We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
954 Point Plomer Road, Crescent Head, New South Wales 2440 Australia
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (84)
Dining (2)
View from Room (9)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
Updated 15/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Waves Campground
Updated 15/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 9 in Crescent Head
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Waves Campground situated in pristine bush environment. We are located on the back roads of Crescent Head (NSW), halfway between Sydney and Byron Bay. We pride ourselves on being a bush campground where people can enjoy the beauty of nature and soak in a relaxing atmosphere. Camping at Waves means camping with the bush and still getting to enjoy many extra’s. We offer powered and unpowered camping and our campsites can accommodate any type of set up (NO water hook ups/drive through sites/concrete slabs!). Our sites are private, bushy, shady and have a firepit and sometimes a picnic table. We also have a 62-bed Bunkhouse with three shared dorms and two private rooms with a bathroom, perfect for group accommodation! Prices for unpowered camping are from $24 for 2 people per night ($15 for solo travellers). This includes free access to all on site amenities - hot showers, camp kitchen, BBQ's, etc. Just a short stroll over the road and you will find yourself at the beach, great for catching dinner or some empty waves. The surrounding National Parks and local towns provide plenty of activities to keep you busy during your stay. Our friendly and helpful crew make sure that all are welcome and happily provide local knowledge. Perhaps the biggest bonus here is the onsite Surf Fuel café, where they serve barista coffees and a brunch & dinner menu. Check out the Fronds Food Co page for their latests news, menus and mouthwatering foodie shots. They can also cater for special events! In a nutshell: Waves is a professionally managed, super friendly, down to earth campground. We are big enough to deliver a splendid holiday experience and still small enough to care about you. For more information on the campground and our story, please visit our website! ** ATTENTION: When coming in from the South please stick to the highway until the Kempsey/Crescent Head exit. The road after the ferry from Port Macquarie turns into an advanced 4WD-track. **
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Paid wifi
Coffee shop
Breakfast available
Beach
Hiking
BBQ facilities
Gift shop
Outdoor dining area
Snorkelling
Fishing
Board games / puzzles
Outdoor fireplace
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Show more
Room features
Stovetop
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Languages Spoken
English
63Reviews3Q+A4Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 41
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Finan M wrote a review Feb 2022
2 contributions
+1
Avoid at all costs. Took all out money despite us never staying there. My partner and I booked for a 4 day trip as the site had many good reviews. But when we arrived we were shown to our site which was pretty much sand and sticks. A few minutes after arriving we witnessed a massive tree branch snap off a tree and land on top of another campsite which narrowly missed a man and his son. After we saw that he was okay the manager/owner came over and rudely just said “these things happen”. After witnessing that my partner and I couldn’t stay there in a tent as there is absolutely no sites away from trees as it’s pretty much in dense forest. After returning to reception we were greeted by a rude lady who simply said we don’t do refunds. NO REFUNDS AT ALL. No apology or sympathy for us or help in coming to a solution. Worst experience I have had at a camp site. AVOID AVOID AVOID
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled
Room Tip: RUDE management with no care about people staying in their property
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
em blackburn wrote a review Feb 2021
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom29 contributions4 helpful votes
This is quite a long review, so here’s a summary: the campsite itself has everything you need for a short stay and the location is great...but none of that is worth it. It is outstandingly unorganised and the staff are cruel. Search for longer than we did...find somewhere better. When our booking was accepted, we were asked what time we expected to arrive. I said we were travelling from the central coast, so it would probably be later on, between 7 and 8. The lady on the phone said that was no worries, just to call if we were going to be later than 8. When it got to 7:30 and we were stuck in awful traffic on the freeway, we realised we’d definitely be late, so we called the campground and found out from an automated message that the phone lines close at 5pm every day. While this was slightly annoying, (only because the lady on the phone had said to just call if we had a problem, without warning us that we’d need to call before 5) we just kept going and assumed it would be okay, because if it wasn’t, surely we’d have received a phone call? They had all our details and were expecting us, so if we were going to encounter issues or be locked out somehow, we would have been informed. The later it got and the more congested the traffic became, we decided to call again and use the option to be put through the emergency line to a manager. The situation wasn’t exactly an emergency, but as 4 young women travelling alone who didn’t want to be stranded with nowhere to sleep overnight, we decided we needed to make sure we’d still have somewhere to stay otherwise we’d take the financial hit and stay in a motel. When we got through to the emergency line we explained the situation and were met with no understanding or help. We were told two things: we should’ve called earlier if we were going to be late, and that there will be a late arrivals staff member there to greet us. The attitude of the man on the phone was incredibly dismissive (something that will become a recurring theme here!!!) and it was incredibly annoying that he spoke to us like children. We had been very much on track to arrive at 7 until there was a crash on the freeway - how could we have called a phone line before it’s 5pm closure if we didn’t know we had an issue until 7? Still, we were happy that there was a plan in place for our arrival either way so we kept driving and eventually arrived on site at around 9:45. When we arrived we saw that there were no staff members around, and no information posted anywhere about what late arrivals were supposed to do. All we could find was a map on the table and an “emergencies only” radio. We would later be told by a nasty, condescending man that there was a sheet left out specifically for our party with instructions on what to do - this was a blatant lie. Anyway; we used the radio to ask what we were supposed to do. A monotonous, patronising voice came back to us and said: “yeah, there’s no one there. You’re incredibly late. Set up on the plots opposite reception and come see us in the morning.” Interesting how we would later be told there was a sheet left out for us...because if that were true, why not tell us on the radio? We took our stuff and set up on the first available plot we found opposite reception. The rest of our party arrived and we went about that night as planned. The next morning when two of our party were in reception that same condescending man from the day previous told them that the plot we had chosen (opposite reception, as he so clearly specified the night before) was a powered one. He upset them both greatly and told them to get the rest of the party to come to reception and sign some paperwork and get ready to move all of our things to a different side of the site. When we all went to reception together his attitude was abhorrent. He was a nasty, passive aggressive man with a superiority complex from working behind a desk; his smile was grotesque and dripping with condescension as he asked us simple questions as if we were stupid little children. He talked to us as if getting stuck in traffic and being given no instruction on what to do when we arrived was all our fault. He said “we’re only human here, that’s our mantra. We only work office hours, nine ‘til five.” Well, that’s really good for you, if that’s your mantra then have the people who answer your phones tell guests that so they don’t get stuck in this exact situation. There were two other parties in the same situation as us - two vehicles driving around aimlessly at 9/10pm who both set up next to us and both similarly had to move the next day. We were not outliers. The small print of the website and no information for late arrivals in your FAQ section simply isn’t enough to help people in this situation, and a nasty manager who speaks to you like it’s your fault helps no one. He told us there had been a sheet clearly put out on the desk for our benefit when we arrived in the evening. There wasn’t. He lied to our faces and talked to us like we were clueless. When I signed the covid-19 declaration sheet that stated the three standard, government-issued questions about having a cough or testing positive in the last 14 days, he asked if I needed help comprehending the document I’d just signed, as if it was unique to the form you have to sign at every other establishment in the world right now. A lot about the interactions we had with him in this conversation alone were like this; he made three of us cry. His treatment of us was unacceptable. Judging by previous reviews in which his attitude consistently comes up and the way management always seems to reply and stick up for his awful treatment of guests (just as i expect them to do with this review), the only conclusion that can be reached as to how he still has a job, is that he is either an owner of the campsite or he is sleeping with one. If you still decide to stay here, I hope you have a great time; I hope even more that you don’t cross paths with this awful member of staff. The facilities and atmosphere provide a great base of operations for your trip, the site’s location relative to the beach being a specifically great feature...but none of that was worth the stress and anxiety he caused our entire group.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
rachf22 wrote a review Jan 2021
Newcastle, Australia11 contributions
Just returned from yet another annual camping trip with family and friends. The rain couldn’t dampen our spirit or the experience, is truly nature at its best. Kit and all the staff always make you feel welcome and always with a smile on their faces. Renovated bathroom facilities are great, as is Fuel cafe and appreciate being able to buy staples like ice, milk, food treats and firewood. Thanks guys, can’t wait to return
Read more
Date of stay: January 2021Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Yperlaan, General Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Hi Rachel! Thanks so much for your kind words, it's great to hear you had a wonderful time again! We certainly always enjoy your visits! Thanks for sharing your appreciation and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Cheers, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
Z_trip wrote a review Dec 2020
2 contributions
All campgrounds in Crescent Heads were full so we had no choice but they this place. The reviews seem good but as soon as soon as we arrived we couldn't believe what a dump it was. I don't have problems with a Bush camp but on our 5 months on the road we have not come across anything like this. There were 3 showers only in the women's bathroom and it was all a mess and did not feel clean at all. There is a camp kitchen but half of it is reserved to the many backpackers who work there. (Which also seems bizarre, so many backpackers work there..doing what?). I used it only once you wash up but the tap kept falling of. If you want to use the bbq you have to bring your own has bottle. The manager seems incredibly unfriendly, unhelpful and arrogant. Once you pay your site there's zero interest from him to help in any way. Powered site was $50 for a family of four. That's more than we paid on most national Park sites, which are a lot more cleaner and organised. Bush camp doesn't mean you can get away with a mess and faulty and dirty facilities. This camp site suits a 20 year old backpacker who doesn't realise there's way better out there and that probably explains the good reviews.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Yperlaan, General Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Hi there, Thank you for taking the time to write down your experiences, we appreciate your feedback. It’s a shame to hear we were a last resort for you, it makes me feel that maybe you weren’t overly excited about visiting us in the first place? But before I offer you my insights, I would like to encourage everyone to speak to us at the office immediately if you feel like something is amiss during your visit. We are always open to feedback and will do everything we can to resolve any issues. We are a very invested, highly motivated team and I am having trouble identifying with the description of a lack of interest. So I am sorry to hear you had that experience. Our facilities are cleaned every day and kept to high standards. What we offer in terms of facilities is very clearly described online, and we don’t think we make any promises we can’t keep. We have put a lot of work into the building to upgrade and refresh the building. To be extra clear though: yes, there is a central block with hot showers, normal toilets and hot water sinks for laundry & dishes and we clean it every day. And yes, sometimes you will have to wait in line. Our kitchen is an outdoor, covered seating area. We are not required to provide any cooking facilities but have provided a hot plate & gas barbecue for our guests’ convenience. Yes, you have to provide your own gas – this is also clearly stated on our website. The dishwashing sinks for all guests are actually located at the amenities block, I have adjusted the visibility of the signs in the kitchen to make sure no one else gets confused about this. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. Our private staff kitchen is for use by our very lovely, always changing body of internationals who join our volunteer program. I won’t explain our full operations and their work ethics here but am happy to say there is much more work being completed then can be judged from a quick glance. Kind regards, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
cmatthews712019 wrote a review Nov 2020
Newcastle, Australia198 contributions57 helpful votes
+1
I stayed here for 3 nights and paid a little extra for powered site. The camp sites are very large and you have plenty of privacy from neighbouring sites. The price is pretty good and location is about 50metres across the road from the beach and endless beach. There are hot/cold shower and kitchen facilities on site and also cold water bamboo shower and rain water tanks. The camp site is about a 10minute drive south from Crescent Head and near National parks. There are plenty of hidden gems and scenery if you are prepared to do a bit of walking. Great spot and was able to relax.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Yperlaan, General Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Hi there! Thanks so much for your review, it gives a terrific description of our campgrounds lay-out, facilities and surrounding activities! We're stoked to hear you had a relaxing time. Thanks for visiting and hope to see you again soon! Cheers, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
jtimmsOz wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia35 contributions65 helpful votes
The Waves is a v v special place - the entrance has such a lovey feel with the trees providing shade and everyone seemed incredibly chilled out and friendly. The use of trees and shrubs between campsites also provided great privacy. The cafe food has to be the standout which was incredible - you don't expect to have souve vide lamb, as well as polenta chips with foraged greens on a pea puree with a duck egg in a campsite let alone have it delivered looking beautifully and tasting amazing. We quizzed the cook and discovered he has cheffed at some of London's finest restaurants - Chez Bruce - including. So pls go and eat his food - it's BYO too. Possibly one of the nicest meals we have had all year. the only downside were the camp staff-seemingly thousands around but can only open the shop and reception for four hours a day and run by an really annoying Brit who was doing training for other staff and was incredibly dismissive about us. Not the best look guys! Also lots of promotion of sound music therapy but no pushing of the food which seemed utter madness to us.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Location
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Yperlaan, General Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 19 Feb 2021
Hi! Thanks for your review, we appreciate the compliments and the feedback. It’s great to know you felt our lively atmosphere straight away and made sure to stay around for a while longer. Getting people to slow down and relax is what we aim for! We sometimes still can’t believe the spectacular experience the amazing duo behind the Surf Fuel Cafe provide us with. It’s great to hear you wanted find out their story and are as impressed as we are every time! Upon check-in we mention all our on-site facilities, whether that’s our bathrooms, sinks for dishwashing, our huge recycling efforts, the on-site café or a one-of opportunity to experience a sound healing session. We usually take some extra time to stress the importance of recycling and when there is something special going on. And whilst we always mention the café and their amazing coffees & food, they actually just don’t need us to promote their work, as they simply rock it. Their reputation is excellent and how can it not be with reviews like yours?! As for our crew, I can say with 100% certainty that they are a very hard-working bunch of people. Maybe they just have so much fun at it, it doesn’t even look like work from the outside? The reason there are so many workers is simple: we offer a volunteer program for the very reason that it builds a wonderful community of people that get to live and work here. The office side of the business is not run by volunteers though, in there you just find my partner and myself. Every day of the year. At the time of your booking, we were actually understaffed for the office (hence the training) and falling behind on our communications. As management, we decided to change our procedures and focus on future bookings by being available for phone calls and emails instead of shop hours. The Brit you describe is probably the most hardworking of us all and it’s a shame you caught him at a bad time. I’m sure he did not mean to be dismissive and apologise that he made you feel that way. Hope this gives you a clearer insight into our operations and we will welcome you up here again soon. Cheers, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
Stav V wrote a review Oct 2020
South West Rocks, Australia134 contributions40 helpful votes
Day trip from home found us travelling south of Crescent Head toward Point Plomer. We found the camp ground and Surf Fuel Cafe. What a pleasant surprise. Light lunch of a bacon and egg roll and Pulled pork nachos. Enjoyed in the beautiful gardens. So relaxing. We'll be back. Thanks
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Yperlaan, General Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 23 Oct 2020
Hi there! How exciting to discover new places close to home! Thanks for sharing your experience and we hope to see you guys up here again soon! Cheers, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
Jared Melrose wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution1 helpful vote
An incredibly beautiful place to stay, relax and recharge. There is an abundance of wildlife and nature that surrounds each camp spot with picnic tables and fire pits. The seamless transition from nature to buildings presents an outside bush kitchen which is always clean along with the epic bathrooms. There are powered and unpowered sites, dorms and a fantastic cafe, 'Surf Fuel Cafe', which makes everything in house and has great coffee and a delicious modern menu! The best thing is the warm and inviting managment and staff that run the place. Kit and Anna are always so helpful and super friendly. We've have been returning for the past few years and every year is filled with making wonderful memories in a beautiful place. Thanks Waves Crew! Jared Melrose Campbell
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Location
Service
Helpful
Share
Jonathon Dustow wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
We have become annual visitors and guests at Wave Camground dropping in and camping one to two times every year for the last 5 years. The area is amazing with beautiful beaches within walking distance. The surrounding nature which you he t to camp in is so beautiful and the camping style really helps you connect with nature, slow down and feel inspired. The staff are always so helpful with any requests and go the extra mile to make sure we are happy, feel comfortable, know the best things to do in the local area. The managers Kit & Anna make you feel so at home and it’s such a special place to visit and spend time at Waves. We will be back with our friends and family as often as we can. Thanks for everything! Jonny Dustow
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Y, Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 6 Mar 2020
Hi Jonny, thanks so much for your kind words! We love having you guys pop by and know how much you enjoy the nature & surf nearby. Can't wait to see you again soon! Cheers, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
Amanda W wrote a review Mar 2020
Sydney, Australia2 contributions
I booked the 4 bed bunk room at the Waves campground for a weekend with my sons. The bunk room is very basic, and everything metallic is rusty, the ladders to the top bunks were loose and possibly unsafe. The kitchen was filthy and seemed not have been used for a long time and did not seem to have been checked before our visit. The cutlery, plates and glasses we were meant to use were filthy. When I went to tell the manager that I was disappointed in the cleanliness of the kitchen. He was rude and mocking and told me that I could leave if I wanted to and that I should expect to wash everything before using it. I was not told that I needed to bring a gas bottle. We tried using the camp kitchen instead but this seemed to be mostly for the staff and we felt extremely unwelcome here. Overall the feeling is that nothing is being repaired or cared for and it all felt run down. We were extremely disappointed and rather ruined the weekend away with my sons.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Annemieke Y, Manager at Waves Campground
Responded 4 Mar 2020
Hi Amanda, Thank you for pointing out an important maintenance job and we would like to let you know that we have taken action immediately to ensure that all ladders are fixed securely to the bunks. The Bunkhouse has indeed a very basic setup for the rooms and we generally describe it as ‘camping with a roof’ to our guests. This means that the building and kitchen areas are subject to outdoor elements we face on a bush campground (i.e. there will be dust, mice, mosquitos, rust, tree roots, etc.). However, unlike our camping guests our Bunkhouse guests have access to a fully equipped – outdoor – kitchen that can cater for up to 70 people (including hot plate cooker/fridges/cups/crockery/cutlery/pans/etc.). We do not agree with your perception of the kitchen being ‘filthy’ that day. We will give the cupboards under the workbenches a good clean after hearing your feedback, but all the tables, benches, fridges, shelves, microwave and any other usage surfaces were clean and acceptable for the outdoor kitchen area that we provide. When we went to the kitchen to inspect the problems together, we certainly never meant to be rude by pointing out that it is possible to cook with electric instead of gas. It is clearly stated on our website that gas bottles are not provided (for camping or Bunkhouse guests) and we would not have told you anything different. I was present at the camp kitchen when you and your sons were too, and you seemed to be very welcome to enjoy the campfire that evening without any trouble while they finished having dinner together with other guests they just met which is a standard interaction between our guest & crew. We are sorry that you feel like your weekend got ruined, but given that one of your comments was that ‘we did not inform you beforehand that there would be mosquitos’ we are very certain that we would have never been able to meet your list of requirements. We offered you to leave because we know that bush camping is not for everyone and we don’t take offence when people try something new but don’t enjoy it. We do not appreciate the fact that you took us up on this offer and then tried to re-enter ‘your room’ after office hours, when you failed to find accommodation elsewhere. Given that we allowed you back in the room for the night I think that we have been very patient and accommodating hosts this weekend. Kind regards, Anna + Waves Crew
Read more
Previous
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesCrescent Head
NUMBER OF ROOMS
60
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Campground
Which popular attractions are close to Waves Campground?
Nearby attractions include Goolawah Regional Park (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waves Campground?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, paid wifi, and breakfast.
What food & drink options are available at Waves Campground?
Guests can enjoy breakfast, barbeque facilities, and an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Waves Campground?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.