We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

South Seas Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
South Seas Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

66 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 64: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2016 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with our stay at South Seas. Budget by price, but great location and comfortable, clean rooms. Staff very friendly and even a glimpse of ocean views! Pool would be nice in slightly warmer weather

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 713ingal
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 23 October 2016

We stayed here for the week of golf in Merrimbula. Its a very clean motel,friendly staff and very helpful.Its with walking distance to all cafes and restaurants in town.We were moved into a suite after 3 nights which has cooking facilities if you didnt want to eat out. Would definately reccommend and will return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judytripper
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed here on a coastal trip. We booked last minute and we were unsure of what to expect, but the room was great. The location in the centre of Merimbula was perfect for walking around the town centre to the restaurants and cafes. The room was great value, very clean, modern and a good size. Staff were also very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colum C
Curl Curl, Australia
Reviewed 30 August 2016

The location is within walking distance of the main shopping centre, clubs, and restaurants and cafés and hotel (all within 5 minutes walk). The room was quite large and contained everything to be self-contained ( crockery and cutlery, micro wave, fridge, TV, tea and coffee making, iron and ironing board). The ensuite was a bit small, but adequate and very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gracar41
Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 18 May 2016

We had a one night stay. Room was well presented and comfortable. Very close to shops and dining options as well as the clubs. Reception friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable and shower was okay. Couldn't close one window and the next door property was a bit noisy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dawn3847
Merimbula, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2016 via mobile

I don't like shocks but love surprises when I stay away from home. I gave it a five - not because it was luxurious - because it is honest for what you pay for. It's clean, quiet, comfy, heaps of hot water, good bed, was close to everything and has friendly staff. It surprised me how good it was. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TerryAustralia2015
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 April 2016

Not worth wasting space writing about this place, only positive thing about the room is the beds were comfortable and clean..............A BIG MISTAKE by staying here, should have chosen one of the motels on either side of South Seas.........

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LisaDJGRLB
southseas05, Manager at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

I am pleased that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and we do our very best to ensure everything is kept clean. Unfortunately your comment does not elaborate with details and therefore we are unable address directly.

Wollongong, Australia
Reviewed 7 March 2016

Location was excellent with short walk to most facilities i.e. shops, clubs, cinema etc. Good pool and barbecue facilities. The apartment itself was small and congested with little room to relax. The website photo shows a small table and 2 chairs_there were none. A large sign at front advertises free WiFi . Our stay was for 5 nights and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ken K
southseas05, Manager at South Seas Motel, responded to this review

Hi Ken, Thanks for your feedback. Sorry we did not realise that the table and chairs had been moved from the room, they have now been replaced. I believe you stayed in a studio apartment, which is a smaller space. Our two or three level apartments may have been more suitable but for the stairs as you mentioned. The large...

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Great budget motel, good spacious clean room. Unfortunately the bed was very hard. My husband and I both woke up very sore. Other than the bed our stay was pleasurable. Just love the thought of being in Merimbula, breakfast was very nice. Just a lovely little budget motel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kymme A
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 20 February 2016

My partner and I recently roadtripped for a week and the South Seas Motel in Merimbula was our favourite accommodation. Why? Great service, view, clean room, good location, good value. Like many motels in Merimbula, it dates from the 1970s/1980s but has largely been modernised. We had a room away from the road which is great for someone like me...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank simone_a13

27 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merimbula hotels
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn Merimbula
Comfort Inn Merimbula
#7 of 16 in Merimbula
113 reviews
0.1 km away
Pelican Motor Inn
Pelican Motor Inn
#3 of 16 in Merimbula
156 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN Sea Spray Motel Merimbula
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Summerhill Motor Inn
Summerhill Motor Inn
#2 of 16 in Merimbula
109 reviews
1.1 km away
Hillcrest Motor Inn
Hillcrest Motor Inn
#9 of 16 in Merimbula
85 reviews
0.2 km away
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
Sapphire Waters Motor Inn
#5 of 16 in Merimbula
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
South Seas Motel, offers Deluxe, Standard & Budget Motel accommodation as well as fully self-contained 2 & 3 level apartments. Located in the CBD of Merimbula on the 'Sapphire Coast' of Southern New South Wales. We are ideally situated, halfway between Sydney and Melbourne on the Sydney Melbourne Coastal Drive Route. South Seas accommodation is undoubtedly Merimbula's best located Motel located in the CBD easy walking distance to everything from the Shopping Centre, Supermarket, Clubs & Restaurants. With the Lake located just 150 meters from the Motel and Apartments. Stay in and relax in the Garden and Spacious Lawns Area or on the Sundeck beside the large Solar Heated Salt Water Swimming Pool. Perhaps dining outside is more inviting, use the free BBQ facilities and dine in the large secluded outside dining area or use the newly renovated Function Room that seats 70+ people for your next, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking. Groups are well catered for with discounted Package Deals available for Fishing, Golf, Bowls, Whale Watching, Coach Tours, Wedding, Corporate Event, Convention, Group or Coach Booking.South Seas offers 20 rooms with something to suit everyone from Travellers or Executives to short breaks, long stays or planning your next extended or family holiday. Deluxe and Executive motel units have individual cooking facilities; most Standard rooms have scenic balcony views. All rooms have Tea and Coffee, Toasters and Microwaves and direct dial Telephones. South Seas also offers a cooked al-a-cart breakfast delivered daily to your room or groups can dine together in the function room if they so desire. Wi-Fi Internet and BBQ are offered free to all guests.South Seas Motel offers clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and in a central location at a fraction of the cost.Interstate coaches stop directly opposite the Motel, while Merimbula Airport is within 2km. Why not enjoy your next visit to Merimbula by staying at the South Seas Motel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about South Seas Motel

Address: 12 Merimbula Dr, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Merimbula
Price Range: $91 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Seas Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your South Seas Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Seas Motel Merimbula
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Merimbula
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from South Seas Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ground floor, water views, budget , or quiet room at the back, as desired”
 of 5 bubbles Gracar41, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Don't choose a studio apartment.”
 of 5 bubbles kenkP3004UK, 6 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Merimbula Drive if you are sensitive to road noise.”
 of 5 bubbles simone_a13, 20 Feb 2016 | Read review
“rooms at front have own balconey”
 of 5 bubbles 352narelleb, 6 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Save yourself and don't stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles DwyerMandy, 3 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay