We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
32 Morilla St, Lightning Ridge, New South Wales 2834 Australia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (28)
Room & Suite (3)
Bathroom (1)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.

About

#1 of 3 hotels in Lightning Ridge
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Bluey Motel. We are a privately owned motel with 10 rooms. Situated opposite the Bowling Greens and walking distance to shops, we offer friendly service, fresh rooms, off street parking, guest laundry and shady BBQ areas. The rooms include: reverse cycle air-conditioning; tea/coffee facilities; fridge, microwave colour TV, DVD/VCR; ensuite. We Offer: fax and Wi-Fi Broadband; tourist information and tour bookings. We accept Eftpos, Mastercard and Visa.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
BBQ facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Seating area
Kitchenette
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
198Reviews3Q+A26Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 110
  • 78
  • 9
  • 1
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
SJM207 wrote a review June 2022
Orange, Australia37 contributions9 helpful votes
Bluey Motel is a quiet, spotlessly clean delight! Easy walk across the road for a meal at the Bowling Club. The owners are friendly and could not be more helpful. I would not hesitate to stay here again and highly recommend it for a stay in Lightning Ridge. Great value!
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your great reveiw. We love our little motel and so pleased you did to.
Read more
John M wrote a review June 2022
Melbourne, Australia15 contributions1 helpful vote
Everything was great about this motel. Very comfortable bed, good wifi (best near reception), and Corinna was very hospitable. The price was also very reasonable. This motel was the best that we stayed in on our outback trip to MIldura, Broken Hill, Cobar, Lightning Ridge and Moree. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for the wonderful review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay,
Read more
GlobeExpress wrote a review May 2022
Sydney, Australia115 contributions118 helpful votes
It's an old, very simple motel but it absolutely the right place to stay. Corinne was wonderfully helpful juggling rooms to fit me in on a busy night and arranged a very late check in. Corinne couldn't have been more helpful and is a great credit to the place.The motel is spotlessly clean, the bed was comfortable, the air conditioner worked. A rainwater tank supplies fresh water and it's a quick walk too cafes, the club is across the road and shops are accessible. This place sets the standard for how country motels should be. Give it a try.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for the great review. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Read more
Brad J wrote a review May 2022
12 contributions1 helpful vote
Wonderful place to stay in Lightning Ridge. Very friendly and helpful staff and although a little old fashioned the rooms were very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. Also everything you might need for your stay is catered for. Perfectly located in town and very quiet. Would definitely stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you for your wonderful review. Look forward to seeing you again
Read more
Kath P wrote a review Mar 2022
1 contribution
Bluey Motel & hostess Corrina welcomed us with true outback hospitality & a perfectly clean, comfy, air-conditioned room. Over our 2-day stay, Corrina readily offered a replenishment of room supplies & even a chocy biccy to go with our morning coffee. This Motel space is small, with uncovered car accommodation in front of each room, but at $105/night double-room, the location & family atmosphere made it 5-star to us. P.S. This motel is in the heart of Lightning Ridge with its impressive restaurants, charming cafes, opal traders & mural-painted buildings by their famed local artist, John Murray.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thanks for the review, so glad that you enjoyed our town. Cheers Corinna
Read more
Leroy wrote a review Jan 2022
Sydney, Australia1 contribution
ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC! Friendly and efficient staff, small, cosy room with everything you need-fridge, cutlery, crockery, tea, biscuits, sugar, coffee, tv, air condition, ceiling fan…the list goes one. It has all the comforts of a traditional motel room you’d expect. Extremely clean and a bargain at $89 a night! Would stay again without question-definitely worth the visit!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
thanks for taking time to write a review, glad you enjoyed your stay!
Read more
traveller101193 wrote a review Nov 2021
NSW Central Coast Australia60 contributions41 helpful votes
As good as you could expect to find in a small town - actually better - simple, clean, well appointed room (fridge, tea / coffee, crockery / cutlery etc) and super friendly and helpful owners / managers.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Always easy to look after such nice people.
Read more
Karen W wrote a review June 2021
Dubbo, Australia3 contributions
Looking from the outside it doesnt look much but the surprises start at check in. The owners were lovely explaining due to covid that room servicing wasnt available but if we needed anything to just let them know. Nothing was to much for the lovely couple. The rooms were so comfy. It was like a home away from home. We had plates cups and cutlery something we normally dont have when away but these rooms were decked out beautifully. The shower was amazingly hot and roomy so you didnt feel like you were cramped in the shower. The rooms looked small from the outside but once inside they were very spacious. The owners even let us borrow towels so i could visit the bore baths which i had never seen before. Even when working out the front of the motel the owners would pop out and say hi. This motel is one to definitely put on your list to stay at. The bed was the best ive slept on just perfect. Rooms were warm. You wont be disappointed staying here. Now saving money to go for a holiday up that way. Location is great bowling club with great food across the road. Right in the heart of town but no noise. Top spot for me
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Book early as its a small motel and fills up quick
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Bluey Motel, General Manager at Bluey Motel
Responded 27 Mar 2022
Thanks Karen, so glad you enjoyed you visit!
Read more
Ursula K wrote a review June 2021
8 contributions
We finalised our booking for this motel in October, for 4 nights in May. When we arrived we were told there was no room available. Then came the excuses: It was our fault because we hadn't rung the day before,the computer's fault, the booking book lost, covid and finally the mice ate the booking. Corinna managed to give us two nights' accommodation, but the whole town was booked up due to an event, so we had to cut our trip short by two days, and cram the tours we had booked into a short time. No solutions were offered so we had to find our own, driving through the night to find a place elsewhere. This is reflected in our score. Let me mention the positives however:The room was quite good with tv,microwave, a generous fridge, toaster. Bed was ok, There was no hairdryer. Fresh water was available, and Corinna was pleasant and otherwise helpful.Location was great. A shame that the booking was mishandled; it diminished the enjoyment of our stay.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Glenn Ratcliffe wrote a review June 2021
Forbes, Australia101 contributions70 helpful votes
Situated in the heart of LR, this is an excellent place to stay. The rooms are comfortable and clean, newly renovated, a very comfortable bed. The rooms have air-conditioning and bar fridge etc, but the management go a few steps further, even providing fly spray for pesky visitors and a towel on request for the artesian baths. No mice either if you keep your door closed. A great stay, no wonder they rate highly on TripAdvisor
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Previous
123456
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesLightning Ridge
NUMBER OF ROOMS
10
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bluey Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Bluey Motel?
Nearby attractions include John Murray Art Gallery (0.08 km), Down to Earth Opals (0.3 km), and Opal Bin (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bluey Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and reduced mobility rooms.
Which room amenities are available at Bluey Motel?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Bluey Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Bluey Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bluey Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Morillas Cafe, Bruno's Italian Restaurant & Take-Away, and Lightning Ridge District Bowling Club Bistro.
Is Bluey Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.08 km away from the centre of Lightning Ridge.
Are there any historical sites close to Bluey Motel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Lightning Ridge (3.9 km).
Is Bluey Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.