We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island

Lagoon Road Old Settlement Beach, Lord Howe Island 2898 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (319)
Room & Suite (60)
Dining (51)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#3 of 6 hotels in Lord Howe Island
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Renowned for its warm and friendly service and laid back ambience, Arajilla Retreat encapsulates the very essence of Lord Howe Island, offering guests a haven of tranquillity and peace. Arajilla is perfectly positioned on the northern sheltered end of the Island’s lagoon just behind Old Settlement Beach, where meandering pathways lead through native gardens to the beach, to its serene Ayurvedic Spa luxurious suites. Explore the extraordinary scenery and wildlife of World Heritage listed Lord Howe Island. Walk bush trails, climb mountains, swim, surf, snorkel, fish, cycle around the Island, play golf beneath the mountains, take it easy on a deserted beach, enjoy a massage or treatment. And it’s all less than a two hour flight from Sydney or Brisbane.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool / beach towels
Free breakfast
Beach
Bicycles available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Free airport transportation
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Breakfast available
Special diet menus
Diving
Snorkelling
Free shuttle or taxi services
Airport transportation
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Facial treatments
Massage
BBQ facilities
Sun umbrellas
Private check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Room service
Seating area
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
369Reviews4Q+A78Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 322
  • 31
  • 10
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
MeganOB91 wrote a review Feb 2024
Hobart, Australia9 contributions1 helpful vote
The first time that our family stayed at Arajilla in 2022, we re-booked to come back in 2023 before we had even left! The same thing happened in 2023 - we have rebooked again for 2024, that is how much we all truly love this special resort. From the personalised service, relaxing atmosphere from the second we are picked up by friendly faces at the airport, beautiful rooms and shared spaces, the incredible food with a varied and delicious menu that we were so lucky to enjoy three times a day (do yourself a favour and do the BBQ option for lunch at one of the many gorgeous BBQ spots around the island), and the best local tips from the 5-star staff to help us feel at home (where to find the waterfalls when it’s rained, and when the cocktail bar down the road has music trivia on - such a fun afternoon!) - we have had 2 holidays of a lifetime here, and can’t wait to return later this year! Thank you so much to each of the fantastic staff, who make all the magic happen.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Juzzy McKee wrote a review Feb 2024
Brisbane Region, Australia52 contributions16 helpful votes
We spent a week at Arajilla in a Banyan Suite and did not want to leave! A week was not long enough. The small, quiet resort is nestled in beautiful rainforest just a short walk from Old Settlement Beach. The location is near to everything, the service is efficient, professional and friendly; the accommodation is tastefully decorated, comfortable and spacious; the lounge/restaurant area elegantly designed to maximise the rainforest setting. The rooms come equipped with beach chairs, a sun umbrella and beach bags, although we spent so much time out exploring the island and snorkelling/diving, that we hardly used them. We did use the complimentary bikes everyday though which was lots of fun. The cocktails, canapés and food were delicious. Being vegetarian often means we get very little choice. But at Arajilla we looked forward to every meal. A big thanks to the chef and kitchen team! A special thanks also to Hope, Victoria, Flo and General Manager James, who made us feel so welcome. Gina’s housekeeping team also deserves a mention for keeping the rooms spotless. And lastly to Diesel for the drop offs/pick ups. If I have to give any feedback on what I would change, it’s just one minor thing, some full length hanging space for dresses in the wardrobe would be awesome.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Bill and Lynne W wrote a review Nov 2023
Gold Coast13 contributions4 helpful votes
Absolutely everything we expected, peaceful with the ambience of a beautiful rain forest. Congratulations to James on running a fantastic place with a team of fantastic friendly staff. The meals were delivered with what you would receive in a five star restaurant!!!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Take the time to appreciate the beautiful surroundings
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear Bill and Lynne Thankyou for your review and feedback, it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Arajilla and our staff were there to look after you both during your holiday. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and welcoming you back to Arajilla. Kind Regards Bill Shead
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
PhilGordon74 wrote a review Nov 2023
Sydney, Australia131 contributions52 helpful votes
+1
Luxurious stay amongst the palm trees. James and his team are very welcoming. The restaurant food is excellent. We did a package where we got a picnic hamper which you can have pretty much anywhere with road access. We were suggested Lovers Bay, and it was wonderful. James dropped us off and picked us up afterwards. Our package included breakfast, lunch, and dinner, plus a range of excellent wines from around Australia. The West Cape Howe Riesling from Margaret River was a standout. Our room was split level, and the bed possibly the comfiest we have ever slept in anywhere. Arajilla is literally next to Old Settlement Beach, so we snorkelled and swam every day. You can easily walk or cycle into town. We managed to complete all the walks/hikes in the northern part of the island from Arajilla. A word on the staff: nothing is too much trouble. The service is professional but personable. The other guests are friendly, and we enjoyed chatting with people during pre-dinner drinks and canapes. There is chess and backgammon too. We liked the relaxed vibe of Arajilla. Having also stayed at Capella Lodge on this trip, we found the service and atmosphere of Arajilla to be superior.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 29 Dec 2023
Dear Phil Thankyou for your review and feedback and we are delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time on Lord Howe Island and at Arajilla. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the different activities on Lord Howe Island and enjoyed exploring the island. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Bill Shead
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wellington6 wrote a review Oct 2023
Exeter, United Kingdom43 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
From the moment you land on the island you are stepping into a family (Hotel)and a community that wants you to experience their island. On our arrival we were picked up by Ben (Exec Chef) and then met by James (Manager) and had the island explained to us…. No mobile phones, limited Wi-Fi, excellent food, BBQ anywhere on the island (almost), excellent wines, bikes,snorkelling, walking and chatting with the locals and other guests at the hotel. Imagine Jurassic Park without the dinosaurs…. That’s the only way that you can summarise the islands landscape, add in a great hotel and you have the perfect recipe for a truly spectacular holiday. James said on our arrival that before dinner we have cocktails at 17:30 and dinner from 18:30 and most guests have gone to bed by 21:00 as they are exhausted….he was right…. If you don’t like Fresh Air, Walks, Bikes, Swimming, Diving, Snorkelling and don’t mention the climbs and steps all over the island LHI isn’t for you….. if you do…. LHI is the gift that keeps on giving. To James and the whole team…. I can see why the Hotel and Island is so low key…. Please keep it that way.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Do the island tour with Pete as soon as you can… it will help you understand the island much...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Thankyou so much for your rview and feedback, it is greatly appreciated and we are glad our staff were there to look after you. Describing Lord Howe Island as Jurassic Park is exactly how we think of the island as well as being an enchated lost world, it is truly a hidden gem in the world. We look forward to seeing you in the future and welcoming you back. Kind Regards Bill Shead
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Going Gone wrote a review Oct 2023
Terrigal, Australia37 contributions1 helpful vote
Arajilla Retreat on Lord Howe Island is a hidden gem that truly exceeds all expectations when it comes to luxurious, eco-friendly accommodation and exceptional hospitality. From the moment I set foot on this beautiful island paradise, I was treated to an unforgettable experience, thanks in no small part to the incredible staff who go above and beyond to make your stay absolutely magical. The heart and soul of Arajilla Retreat, Manager James, is the epitome of a gracious and attentive host. From the moment I arrived until the time I sadly had to depart, James made me feel incredibly welcome. His passion for the retreat and his genuine interest in ensuring that every guest has a memorable stay is palpable. He not only manages the retreat seamlessly but also takes the time to interact with guests personally, offering valuable insights into the island's unique attractions and arranging unforgettable experiences. Executive Chef Ben is a culinary wizard who works his magic in the kitchen, crafting some of the most delectable dishes I've ever had the pleasure of savoring. The food at Arajilla Retreat is a highlight in itself. The restaurant's menu is a gastronomic journey that showcases the island's freshest ingredients and creative flair. Each meal was a delightful surprise, and Chef Ben's dedication to providing top-notch culinary experiences is evident in every bite. His personalised attention to dietary preferences and restrictions also makes dining a seamless, enjoyable experience. The maintenance team led by Diesel ensures that the retreat remains a pristine and welcoming environment. Any issues or concerns I had were promptly addressed, and his dedication to maintaining the retreat's lush surroundings and cozy accommodations is evident. It's reassuring to know that every aspect of Arajilla Retreat is given the care it deserves. In addition to James, Ben, and Diesel, the entire food and beverage team, as well as the housekeeping staff, deserve special mention. Their attentiveness, professionalism, and warm hospitality made my stay truly special. They anticipated my needs and went out of their way to ensure my comfort and satisfaction. It's the little things, like the immaculate state of my room that truly sets Arajilla Retreat apart. Arajilla Retreat's charm extends well beyond the incredible team of staff. The retreat's secluded setting on Lord Howe Island provides a serene and idyllic backdrop for relaxation and adventure. From the pristine beaches to the lush forests, this retreat is a paradise for nature lovers and those looking to disconnect from the everyday hustle and bustle. My stay at Arajilla Retreat was an experience that will stay with me for a long time. My heartfelt thanks to Manager James, Chef Ben, Diesel, and the entire staff for making my stay truly exceptional.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Dear Robert Thankyou for your review and feedback, we are delighted to read your review and thankyou for your comments about our staff, all staff are exceptional and they are ones who make Arajilla wonderful, thankyou for your lovely words about our staff. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Bill Shead
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
mrsfefe wrote a review Sept 2023
nsw, australia24 contributions33 helpful votes
We had a lovely stay at Arijilla. All staff were very attentive and helpful. The meals were excellent. The bikes are freely available and really easy for we non-cyclists to manage. We had a room with upstairs lounge. We were out a lot, so we didn’t really have much use for it. The downstairs area is ample. The upstairs room has a tv, with a few mainland channels available. The only thing to be aware of is that the internet reception in the rooms is marginal and intermittent at best. It’s quite good in the main lounge/ dining area, so if you will need reliable internet you will have to go to the communal area to use it. You won’t be able to stream in the room.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Thankyou for your review and feedback, we are glad to hear you had a wonderful time and yes the internet can be intermittent being on a remote island, we always try to ensure that guests can receive internet during their stay. We are glad you enjoyed Lord Howe Island, it is truly a special island. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Bill Shead
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Odette K wrote a review May 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
We found a very professional team of staff members that were well organised, had high standards, and were friendly and informative. The resort is immaculately maintained. Luxurious rooms with excellent cross ventilation, and a clean magazine-worthy bathroom, The food is five-star. We had a great team led by James including Chef, Ian, Jana, Ruby, Paige, and Elliot who provided entertaining and professional service and a menu that was well thought out, delicious, and artistically presented.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 22 Dec 2023
Thankyou so much for your review, we value your feedback and we are delighted to read you had an amazing time. We look forward to seeing you again in the future and looking after you again. Kind Regards Bill
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Amelia wrote a review Apr 2023
Coffs Harbour, Australia2 contributions1 helpful vote
James, Jana, Ian, Ruby, Paige & Diesel - From the bottom of our hearts thank you so much for making our wedding and stay at Lord Howe Island perfect. We just wanted to say thank you so much for everything and making us feel so welcome. From putting up with our changing plans and the additional transfers for family, we cannot thank you enough. The service we received from each and every staff member was outstanding and exceeded our expectations. You all have made our trip so memorable. Now to the Chefs - WOW. The food at Arajilla is sensational. There was not one single meal that we didn't enjoy. Not only were all the meals presented beautifully but the flavours were fantastic. To the lovely guests we met at Arajilla - thank you so much for the company and great conversations. Without knowing it, you all contributed to our special day. If you're looking for somewhere to stay at Lord Howe Island - make sure you stay at Arajilla, you wont regret it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 25 Apr 2023
Hello Amelia, thankyou for your review and feedback and congratulations on your wedding, we are so happy that you chose to celebrate your wedding with us. Our Chefs and Staff are extremely talented and we are grateful to have them working with us. We do look forward to seeing you in the future celebrating one of your anniversary's. Kind Regards Bill
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tonkins wrote a review Apr 2023
Mildura, Australia12 contributions17 helpful votes
+1
We were lucky to spend 13 nights at Arajilla and from the moment we arrived we knew our trip was going to be very special …… we weren’t disappointed. Our accomodation was welcoming , modern and kept extremely clean by the fantastic housekeeping staff . Our meals were a ‘MasterChef delight’ …… so much care and thought is put into the every changing menu …..simply stunning and most certainly a highlight for us …..the cocktail hour pre dinner drinks is also a great opportunity to meet and chat with other guests . The staff are absolutely amazing and our thanks to James , Ruby , Paige, Yana , Ian and Diesel . We loved our chats and banter . You are all a credit to your profession ….. these guys simply have got an awesome team and we hope our paths cross agin someday. And as for Lord Howe Island …… wow oh wow ……beautiful in every way and so worth protecting …..From the towering mountains , the magnificent Banyan trees and the underwater paradise ……much to see and be inspired by the natural beauty that is on offer . Whilst we were at Lord Howe is walking tracks were closed due to a myrtle rust outbreak .Whilst we were disappointed we couldn’t see other beautiful parts of the island , the sheer beauty of the place made us realise inconvenience is nothing and protection needs to come at every cost . Thank you to everyone we met …….LHI certainly meet our expectations……..we had a ball😎
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bill Shead, General Manager at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Responded 25 Apr 2023
Thankyou so much for your review and it is so lovely to hear you had a wonderful holiday and enjoyed staying with us at Arajilla. It is a shame that you had to experience the closure of the walks due to the myrtle rust outbreak, all walking tracks are back open now and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards Bill Shead
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Lord Howe Island area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$1,640 - AU$2,066 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
arajilla retreat hotel lord howe island, arajilla retreat lord howe island
LOCATION
AustraliaLord Howe Island
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ARAJILLA RETREAT - LORD HOWE ISLAND: 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island
Which popular attractions are close to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island?
Nearby attractions include Ned's Beach (0.7 km), Lagoon Beach (1.7 km), and Lord Howe Island Walking Trails (4.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island?
Conveniently located restaurants include Love Lord Howe Picnics and Platters, Coral Cafe, and Anchorage Restaurant.
Does Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Does Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island have airport transportation?
Yes, Arajilla Retreat - Lord Howe Island offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.