We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Wandarrah Lodge

8 Marine Pde, Merimbula, New South Wales 2548 Australia

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#1 of 1 hostel in Merimbula
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
NEW FREE WI-FI IN ALL ROOMS Wandarrah Lodge - Merimbula is situated midway between Sydney & Melbourne and only 150 metres from the beach making us an ideal location to break your journey on the pristine Sapphire Coast. We specialize in budget accommodation for singles & couples as well as group accommodation for schools, sporting clubs, family reunions & touring motorcyclists. Please note we are NOT a motel so no TVs or spas in the rooms. Our main points of difference to a motel being the ability to cook your own meals in our large communal kitchen as well as interact with other guests in our large Dining / Common / TV room. Our budget accommodation includes single, twin , double & multishare rooms with shared bathroom facilities. Family en suite rooms including disabled access are also available. Guests do make up their own beds with our freshly laundered linen which is included in the room rate.Catering for all meals for groups of 10 or more. A self catering kitchen is available which sets us apart from a motel allowing guests to prepare a meal should they wish. Other facilities include NEW FREE WI-FI IN ALL ROOMS, free off-street parking, bbq, outdoor area, pool table, table tennis and guest laundry. If your preference is 4 or 5 star accommodation Wandarrah Lodge may not be a good fit so please research before booking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Books, DVDs, music for children
Children's television networks
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Street parking
Wifi
Diving
Game room
Hiking
Horseback riding
Mini golf
Snorkelling
Billiards
Bowling offsite
Fishing
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Indoor play area for children
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun terrace
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Safe
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Hidden Gem
53Reviews4Q+A3Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 29
  • 16
  • 4
  • 3
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Lee-Anne V wrote a review Feb 2020
5 contributions1 helpful vote
Wandarrah Lodge is our preferred place to stay when we are in Merimbula. The location is perfect. Very close to the beach and the lake and in walking distance of the shops and restaurants. The lodge itself is clean and comfortable and Wayne and Betty make us feel quite at home.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
will l wrote a review Feb 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I do not recommend staying here unless you enjoy having a holiday with someone looking over your shoulder, we planned on staying for two nights with a group and he made us leave with know refund after the first night, seemed normal until arriving. I have never left a review before which means a lot I think
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from WayneT681, Owner at Wandarrah Lodge
Responded 14 Feb 2020
"Threat to Damage our Business comes to Fruition." As promised by this guest, this is the 1st of 30 bad reviews we were threatened with if we did not refund the group for their "early" departure due to numerous breaches of our Group Conditions Policy, to which THIS guest signed off on and was requested to have ALL other members of the group sight. Man up guys and accept you stuffed up and learn from your mistakes.I did all I could to convince you we were not a good fit for your school reunion that "morphed" into a bucks weekend. BIG mistake by ME trusting your assurances that the 6 or so parents (that were over 50) would keep a "lid" on the rest of the group which was clearly not the case. You were promised a refund on the morning you were asked to leave but this offer was instantly withdrawn when you made the statement "do I realise how much damage 30 bad reviews will do to our business?" Despite you claiming it was not a threat I`d ask potential guests reading these reviews look a little deeper into reviews such as this. Having operated Wandarrah Lodge for the past 18 years we strive as much as possible to ensure every guest leaves having had a good experience as evidenced by the majority of guest reviews prior to this.However the anti - social conduct displayed by this group (along with a number of girls carted back after the pub closed who then refused numerous requests to leave) will not be tolerated. PS.My offer to attend mediation is still wide open.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sjoerd C wrote a review Nov 2019
Port Macquarie, Australia14 contributions4 helpful votes
Very warm and genuine hospitality by Wayne & Betty. Great location and amenities in this lovely family owned accommodation. Highly recommend to stay here when visiting Merimbula area. Wayne had very nice recommendations for what to do and where to eat. A few minutes walk to beach. Great cafe 1 minute walk away and fish and chips shop across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Ryan R wrote a review Jan 2019
1 contribution
Superb location and extremely friendly service. The proprietors, Wayne and Betty are some of the sweetest folk I've encountered throughout my travels. They offer access to a variety of aquatic activities, such as, fishing, snorkelling, paddle boarding, and kayaking. A brisk and scenic stroll along the bay allows easy access into town. I recommend Cranky's Cafe for breakfast, located right across from the easily accessible beach. Should you require some privacy, solo lodging is available. Yet, a shared dorm is a quick and easy way to socialize with other guests. Really enjoyed my stay and looking forward to my next stay at the spectacular Wandarrah Lodge.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2019
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WayneT681, Owner at Wandarrah Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2019
G`Day Ryan Thanks for taking the time to review your stay @ Wandarrah Lodge. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you back. Safe travels Betty & Wayne
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Plenty2C wrote a review Dec 2018
4 contributions
Brilliant. Across the road from "THE MERIMBULA CLASSIC" Kite Surfing Championships. Just awesome to watch. This place is always clean. If you love the beach, and seaside towns, then stop here. A kind neighbour gave me a lift from the bus stop to the Lodge just around the corner. Truly friendly place. Free Parking Space Non-Smoking Ironing equipment Washing Machine & Dryer AND clothes lines.... so free drying over summer! library area, games, desks, etc. Hair Dryer available Linen / Bedspread Provided Internet Access - Wireless/WiFi Clean Bathrooms Full Kitchen - Self Catering Friendly, helpful, local knowledge. Near buses, small friendly community. Well worth a few days stop-over. A welcoming place. :-)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WayneT681, Owner at Wandarrah Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2019
Thanks for the comprehensive review. Great to see you enjoyed our location, which is hard to beat just 150m from the Merimbula Classic site. Hope to see you back this year.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
NYLON_nomad wrote a review Dec 2018
London, United Kingdom3503 contributions778 helpful votes
The location was great. Just a stone away from the main beach and only a few minutes walk. We arrived late for check-in against the recommendation by 6pm but they were kind enough for us to proceed without any issues and explained to us where to go for late dinner. Probably the time of the season the price was as much as normal accommodation. Facilities were basic for long time lodger or backpackers so I felt pricey. Nevertheless, I enjoyed the beach and walked around the area.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
grahamv58 wrote a review Nov 2018
Canberra, Australia104 contributions57 helpful votes
Friendly service and spotless accommodation. Location just 2 min walk to the beach, beautiful walk to town around the bay. What a place to relax. A perfect stop for travellers and a nice getaway. Excellent facilities, guest kitchen, free wifi, cleanest bathrooms you will find and lots of local knowledge and tips from owners Wayne and Betty.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
jessiefirmstone wrote a review July 2018
Corrimal, Australia5 contributions
Absolutely loved our stay at Wandarrah Lodge - The location was perfect, only a short walk into town to shops and cafes plus also super close to the beach. The room was everything we expected plus more, clean, comfortable and spacious. Wayne & Betty were also very helpful in providing tips and recommendations for things to do on our holiday - overall we highly recommend Wandarrah lodge and will definitely be starting here again when we come back to Merimbula, great value for money!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WayneT681, Owner at Wandarrah Lodge
Responded 24 Nov 2018
Thanks for the great review Jessie.It was a pleasure to have you both stay. Hope to see you back soon;)
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jennifer W wrote a review May 2018
Eden, Australia136 contributions37 helpful votes
I was part of a group of ladies who recently took over the lodge for a workshop. Wayne and Betty were so friendly and helpful and the venue was just perfect for our needs. The whole place could not have been any cleaner. The kitchen area and bathrooms were quite spacious and absolutely spotless, our linen was crisp and clean, and the beds comfortable. Would not hesitate to recommend this venue to couples, families or groups.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2018
Value
Rooms
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from WayneT681, Owner at Wandarrah Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2019
Thanks Jenny,hope to have you all back sometime soon. It was great to see all your wonderful creations.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
C9471MRelizabethl wrote a review Mar 2018
Melbourne, Australia5 contributions
I Spent 4 nights at Wandarrah Lodge and really enjoyed my stay. Met some lovely people and the Manager Wayne was so friendly and helpful with everyone. The beach is a stone's throw away and the town centre is a lovely 15 minute walk. The facilities at Wandarrah Lodge are excellent. Use of a large kitchen and dining room. If your looking for budget accommodation look no further. You won't be disappointed. I will definitely come back to Wandarrah Lodge when I return to Merimbula.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Merimbula area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesMerimbula
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WANDARRAH LODGE (AU$33): 2024 Prices & Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions about Wandarrah Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Wandarrah Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Merimbula Aquarium & Wharf (1.0 km), Main Beach (0.1 km), and Ford Park Playground (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Wandarrah Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at Wandarrah Lodge?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Wandarrah Lodge?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Wandarrah Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bar Beach Kiosk, Dulcie's Cottage, and Tidal Restaurant & Wine Bar.
Is Wandarrah Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.