We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments

71a Victoria Pde, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (50)
Room & Suite (8)
Pool & Beach (6)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#6 of 7 motels in Nelson Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments is ideally located in Nelson Bay between the shopping precinct and the marina, providing easy access to the many cafes, restaurants, bars, shopping and activities Nelson Bay has to offer. Each room and apartment provides either queen or king beds, air conditioning, kitchen facilities and a private bathroom.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Babysitting
Convenience store
Non-smoking hotel
Dry cleaning
Car park
Wifi
Rooftop pool
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Saltwater pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Shops
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Kitchenette
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Seating area
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Microwave
Refrigerator
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English
108Reviews2Q+A29Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 28
  • 35
  • 18
  • 9
  • 18
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
TerryRawson wrote a review Oct 2023
Hobart, Tas26 contributions12 helpful votes
Nelson Towers is very clean, comfortable, relatively modern and extremely well placed in Nelson Bay. I had read some negative reviews mainly about management but that couldn't be further from the truth in our experience. We had one minor problem that was attended to almost immediately we reported it. The staff were friendly and the check in process was seamless. I would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The Motel is very secure so don't misplace your key fob
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Management Nelson Towers Motel and Apartments, General Manager at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments
Responded 22 Oct 2023
Hi Terry, Thanks for taking the time to post this review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay despite a minor maintenance hiccup. Regards Stephen Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Nicole B wrote a review May 2023
Randwick, Australia5 contributions
The customer service is terrible and extremely rude. somebody appears to have an anger issue as they cancelled my booking because I wanted to amend it by 1 day without paying for the total cost of the trip, which I didn’t think was unreasonable? Sounds like an excuse to get more money because they then doubled the price from the room on the website! Totally unnecessary and when I replied saying I didn’t want to cancel the reply was “goodbye”. Beyond rude
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from John Henry, General Manager at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments
Responded 10 May 2023
Hi Nicole, Your level of entitlement is summed up in your review. You booked a three night weekend stay at our property and inquired about amending it to two nights. You were advised that your booking was subject to a cancellation penalty. You argued by text message that the penalty should not apply to you because you were not cancelling your booking, only cancelling one night. I explained the terms and conditions of your booking, and that we were not offering two night stays for that period. You kept pushing for a reduction in the price because you would only be staying two nights. We are a small motel, and have absolute zero tolerance for people that make our life more difficult than it needs to be. To resolve the issue we offered full cancellation without penalty so you could go and book somewhere else. Your deposit was refunded. The room was relisted and booked by another guest for the same price as your booking. Once again, I say goodbye. Stephen, Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tracey M wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions
The comfiest little hotel there ever was. Clean and welcoming, high tech and homey at the same time. Close to everything. A home away from home. Awesome bed and pillows. So comfortable. A real queen bed, not just two singles pushed together.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Have your glasses on to read the security keypad in the elevator until you get your fob.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
deborah m wrote a review Mar 2023
1 contribution
Motel is right in the shopping area and there is even a Domino's downstairs. Woolies is a few minutes walk as are the cinema, restaurants etc Checking in was a bit tricky as I don't own a mobile and the reception desk is always unattended. Rang, from a public phone, to get the my unique access code. The security fob was waiting in my room to access the lift after that. Loved the coffee machine in the room ! Could have done with access to a washing machine but there is a laundrette at the Marina across the road. Had the pool to myself a few times. Great views from up there. Only downside was some other guests ignoring the smoke free building rule and puffing on their balconies.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Make use of the top floor deck. Perfect for views/dinner/ wine. There are tables and chairs...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Leanne M wrote a review Jan 2023
Ingleburn, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
Excellent location. Could not get any better. A walk to restaurants, bars, cafes and shopping. Clean and tidy amenities, warm and friendly staff. Safe and secure parking. Lovely room with plenty of space. Very comfortable furnishings. Highly recommended. We will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
J0adiE wrote a review Nov 2022
Sydney21 contributions7 helpful votes
Great location comfortable beds- huge balconies - no complaints here would definitely stay again and recommend to friends. Easy walk to cafes. Restaurants and Marina - don’t understand bad reviews on this accommodation - would definitely stay here again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Khwaja56 wrote a review Aug 2022
Sydney, Australia11 contributions10 helpful votes
I cannot fault the location. Close to everything. Unattended reception is obviously not something people want but it was offset by good instructions by text messages. Best part was that we could log in to Netflex and Youtube and there was straight forward TV system. Amenities could be be improved by offering a heated pool and a place for kids to play. Other than that heating, bathroom, and access was not bad. Internet was good too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Luke wrote a review July 2021
Mudgee, Australia15 contributions8 helpful votes
I have stayed at this motel on multiple occasions and dealt with an older man who is always extremely nice and great for a chat, the kind of place you can’t remember the room but can remember the man at the desk. So we booked again to stay recently. As we arrive at the security gate the office was closed, we started to ring the after hours number and next minute a 40-50s yr old man came storming out of the underground carpark telling us to piss off they have nothing and to get away. I told him we had a booking and he just kept yelling at us to get out and get away. We were both taken back and thought maybe it was some nut job or a drunk causing trouble but we then saw him walk in to the office and start playing on the computer so it was obviously whoever was working that day. We ended up calling Hotel Nelson just up the road and they were fantastic, and around 25% cheaper for a MUCH nicer room. I will NEVER be back to Nelson Towers, with this style of management I can’t imagine it will last long anyway. To top it off we got an email saying we were a no show to our booking. The carpark was quite clearly empty that we could see and walking around the town that night for dinner none of the rooms had lights on.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Apparently a booking means nothing to this business.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Cara S wrote a review June 2021
5 contributions
We stayed at nelson towers. Small group of older couples. We were some charged ridiculous amounts of money. We all booked seperately in total there7 of us. On arrival some were charged extra then the original quote. Paid it anyway wanting to just have a nice weekend away. Very dissapointing service, staff were very rude. One even accused us and charged us extra money, claiming we wet the bed. Seriously? What an awful thing to be accused of. They claim the mattress was stained wasnt from us. This place was dated very clearly needs an upgrade. Some of us did not even drink at all. They also tried to say we smoked in the room. No one would do such a thing. Some of is dont even smoke! Strongly recommend not staying here. We have all been going to the bay for years this was our first and last stay at nelson towers. It was very dated. A very horrible experience. However we have stayed Ramada at shoal bay, other holiday houses, the nelson resort, also Bay parklands in the past. All were wonderful experiences. Have never been so dis respected in our lives. We came up as a small group of older friends to do a whale watching cruise. Unfortunately was cancelled due to bad weather. Apparently you cant do that at nelson towers. Dont come with friends. Very sad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
fuzzyrhino wrote a review Apr 2021
Newcastle Australia263 contributions162 helpful votes
We had four wonderful nights here and couldn't have been happier with our choice. After reading some negative reviews we were prepared for a thing or two to be amiss but truly there was nothing to give a negative about. The Wi-Fi was free, fast a powerful The housekeeping was spot on for cleanliness and supply. They offered to do the room every day and resupplied any consumables that had been used, daily. The hosts, John and Bev, were cheerful and obliging. Security parking was appreciated and the view over the foreshore and Marina very relaxing. Traffic noise was minimal with the doors open to the giant balcony, only obtrusive when it was a loud muffler or the occasional truck, but was almost non existent with the doors closed. The air con was efficient and quiet. There was no mould etc in the unit anywhere. All utensils were clean and the hallway outside was spotless also. Nearby restaurants abound and it was great to park the car and forget it. I'm sure some people would complain because the sun came up a minute late. We will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021
Value
Location
Service
Room Tip: We had Room 7 and the Balcony was huge.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Nelson Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$144 - AU$200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesGreater NewcastlePort StephensNelson Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
16
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

NELSON TOWERS MOTEL & APARTMENTS (AU$146): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Nelson Bay) - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments
Which popular attractions are close to Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Nearby attractions include D'Albora Marinas (0.2 km), Splash Waterpark (0.4 km), and Artisan Collective Port Stephens (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Guests can enjoy free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Little Nel Cafe, Sandpipers Restaurant, and Nice Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Johnny's Well (6.8 km).
Does Nelson Towers Motel & Apartments have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.