We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Planula B&B Retreat

Lot 1, Melaleuca Drive PO Box 1753, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (22)
Room & Suite (4)
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#4 of 8 B&Bs in Byron Bay
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Planula Retreat offers beautiful accommodation set on over 50 acres amongst tropical landscaped gardens just over 3km from the centre of Byron Bay. You will love the relaxed atmosphere created in this modern B&B style retreat. We are the only true remaining oasis that close to town! Unwind on the extensive decks around the house overlooking the frog pond and enjoy the lush gardens. How about listening to the birds and frogs over a BBQ at night? Extensive continental breakfasts are included in all rates. FREE wireless fast broadband everywhere. Friendly hosts and great recommendations.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Canoeing
Airport transportation
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Parking
Wifi
Hiking
Horseback riding
Fishing
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Sun terrace
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Safe
Iron
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German
138Reviews3Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 85
  • 35
  • 12
  • 4
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
DeniseM wrote a review Oct 2019
Sydney, Australia228 contributions75 helpful votes
Our room was nothing like the photos on their website which we felt was false advertising. We had booked for 3 nights but left after one. Whilst our garden room was large, it was extremely basic and tired. We had no wardrobe (only a timber hanging frame) no coat hangers (I had to ask for some), no tissues or water glasses. The bathroom was extremely small & tired with many repairs needed. At night there were no outside lights and we had to use our phone light to get into our room. We were expecting a cooked breakfast (as B&B's provide unless otherwise stated) but were greeted with a very basic continental breakfast instead . Wandy, our hostess was very sweet & apologetic when we told her we were not happy BUT when we did leave the following morning her husband Tim approached us and was extremely rude & aggressive. It was not for us !
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Would not recommend
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim H, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat
Responded 30 Oct 2019
Hi Denise4554, Of course we were disappointed that you did not enjoy our B&B. Unfortunately, not everybody enjoys our place, but many people do. Our web site has a walk-through where each and every room can be visited and for each room there is a list with ammenities and services that we provide. Our web site also mentions that we serve a continental breakfast, not a cooked one. And an extensive one at that, with freshly baked muffins, plenty of fresh fruits, mini yoghurts, fruit juice, three different kinds of breads, three different cereals, a choice of spreads and more. The guest kitchen has all kinds of different size glasses, mugs and cups and offers quality coffee (decaf, instant and ground) and a choice of at least 10 different teas at any time of the day. The tissues and coat hangers are items we normally provide and we immediately brought you some when you brought this to our attention - an oversight. We offer our guests a retreat from the hustle and bustle of Byron Bay in a natural setting and try hard to stay away from a standard motel room of which there are many. We are not a 5 star resort. What was most upsetting was that you felt the need to call our place 'disgusting' and call me 'deceptive' several times over the phone at 7 pm at night, insisting you would stay for a night. This was a few hours after you had checked in earlier that day and we had a couple of friendly chats in the afternoon. I had no idea you felt this way. I would have been more than happy to find you an alternative as we really do prefer people that enjoy everything we have to offer. The condescending, abusive tirade was completely unnecessary. As you said:"It was not for us". You made that abundantly clear....
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Christina F wrote a review Sept 2019
Dakabin, Australia256 contributions26 helpful votes
+1
As we followed the GPS we went down the dirt road and found a little oasis hidden away. The owner were friendly and welcoming. We went up to our room and just loved the feel of the place. Our room was like a attic with a deck, There was no TV and I understand why it would ruin the serenity of the place. There was unlimited Wifi so we could still watch things on our tablets phones etc. The price included a continental breakfast, hand baked blueberry muffins and a great choice of beverages, cereals, and toppings. Breakfast outside was just gorgeous with birds. High recommend for anyone wanting to get away from the noise and traffic.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Has good accessibility for wheelchairs in the down stairs rooms
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
MrEggieLo wrote a review Oct 2018
Port Macquarie, Australia69 contributions14 helpful votes
My wife & I stayed here for our wedding anniversary. Great location but above all best value for money in Byron Bay. Breakfast included in the package is a great bonus. Wendy was an excellent host who went out her way to accomodate for our needs. We will definitely come back here again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim H, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat
Responded 3 Oct 2018
Hi MrEggieLo, Thank you for your lovely review. It was great meeting you both! I really enjoyed the chats we had as well... Hopefully we have you come and stay again soon. Kind Regards, Wandy & Tim
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
lilrockalita wrote a review Aug 2018
Sydney, Australia31 contributions15 helpful votes
Wandy and Tim are very hospitable people. The BnB is very lovely - I had a queen room downstairs with a luxury spa which faced onto a forrest area - this is one of the most beautiful things I have ever experienced. Having a shower and looking out towards nature. Simply lovely and romantic, even if it was just for one! Each morning, breakfast is served and you can mingle with other guests or have your own privacy. Very lovely. Right next to Temple Byron ❤️
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
CDNTRAVELLERS2 wrote a review July 2018
Lisbon, Portugal391 contributions304 helpful votes
We stayed here 4 nights. The lodge is located out of town with not much around it which meant it was nice and quiet. The rooms were OK....simple and maybe a little shabby for lack of a better word. You have use of the living area in the lodge and a full stocked kitchen, which we used to cook our own meals at night. We used their diving package and they hooked us up with Sundive Byron Bay. The diving company was very good, one guide for the three of us, except on the one day they added a fourth to our group which worked out well. The diving itself was surprisingly good. The owners and staff at the lodge were nice. I just don't know if I would stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2018
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Jesamuels wrote a review Apr 2018
Toowoomba, Australia34 contributions34 helpful votes
+1
Me and my partner stayed three nights in this resort. Luckily for the first two nights we were the only people staying here so we had the deck and kitchen to our selves. It felt like being at a school camp heading up to the kitchen area each morning. Absolutely beautiful and peaceful! Lovely little quite spot hidden in the trees. I loved staying here and would definitely come again!! Only down fall is the bed 😢 two singles pushed together with a big divide in the middle doesn’t make it very romantic.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2018Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Noammica wrote a review Feb 2018
Cascais, Portugal21 contributions5 helpful votes
A nice quiet small home hotel located a bit outside of the center of Byron bay . Close to the best bakery in the area of Byron bay - The Farm that is also a great restaurant . Rooms are nice and it’s like staying in the forest with lizards and lots of birds.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2018Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
somerville78 wrote a review Jan 2018
Brisbane, Australia46 contributions7 helpful votes
Planula is the perfect location, far enough away from the tourist, but close enough to the beaches; restaurants and attractions. Our room had an outside access which was nice and private for us. The shared kitchen and breakfast in the morning meant we could talk to other guess and share stories. Wendy and Tim made our stay welcoming and we will defiantly be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2018
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
kennedlc wrote a review Dec 2017
Brisbane, Australia11 contributions6 helpful votes
If you want to recharge and escape the city lights, stay here! Lovely and warm hosts and Planula felt like a home away from home. Plenty of wildlife to see and hear around the property. Thanks Wandy (and Phil!)
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim H, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat
Responded 29 Dec 2017
Thank you for you review! We are so happy you enjoyed our little hide-away and the wildlife. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Wandy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Renee Y wrote a review Dec 2017
1 contribution
Excellent service and economical prices; Planula is a fantastic B&B retreat just outside of the Byron Bay hub. All staff are very very helpful and thoughtful in looking after their guests in the lead up to and during their stay. They readily arrange accommodation and activity packages and provide local recommendations. Facilities are clean and comfortable with your basics like WiFi and air con covered. Communal lounge with TV, kitchen and decks are also available for guests to use. Would definitely stay with Planula again and recommend to those looking to stay close to but not in the middle of the hustle-bustle of Byron Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Tim H, Owner at Planula B&B Retreat
Responded 29 Dec 2017
Thank you Renee for taking the time to write a review and a very accurate description of our B&B in a nutshell! We look forward having you back and doing some more diving! Many thanks, Wandy
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Byron Bay area.
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
5
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PLANULA B&B RETREAT (AU$124): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Byron Bay) - Photos of B&B - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Planula B&B Retreat
Which popular attractions are close to Planula B&B Retreat?
Nearby attractions include Circus Arts Byron Bay (1.0 km), Byron Thai Massage School (1.0 km), and Thomgallery (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Planula B&B Retreat?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Planula B&B Retreat?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Planula B&B Retreat?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Planula B&B Retreat?
Conveniently located restaurants include OCA - Organic Cuisine and Arts, Superbowls, and La Bottega by Peppe Pizza.
Does Planula B&B Retreat have airport transportation?
Yes, Planula B&B Retreat offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Planula B&B Retreat?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, and Dutch.
Is Planula B&B Retreat accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.