We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wollongbar Motel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wollongbar Motel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

156 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Wollongbar Motel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2015

this motel rescued our golf tour of 16 men coming from Noosa in Qld , when only two days notice of our other accommodation cancelled our booking after 2months in advance booking and paid for, Thank you for the rescue we do this trip each year and if we like the area we plan to come back. with such dissappointmant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ronrothers
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Glad we could accommodate you guys, appreciated your custom. We cater for several golf trips each year with guests playing at Byron and Ocean Shores' great courses. We also provide an early BBQ breakfast to provide sustenance for the challenging day ahead. Hope to see you guys next year, Thanks Craig

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 April 2015

We called here recently for an overnight stop. It was a Sunday so we paid the rate that they displayed on the web which was $139. What great value. I understand it is quite a bit more on Fri/Sat nights. Big room with separate toilet. There is access to the beach via a locked gate. It is a short walk...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George N
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Appreciate the review George. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and Byron. Our location in the Bay is always appreciated. Hope to see you again soon. Thanks Craig

Warrington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 April 2015

I cannot believe that in this day and age of 'supply an demand' that motels and hotels cannot provide a decent WiFi service. The room was fine but unfortunately the weather wasn't so we decided to update our contacts with the UK as we are currently travelling round Australia for 5 weeks and each day we let our family know...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Businessman127
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you had trouble with our WiFi service. Looking at your other Australian reviews it looks like you didn't have much luck either at other accommodation venues so I'm hoping it wasn't just a simple IT problem. We added and upgraded an extra WiFi site at our venue early last year. We also provide our guests free and...

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 20 March 2015

This Motel was a beautifully appointed motel. The hosts were happy, friendly and very helpful with bookings and local information.The room was spacious and decor was beachy and cool. A microwave and toaster was supplied in the room as were kettle and crockery. You could be as self contained as you wanted. But the local cafes and shops where less...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathryn V
melbourne
Reviewed 17 March 2015

access beach at back of hotel, walk to shops. room was clean upon arrival but staying for 6 nights cleaners didn't vacuum the entire time reception said need to ask for vacuuming. Teabags not replenished 2 days in row. Simple & adequate, manager helpful when issues with laundry. Enjoyed our stay

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LoveubudMelbourne
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewed 21 February 2015

I went with a handful of friends all in our 20s. We wanted something a step above the hostiles that still wasn't too pricey and Wollongbar was PERFECT! The staff was beyond amazing. So helpful and nice! Everything they had was for us if we wanted from games to beach towels. We also used the barbecue facilities around the pool...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Freddy A
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 February 2015

The rooms are basic but clean and spacious with very good facilities. The couple who manage the motel were very friendly and accommodating. The pool was lovely and there is a BBQ area free to use for guests. There are shops and restaurants within walking distance, as is the beach. A lovely little stopover!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sumo284
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Appreciate the review. Happy to see you enjoyed Byron. Our BBQ, pool and landscaped areas have recently had major renovations and receiving greater use and compliments. Cheers, Craig

Krakow, Poland
Reviewed 12 February 2015

Perfect location I have spent only one night there. It has perfect location, few minutes walk from Byron Bay center. Room has every thing you need for good sleep and they are clean. Very nice and friendly check-in. The only disadvantage was noise from the street in the morning, so you should get room further form the street. Generally great...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maciek M
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Thanks for the review, glad you appreciated our location which is always well noted. Not only are we a short stroll to town but we have a private beach access out the front of our property as well. Hope to see you again. Cheers, Craig

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 January 2015

We stayed at the Wollongbar overnight recently and were delighted with the experience. For a value hotel (3 star), this property is in excellent condition and very well run. Friendly check-in, large clean room with balcony, and direct access to the beach! The motel is a five minute walk from the main shopping / eating area in Byron so location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Caroline F
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Hi Caroline Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the great review. Our location is a big plus for us. See you again when your next back in Byron. Thanks Craig

australia
Reviewed 26 January 2015

Very very good little motel,stayed this weekend,rooms and bedding great,asked for early checkin and got it. Pool area good,short walk to beach. Short 2 min walk to town and shopping Would recommend to family and friends no problems.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank swbw
Craig D, Manager at Wollongbar Motel, responded to this review

Appreciate the great review. We enjoy a top location in Byron. Hope to see you again. Thanks Craig

20 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
0.6 km away
Byron Central Apartments
Byron Central Apartments
#11 of 32 in Byron Bay
234 reviews
0.5 km away
Beach Suites
Beach Suites
#4 of 32 in Byron Bay
178 reviews
0.5 km away
Bay Motel
Bay Motel
#17 of 32 in Byron Bay
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Waves Byron Bay
Waves Byron Bay
#12 of 32 in Byron Bay
295 reviews
2.2 km away
Byron Sunseeker Motel Byron Bay
0.1 km away
BreakFree Eco Beach
BreakFree Eco Beach
#9 of 32 in Byron Bay
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Wollongbar Motel

Address: 19 - 21 Shirley St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: $140 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wollongbar Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wollongbar Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wollongbar Hotel Byron Bay
Wollongbar Motel Byron Bay
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wollongbar Motel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles Tourist014, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from Shirley Street”
 of 5 bubbles 314graemer, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“ground floor to the rear is good”
 of 5 bubbles Gigglehat, 4 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles 651dougw, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for downstairs if you have kids or mobility issues.”
 of 5 bubbles LorraineK149, 24 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5