We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra Aqua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Aqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

515 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 514: English reviews
Start your review of Mantra Aqua
 Click to rate
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rather disappointing this time. Our "superior" apartment with a "view" was very tired. Stained carpet,shabby,grubby old lounge,ancient noisy dishwasher and a very smelly(fishy) fridge.(we had to buy ice for drinks as ice made in freezer reeked of fish). The "view" was over the garbage enclosure ,backs of buildings,and the entry gates where nearby the smokers gather around the smoker's bin....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katypii
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

I am just as disappointed as you to read of your experience with us. From what you have described, your stay was well below our high standards. I do hope that we had the opportunity to attend to at least some of the issues while you were here, please know that your feedback will most certainly be used proactively. Many...

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Irrespective of the weather, the room we had was at the back looking into the bush even though they had told us we would have a room overlooking the pool. It was large and three bedrooms with two bathrooms one of which has a walk in shower, the other a shower over bath. Only three or four Foxtel stations and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whizzbang2
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, it is heartening to see that the apartment was clean and comfortable with good bathrooms. It is concerning that you were in the wrong room type however. Our guests book specific room types and we allocate the apartments based on this. I would be more than happy to look into...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am extremely disappointed with the Mantra I have stayed at many around Australia and this is by far probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There is no way this is 4 stars I would barely even give it 1. Our shower was so dirty we complained and got moved to another one which wasn't much better....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BelindaStevenson
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

I am so very sorry to read of your disappointment, we have such a wonderful return guest rate that I am also surprised. I do recall the office team moving you. The apartment that you checked into has most certainly been reviewed by our housekeeping supervisors, and I can only apologise that your expectations weren't met. Rest assured that this...

Hobart
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just spent a week at this resort & was quite impressed with the facilities.Although the resort was a little tired with regard to the maintenance of rooms, painting etc., the cleanliness could not be faulted & the equipment provided was just like home. Everything you needed to cook & clean with was provided. The resort had a lovely pool &...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 813dim
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for the wonderful score, and of course, for spending the last week with us! We are always working through reviewing the apartments for upgrades, so greatly appreciate your feedback. We will certainly hope to welcome you back one day soon! Kindest regards, Leanne

melbourne, australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place looks terrific when you see the night shots of the pool which appears to be twice as big as it is in reality Greeted at the entrance gate by 5 staff smoking and a cigarette butt dispensing bin Friendly enough check in staff but would be nice if they stood up to greet you and pass over keys...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 2streets
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We always appreciate constructive comments that help us to maintain and improve our standards. It is our ultimate goal to meet and exceed guest expectations, and it saddens us to read that in this instance we have not. I do recall your check in and the team trying to assist...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Mantra Aqua is every bit as good as its TripAdvisor photographs suggest. It is very well maintained by a very helpful staff BUT it's WiFi, at the expensive rates common to most resorts, is hopelessly weak. Additionally, Telstra's mobile signal seems to be cut off almost everywhere in the Resort most likely by it's substantial concrete construction.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank B J P
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thanks for your comprehensive review, and for staying with us of course! Its wonderful to hear that our team took great care of you, and that you enjoyed the property. We do share your frustration with the internet, we are looking forward to the upcoming connection to the NBN, which should solve a lot of the area's internet problems! Hopefully...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

PROS: 1. Very close to the Nelson Bay shopping precinct. You can walk down to the cafes and restaurants in less than 5 minutes. You can get all the way to the water's edge in under 10. Perfect! 2. The lagoon pool area is sensational and the ideal place to spend a few hours if you have kids. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisg276rec
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Sincere thanks for your detailed and comprehensive review, and of course for staying with us! We greatly value our guest feedback, which allows us to continue to improve our service and standards. Fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our location and your apartment- we will hope to welcome you again one day soon. Kindest regards, Leanne

lancashire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We are currently at these apartments our apartment was very clean the beds are comfortable perfect air con and powerful shower they are in a great position for getting around nelson bay on foot as we left our car in the underground car park allocated to us The only problem we had was the noise from the swimming pool which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravellers6
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Aqua Resort, and for taking the time to post your review! It is wonderful to hear that you are enjoying your apartment and our fabulous location... I am sorry to hear that you have been woken by noise from the pool, this is a tricky one, hopefully the little ones have...

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

I think this accommodation is more suitable for a family holiday than older couples and although we felt the two bedroom 1 bathroom apartment was quite spacious for the 2 of us it would be cramped for a family or 2 couples. Apartment 105 was Clean with modern nicely presented finishings. Location was good -short walk to town and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 560frankr
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Aqua Resort! We do find that 2 couples sharing are more suited to our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments... that provides a bigger living area as well as the second bathroom. Always feel welcome to contact us for the best recommendation for your individual requirements....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2017 via mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here at Mantra Aqua and we love it. Parking underneath, short walk to shops and restaurants, great pool, decent sized apartments. The only thing That bothered us was cleaning..... everyday cleaning and maintenance of rooms. In our room the tiles in the kitchen and bathroom were greasy and dirty, crumbs left on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan14
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Sincere thanks for your comprehensive review, and for being one of valued return guests! We love having you here as much as you love coming back! I am very sorry to read of your experience with the cleanliness of the apartment- it is certainly below our standards and it saddens me that you had to wipe surfaces prior to use....

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
80 reviews
0.4 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
137 reviews
0.2 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
242 reviews
0.4 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
187 reviews
0.4 km away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: $151 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Aqua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The only way is to front up and ask to look at the apartment before you pay?”
 of 5 bubbles Katypii, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Pick a room overlooking the pool so you can have at least some view.”
 of 5 bubbles whizzbang2, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor quieter.Just make sure if you need a shower bay as we did, please ask as shower over bath was awkward.”
 of 5 bubbles 813dim, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It is quieter if you book a room away from the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles chrisg276rec, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in apartment 91, 3 bedrooms with ample room.”
 of 5 bubbles suehV8855VX, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5