as best we can until replacement. I will discuss the other...

Tamworth, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were two couples and a toddler staying in a 2BR apartment on the 3rd floor; the smaller bedroom on entry level and the living area with east facing balcony/water views, full kitchen and main bedroom upstairs. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, with two of us staying an extra night, we were able to remain in the same...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PatsyBourke
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. It is a pleasure to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks Lure Apartments in the future.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I checked in here after a disaster at the Mantra Aqua. The magnificent Danielle got us sorted very quickly into a gorgeous 1 bedroom apartment with courtyard that was everything we could have imagined. The hotel is well situated and is walking distance to everything. Restaurants, woollies, shops, cinemas, the Marina, we never took the car out of the great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MegMcK22
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear you enjoyed your stay and my staff were able to assist you in with your accommodation. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and we look forward to your next visit with us. I will pass your kind comments on to Danielle.

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at The Oaks Lure for two nights on a family holiday. The apartments are located in easy walking distance to town with a Woolworths just around the corner. Good secure underground car park for guests to use.Staff are very friendly and helpful.Reception is only manned between the hours of 8am-6pm. Stayed in a two bedroom apartment, not your typical...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lou4688
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. And yes we are looking at some refurbishment this year after 10 years of operation there has of course been some wear and tear on our rooms. I am sure your next visit with us you will find improvements under way or complete.

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

A great apartment, very spacious and airy with fridge, microwave and all necessities for a short stay. Staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful, making you feel at home. Wi-fi is available, first half hour free with a fee payable for additional use. Quite sufficient to check for travelling requirements, although I can understand this would frustrate some guests. Nelson...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn A
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback and it is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay with us and all that the bay has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Oaks Lure Apartments in the future.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We stayed at Oaks Lure for two nights. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful especially with after hours check in and offering advice on beaches and other attractions in the area. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment with a view of the bay. The apartment was immaculate with a lovely balcony and the bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ana872017
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your kind feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Lure Apartments in the future.

Ulladulla, Australia
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We had a one night stay at the Oaks Lure in Nelson Bay. We wished we had of stayed a lot longer. We were upgraded to an apartment which had a little kitchen, full size fridge and a lounge area. The bedroom was separate and huge ensuite was also large. The aircon struggled a bit when we first arrived but...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jim R
OaksLure, Manager at Oaks Lure, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback and it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Lure again in the future.

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nelson Bay
0.4 km away
Mantra Aqua
Mantra Aqua
#4 of 16 in Nelson Bay
525 reviews
1.9 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
82 reviews
0.2 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
249 reviews
0.4 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
311 reviews
3.1 km away
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
Oaks Pacific Blue Resort
#1 of 1 in Salamander Bay
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oaks Lure Apartments, in beautiful Nelson Bay, is just a short walk to the marina, restaurants and boutiques, golf courses and sporting clubs. Nelson Bay is a delightful town blessed with un-spoilt waterways, natural wonders and a captivating history. Oaks Lure Apartments is the ultimate base to explore the region.Guests can relax in style and comfort at Oaks Lure with hotels rooms, one and two bedroom apartments with generous living spaces that boast full kitchen facilities with microwave and dishwasher. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oaks Lure

Address: 20 Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: $126 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oaks Lure 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Lure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oaks Lure Hotel Nelson Bay
Oaks Lure Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oaks Lure staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Oaks Lure staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best don't book here. Not recommend it at all.”
LGLLG, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We were located in room 454”
104jeno, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a 4th floor room with a view.”
dougnorm, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms range from studio to 3BR apartments. The larger apartments tend to be on the higher floor and have better views”
PatsyBourke, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Courtyard rooms have access to Church Street. Very handy.”
MegMcK22, 31 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5