We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mantra Aqua

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Aqua
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

509 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 508: English reviews
Start your review of Mantra Aqua
 Click to rate
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

PROS: 1. Very close to the Nelson Bay shopping precinct. You can walk down to the cafes and restaurants in less than 5 minutes. You can get all the way to the water's edge in under 10. Perfect! 2. The lagoon pool area is sensational and the ideal place to spend a few hours if you have kids. The pool...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrisg276rec
lancashire
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

We are currently at these apartments our apartment was very clean the beds are comfortable perfect air con and powerful shower they are in a great position for getting around nelson bay on foot as we left our car in the underground car park allocated to us The only problem we had was the noise from the swimming pool which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequenttravellers6
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I think this accommodation is more suitable for a family holiday than older couples and although we felt the two bedroom 1 bathroom apartment was quite spacious for the 2 of us it would be cramped for a family or 2 couples. Apartment 105 was Clean with modern nicely presented finishings. Location was good -short walk to town and to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 560frankr
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your comprehensive review, and for choosing to stay with us at Mantra Aqua Resort! We do find that 2 couples sharing are more suited to our 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartments... that provides a bigger living area as well as the second bathroom. Always feel welcome to contact us for the best recommendation for your individual requirements....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

This is the third time we have stayed here at Mantra Aqua and we love it. Parking underneath, short walk to shops and restaurants, great pool, decent sized apartments. The only thing That bothered us was cleaning..... everyday cleaning and maintenance of rooms. In our room the tiles in the kitchen and bathroom were greasy and dirty, crumbs left on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stan14
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Sincere thanks for your comprehensive review, and for being one of valued return guests! We love having you here as much as you love coming back! I am very sorry to read of your experience with the cleanliness of the apartment- it is certainly below our standards and it saddens me that you had to wipe surfaces prior to use....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The location is spot on. A short walk to turn and quick drive anywhere else. The rooms are a good size but no money has been spent since we last visited. Carpets were stained and grip at your feet. There is not enough utensils. Having a laundry facilities is great. Team are quite helpful. Please spend a bit on your...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesHird
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay... we are delighted to hear that you returned after a stay 3 years ago! Your feedback with regards to the apartment is greatly valued. Apartment reviews are underway this month. We will hope to have you back sooner rather than later. Best wishes, Leanne

Umina Beach
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked 2 x 3 bedroom apartments on the bottom floor & was very happy with layout of the room.Great kitchen & lounge area.Our's balcony was huge & had privacy with the garden bed in front of it. Though the rooms them selves don't have air conditioning, just ceiling fans, we found them still quite comfortable. We stayed in apartment...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank suehV8855VX
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thanks for choosing Mantra Aqua Resort for your family getaway, and for your lovely review! Nothing pleases us more than happy, relaxed guests and it sounds like you all had a great break. We will hope to welcome you back at another time soon. Kind regards, Leanne

Greater Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights and loved the place. Our room, number 7, was at the back of the building and was cool as it didn't have the bad heat hitting it. We were staying here on the incredible hot weekend NSW and the air con and ceiling fans were great. Loved the pool and we rarely swim but it was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra G
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your glowing review Debra! It is fantastic to read that you had a great time, even in the midst of the heatwave. You most certainly made Karlie's day with your kind comments too. We will hope to welcome you again! Best wishes, Leanne

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This is a great hotel. Lift is quick and not that busy. Room was large and tidy. Room 80 in Building B was a good one. High up with good view. Behind car park was a cage to store things with a free padlock available from reception. Pool was smaller than looked in photos but still nice. Being heated it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ikdw
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

'I'll be back' would have to be one of our favourite things to hear. Sincere thanks for your lovely review. We will look forward to your return! Best wishes, Leanne

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had stayed here before in a 2 bedroom apartment, however, when I booked (6 months prior) I booked what I thought to be the same type of room. Advice - make sure you select the 2 bed, 2 bathroom as these are very comfortable in size and appointment and the kitchen is lovely. The 2 bed, 1 bathroom is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KFonz
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and for choosing to return to stay with us. Our varying room types do suit different people for different reasons. It sounds like the 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartments would be better for you for next time. Great that you enjoyed the pool and splash area, and our beautiful town... thank you again and best...

Five Dock, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While stay in the lovely port Stephens and choosing Mantra for our resort stay we were happy to have a nice fellow help up locate everything and even carry our bags :) he came to fix some things as soon as we complained and was very fast at the job. However when crossing past him again I over heard another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank glendallas
Work E, Manager at Mantra Aqua, responded to this review

Sincerest thanks for your review. Whilst I am so very sorry to hear of what you have witnessed at the Resort, I am most thankful for your feedback. This will most certainly be addressed with the appropriate parties. It is great to hear that you had an amazing stay otherwise- we will hope to welcome you back for a completely...

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (137)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nelson Bay hotels
1.6 km away
Beaches Serviced Apartments
Beaches Serviced Apartments
#6 of 16 in Nelson Bay
80 reviews
0.4 km away
Cote D'Azur
Cote D'Azur
#7 of 16 in Nelson Bay
134 reviews
0.2 km away
The Landmark Nelson Bay
The Landmark Nelson Bay
#9 of 16 in Nelson Bay
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Peninsula Nelson Bay
Peninsula Nelson Bay
#8 of 16 in Nelson Bay
233 reviews
0.4 km away
Port Stephens Marina Resort
Port Stephens Marina Resort
#14 of 16 in Nelson Bay
182 reviews
0.4 km away
The Nelson Resort
The Nelson Resort
#2 of 16 in Nelson Bay
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Just two and a half hours drive North of Sydney is the relaxed seaside village of Nelson Bay and one of the finest resorts on the Central Coast, Mantra Aqua. Mantra Aqua's stylish accommodation includes a selection of spacious, open-plan designed two and three bedroom apartments and penthouses, all featuring large living areas flowing out onto large external balconies. Each apartment and penthouse features beautiful stone bench tops in the kitchen with stainless steel appliances, plasma or LCD TV, DVD player, Foxtel and sound system in the lounge area. The resort features leisure facilities including a 25 metre lagoon pool with cascading waterfall and heated spa, children's play wading area and BBQ areas. Clean, contemporary lines and an open plan layout provide the perfect balance between the surrounding natural environment and the luxuries of resort-style living. The resort is a short five minute stroll to the centre of town or the marina where you will find a vast array of shops, restaurants and cafes. The bowling club and a 27 hole championship golf course are only a few minutes walk from the main gate. Mantra Aqua is the perfect location for a weekend away or relaxing holiday escape. Upon arrival at Mantra Aqua, we will require a valid credit card to be placed on file to cover incidental items including (but not limited to) telephone calls, breakages/damages, excessive cleaning charges and theft. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Aqua

Address: 1A Tomaree St, Nelson Bay, Port Stephens, New South Wales 2315, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Port Stephens > Nelson Bay
Price Range: $166 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Aqua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mantra Aqua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Aqua Hotel Nelson Bay
Mantra Aqua Nelson Bay, Port Stephens
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nelson Bay
#4 Family Hotel in Nelson Bay
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nelson Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Aqua staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Aqua staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It is quieter if you book a room away from the pool area”
 of 5 bubbles chrisg276rec, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in apartment 91, 3 bedrooms with ample room.”
 of 5 bubbles suehV8855VX, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not eat at the restaurant as it was below average food and very expensive.”
 of 5 bubbles citygirltravelingfar, 8 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room facing the pool area. We stayed in #48 - a lovely 2 bedroom apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles 414henryr, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms around pool area at ground level while nice to look at can be very noisy depending on the number of kids”
 of 5 bubbles CliveG419, 21 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5