Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel

12 Allowrie St, Jamberoo, Kiama Municipality, New South Wales 2533 Australia
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (2)
Bathroom (1)

View prices for your travel dates

AU$174
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#1 of 1 small hotel in Jamberoo
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Family Owned Historic Jamberoo Pub (EST 1857) and Saleyard Motel offer two distinct options for accommodation. They offer nine pub style rooms and nine motel rooms. The pub style rooms are available upstairs from the pub and bistro. A central entertainment family room has a place for you to sit and relax. Enjoy reading your favorite book or magazine or watch your favorite show on television. Just down the hall from the family room is the verandah with beautiful views of the mountains and Jamberoo area. Another very peaceful place to enjoy a book and cup of coffee or tea. Even a beer from the pub downstairs. Just off the verandah is a small shared kitchenette, complete with everything you need to make that quick continental breakfast. Or you can even walk across the street to Fredericks IGA General Store and pick up some light lunch items and prepare them here. The Saleyard Motel is a new addition and has become very popular among travellers. Offering all the conveniences of a modern hotel/motel room. All rooms offer ensuites, reverse-cycle air conditioning, TV, tea/coffee making facilities and telephone/clock radios. The upstairs motel rooms also boast a verandah for that place to relax and enjoy the fresh air and sunshine.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Casino and Gambling
Conference facilities
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Vending machine
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Coffee / tea maker
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English
54Reviews0Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 16
  • 25
  • 5
  • 2
  • 6
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kerry D wrote a review Sept 2020
Sydney, Australia24 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked a motel room overnight to attend our grandson 21st. The room was quiet, clean & comfortable with plenty of hot water for showers. Yes there were a few minor maintenance issues but did not affect the stay. So if you are wanting a short stay in a quaint little village would recommend staying here.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had ground floor room which would suit people with mobility issues - very quiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Gail M wrote a review July 2022
Swansea, Australia10 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I just want to say thanks to Jamie and staff who went out of their way to assist me and my friend last weekend. My friend became quite ill while we were having a drink on Saturday and the staff were so helpful assisting in every way possible. She was I’ll through the night and next day. I rang for a late checkout and Jamie welcomed us to stay as long as we needed. Again thanks for everything and we’ll be back for a try for another girls weekend away. Cheers Gail
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
904agnesc wrote a review Apr 2024
Zoutleeuw, Belgium356 contributions228 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The rooms are behind the main building. Stairs to get to the upper floors. Large room, well equipped and clean. Good bed and the place is quiet at night. The restaurant serves delicious meals - and at an affordable price. A nice place to stay at.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kirsti P wrote a review Apr 2021
Catherine Hill Bay, Australia50 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Jamberoo pub and the hotel was a big disappointment. The pub itself was so quiet inside we felt like we were at church and all the staff had no sense of humour, we didn’t have dinner here but met people who did and the food was terrible and when she asked for onion he put a whole onion on the table amd smashed it in half with a knife. The whole ambiance is just wrong. The rooms absolutely stunk of cheap air freshener and there was a dirty nappy left in the bin so who knows how well the room was cleaned. I would not recommend here at all
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mags B wrote a review Jan 2020
10 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked the Jamberoo pub and motel for 2 nights through Agoda. On arrival we were given a small room upstairs with just a lumpy bed. No aircon, no TV, no toilet or shower room , no fridge.just a loud and noisy fan. We were told we had to share a bathroom and toilet with 9 other rooms, a possible 18 people. Try doing that when you are desperate for the toilet. Could not stay there and they would not give us a refund for the two nights. We were definitely mislead by Agoda. If you are happy with those conditions then go for it. If not book elsewhere. The pub is probably very good but we could no way stay in that room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JohnbNewcastle wrote a review Jan 2023
Newcastle27 contributions6 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here as we were to do a course locally. The room is small but also dirty and needs a good clean. The bathroom and shower are disgusting with black mould on the wall and ceiling, the fan doesn’t work. The stain on the bedside table is goodness knows what. The whole place needs and good clean and a make over.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Jamie Warren, Owner at Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel
Responded 23 Jan 2023
Dear JohnnyB Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our motel rooms and will look into the issues you have raised. Thank you once again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark T wrote a review Feb 2020
4 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Dirty,Dishes,no teaspoons, no wash up detergent or dishcloths. All dirty and needed washing before use. Taps in bathroom could not be turned off.(in the drought) No soap in dispensers. No other soap. Chairs grubby. And all this in the second room, due to the smell and the tap running in the first room. It is all maintenance and could be easily fixed. No security chain.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve G wrote a review June 2023
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Well appointed comfy rooms. Nice comfy bed. Wonderful staff and of course access to a great pub with a great bistro. Stayed 7 nights which cost me a bit but enjoyed my stay very much. Highly recommended
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mary S wrote a review Nov 2016
8 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Clean, roomy and pleasant accommodation. Had coffee this morning on the outdoor balcony overlooking the rolling hills of Jamberoo. A good place to stay. Didn't try the food at the pub but pub atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2016
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have balconies overlooking countryside
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Grahame L wrote a review Mar 2016
Narellan, Australia22 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
When my partner arrived she felt slightly disheartened from the crowd outside and time of night but shortly after meeting Jamie (The son of the pub owner) she quickly realized it was an outstanding place full of friendly faces.

The rooms were very clean and had plenty of space for my partner and I to move around. The glasses were in the fridge, chilled for some bourbon to spoil us and some coffee/tea with sugar for the early morning. My only down on the accomodation was the shower wasn't big enough to fit us both.

Jamie was kind enough to even give us a lift into Kiama since there were no buses and taxis were expensive. If you have no transport and want to get around, ask Jamie. He's a wonderful person that simply wants to help everyone.
My partner and I will certainly book there again in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from JPubManagement, Manager at Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel
Responded 29 Apr 2016
Dear Grahame L Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it's always great to hear the views of our guests. We are very happy you and your partner viewed the Jamberoo Pub as "an outstanding place full of friendly faces". We try very hard trying to provide a 'friendly and welcoming' environment. We will share your feedback with our team (and Jamie) and look forward to welcoming you and your partner to Jamberoo.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
No results found.Try changing or clearing your search to read questions and answers.
Kerry D wrote a tip Sept 2020
Sydney, Australia24 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We had ground floor room which would suit people with mobility issues - very quiet"
Read full review
Margaret877 wrote a tip Feb 2017
Penrith, Australia18 contributions5 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"We stayed in room 9, it was further away from the pool party next door"
Read full review
Lilly0530 wrote a tip Jan 2017
Sydney, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"next time, I would pay extra to have a room with own bathroom:-)"
Read full review
Don B wrote a tip Dec 2016
Sydney, Australia4,820 contributions357 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms on the west side are quieter, but there aren't many of these."
Read full review
Mary S wrote a tip Nov 2016
8 contributions7 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"2nd floor rooms have balconies overlooking countryside"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Jamberoo area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$151 - AU$177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesKiama MunicipalityJamberoo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
18
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

JAMBEROO PUB & THE SALEYARD MOTEL (AU$151): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel?
Nearby attractions include Saddleback Mountain Lookout (6.9 km), Kiama Harbour (7.3 km), and Kiama Coastal Walk (7.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
Which room amenities are available at Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Olive & Vine, The Hungry Monkey, and Hanoi on Manning.
Is Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Jamberoo.
Is Jamberoo Pub & the Saleyard Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars