We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Bank Hotel

Save
Share
83 Main St Entry via Albert Lane, rear of building, Mittagong, New South Wales 2575 Australia
Lowest prices for your stay
USD 209
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/12/21
eDreams
Booking.com
PricelineUSD 209
Agoda.com
StayForLong
View all 8 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (105)
Room & Suite (28)
Dining (22)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Mittagong
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Steeped in history, this original bank building has been lovingly restored into luxury accommodation and classic Bistro Dining . With five luxurious suites and two self-contained cottages, The Old Bank is a treat for the senses situated in the heart of Mittagong.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Golf course
Board games / puzzles
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Wifi
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Private check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Seating area
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Languages Spoken
English
135Reviews3Q+A29Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 124
  • 5
  • 5
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Erik A wrote a review Jul 2020
3 contributions2 helpful votes
Spent two nights at this beautiful historic boutique hotel in the heart of Mittagong NSW. The property was immaculate, room was well appointed and comfortable, and location was close to cafes and restaurants. The friendly staff was knowledgeable and attentive to our needs. Great place to spend a couple’s getaway.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Helpful
Share
Thommo54 wrote a review Jun 2020
Sydney, Australia4 contributions7 helpful votes
My wife and I stayed at the Old Bank Hotel for two nights. Could not have had a more pleasurable time. We stayed in one of the cottages, a little more expensive than the rooms inside the main building, but well worth the small additional amount. The facilities were spotless, the quality of the fittings and furniture was impeccable. The air conditioning was more than adequate for the chilly highlands weather. Very cosy indeed. As a guest, you pretty much have the run of the sumptuous lounge areas in the main building, including the open fire. Nice Sunday afternoon in front of the open fire watching the footy on the big screen. Might of enjoyed a glass or two of red as well. The owner/operators, Warwick and Barbara could not have been more helpful, recommending and booking a
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Gail R wrote a review Jun 2020
Wollongong, Australia15 contributions5 helpful votes
The Old Bank Hotel is unique and restored beautifully. Many of the original features have been retained with new additions in keeping with the period. Our visit to Mittagong was made all the more special by staying in such a beautiful heritage building. The rooms are well appointed and the beds extremely comfortable. In addition the owners are very welcoming and happy to accommodate any requests. We also recommend dining at Paste Restaurant. The food is exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Helpful
Share
Peter B wrote a review Mar 2020
Tetbury, United Kingdom112 contributions83 helpful votes
The Old Bank Hotel is on the main street in Mittagong and the entrance is from the rear. At first sight it is a bit auster and grand as you would expect from an old bank, and this theme runs through the establishment. I was the only guest during my two day stay and it made for a rather errie feeling. No breakfasts as the owner was away and not a great selection of restaurants without driving some distance. The rooms are rather small and my request for a desk could not be met other than bringing inside a small metal desk from the balcony. As the ceilings are tall and the furnishings are dark, it gave a sombre, unfriendly feel. The bed was comfortable and it is a good spot to explore the Southern Highlands, but information pack was poor and a visit to the information office in
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from BarbaraW3944, Owner at The Old Bank Hotel
Responded 27 Mar 2020
Thank you Peter B for your review of the Old Bank. The observation that you were the only guest on the particular Monday and Tuesday is correct because, sadly, your stay was at a time when the Coronavirus Pandemic had just started to ramp up in Australia and when accommodation bookings not only here but worldwide were being cancelled. As listed in our information pack, there are at least 15 fine restaurants, pubs and clubs, mostly licensed, within walking distance of the Old Bank offering breakfast, lunch and dinner of a vast range of modern and traditional fare. I apologize that breakfast was not available on the particular mornings of your stay. It was a great idea that you checked in with the knowledgeable and helpful staff at the Tourist Information Centre who are fully equipped to guide through our area. Room areas and ceiling heights in the Old Bank were determined some 130 years ago when the masonry building was constructed, some by felons banished across the seas. Individual room sizes from which to chose today are readily available on the various booking platforms. It is noted that you chose the smallest and cheapest room. The pull-out writing tablet, featured in the accommodation's built-in furniture is considered adequate for casual use. If not, the fully air conditioned dining area, library and/or lounge with WIFI are always available for one to spread out in total privacy and comfort whilst enjoying complimentary tea, coffee and biscotti. Dark furnishings used are in sympathy with Australian Cedar and WA Jarrah widely used during the reign of Queen Victoria. You are quite correct in that two payments were taken, one deposit to secure accommodation when booking and the second being balance owing at check-out. Clearly, you were not charged double fees but a separate Bank Merchant Charge for each transaction. I apologize that your stay was not as expected but hope the above allays your concerns and now look forward to warmly welcoming you back to the Old Bank in the future once the current dire situation subsides. Wishing you safe travelling, good health and with Kindest Regards, Warwick Wainberg.
Read more
Ingrid wrote a review Feb 2020
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
The old bank in Mittagong has been meticulously restored and we loved our stay here. The rooms are luxurious with every thing you would need for a night in the highlands. We had the Albert room which is at the back of the property, with district views and a balcony. The hosts are lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely stay here again!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Helpful
Share
PRICE RANGE
USD 163 - USD 189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesSouthern HighlandsMittagong
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing