Waves Byron Bay
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Waves Byron Bay

35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Traveller (54)
Room & Suite (36)
Waves Byron Bay
Pool & Beach (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#4 of 9 motels in Byron Bay
4.6 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
Waves Byron Bay is a 20 room Stylish Boutique Hotel located in the heart of Byron Bay on the Beach. Guests enjoy a high standard of amenities. All rooms include Air-Conditioning, King Size Bath and separate Shower,STD/ISD phones,Plasma TV's, Austar, DVD Player, Stereo System, Clock Radio, Wireless Internet, Electronic Room Safes, Ironing Board and Iron, Mini Bar and Tea and Coffee making facilities. Secure undercover basement parking. Room rates include a complimentary 'light start to the day' of locally sourced muffins along with coffee, tea, orange juice and fruit.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Hiking
Babysitting
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Express check-in / check-out
Car park
Wifi
Complimentary tea
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Dry cleaning
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French

Location

35 Lawson St, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Ballina Byron Airport
22.2 km
See all flights
Lismore Airport
40.1 km
See all flights
425Reviews2Q+A74Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 171
  • 154
  • 58
  • 22
  • 20
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Travelercindym wrote a review Jan 2020
Melbourne, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Waves
Very very nice reception staff.
So friendly and helpful
They have towels chairs and boogie boards for the beach at no charge.
They have fresh brewed coffee and baked muffins along with juice every morning at no charge also- beautiful.

We were welcomed with an upgrade ( felt like royalty thank you :) ♥️).
Had a large room with 2 x sofas and a bed and table and chairs.
Also a massive balcony.
Bar fridge at very good prices in my opinion.
Bathroom a good size and basic amenities provided.
Bed quite comfortable.
Old school blanket and sheets not a doona. ( I’m so hoping that this is so they can wash the blanket between customers, I know doonas are not 😏. It’s probably not true but would melt my heart if it was.
PERFECT LOCATION.
Really great place to stay.
Beach is a hop skip and a jump.
Shops and restaurants at your door.

I’d take my own bathroom goods - from my experience it would suit a man they aren’t as fussed usually, but not great in my hair. Excellent it’s there though.
Maybe at room tidy it could all be topped up each day I think, some is but not all. Hair dryer is provided.

Aircon and ceiling fan installed ( is quite old and I can’t help myself, I washed the filters out as like most hotels not sure it was ever done before: think in humid hot places should be monthly to get the best from the unit.

Bar fridge isn’t re stocked each day (so housekeeping should be reminded to do this perhaps, you lose money if it’s not there to impulse or drunken buy lol)

Probably my biggest suggestion is to clean that balcony well it needs it. All the edges around windows and the tiles.
Remove the ashtray for us non smokers and maybe a lounge chair or two and a plant to give it a great vibe. It just is not appealing to sit out on unless you are a smoker, currently. A bit of a waste.

Above all it’s a great place to stay with parking and great location.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Andy P wrote a review Sept 2020
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I was hoping for more from this hotel than it delivered.

The first thing that seemed ‘off’ was to be advised that arriving between 5-6pm was viewed as ‘out of hours’ and that possibly there would be no one there to meet me. This didn’t eventuate in the end but wasn’t the best first image of the place.

On arrival I was provided with a note advising that there wouldn’t be a chambermaid service to tidy or clean my room each day during my stay.

The lobby offered free coffee every morning at 8am from a Nespresso type machine. Only undone by a tray of very overripe/blackened bananas which you could apparently help yourself to.

My room had a small balcony with no view or furniture on it. Meaning you were unable to sit outside if you wanted.

I would say that the hotel is reasonable but lacks personality or a sense of the patron being put first.

My stay made me feel why I understand why many Australians prefer to holiday abroad.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne U wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
On the positive side the hotel is brilliantly located - close to many top restaurants, and minutes to the main beach at byron and the walk to wategos. The down side was the offhanded receptionist we first encountered and the first room we were given. We had booked a deluxe suite with outdoor furniture and a small courtyard. What we were given instead was a dark room with a 30cm wide balcony which was totally useless. (room 5). I complained and asked when the room we had booked would be vacated as we were told there was ‘only one deluxe suite availble’ in the whole place. We were told we would have to wait for two days 2 days at which time we moved to the proper suite. It clearly was not the case that this was the only deluxe suite because when we eventually moved tonthe correct room (room 1) there were clearly 2 adjacent rooms with courtyards like ours.

There was no apology for the wrong room being given due to overbooking more than likely, in fact the people at the front desk avoided making eye contact!!

Also on the website it said coffee and muffins would be provided for breakfast. The coffee machine was there as were overripe blackened bananas suitable for making banana cake with. I understand that during Covid you cannot offer unwrapped food but surely if you cannot source individually wrapped muffins you can make a point to provide fresh bananas!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carolyn N wrote a review Nov 2022
Thorneside, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My Sister and I booked a deluxe suite as a couple of days chill out following my Son’s wedding in Toowoomba.
The room was quite disappointing for the cost - it was dark, there was a DVD player which would have been more appropriate to have had a microwave, a lack of utensils and who uses bar soaps these days - liquid hand wash would have been more appropriate.
The cleaning staff were not up standard - leaving our used bath mat wet and still on the floor, and the bar soap was not replaced or even cleaned from the scum underneath
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Viviane R wrote a review Jan 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked my January holiday expecting a beautiful stay. The fridge was so dirty I had to clean it myself, the teaspoons were so dirty I had to get new ones. Nobody had bothered to wash them. The glass door was dirty and had not been cleaned. When I got back to my room the beds weren’t made and I was informed they were short staffed, it would only take a few seconds to make my own bed. I asked if I should have been informed and I was told no, it’s not a big deal I should make it myself. But it was not a big deal for taking my money in full and yet the poor service was due to staff with covid and I am supposed to understand. Well I don’t understand why hygiene and cleanliness should be my issue and I should still have to wear the price tag of a premium holiday in Byron Bay.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Expedition620701 wrote a review June 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Waves was amazing. Easy check in, we got there quite early before check in and were allowed to use the free parking provided underneath the hotel until we could check in at lunch time when our room was ready. The room was huge as we got upgraded, they had the sofa bed already made for our 2.5yo. Huge balcony with little views of the ocean, everything was nice and clean. It is in such a great location, easy, less than 5 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants. Will definitely stay again next time.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MazMar735 wrote a review Oct 2020
Sydney, Australia
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Our recent stay at Waves was very disappointing.
It turned out that there was only one garden style room as promoted in their advertising We got No 8. In need of refurbishment, old hard bed, ground floor close to main road to lighthouse, a very tiny narrow balcony with no seating,
It was hidden behind palm trees so very dark and almost depressing but at least it was a large room. The staff were quite polite but any time I mentioned a problem it was brushed off with a smile.
Complimentary coffee from pod machine was only at breakfast and the muffins were replaced with overripe old bananas. Instant coffee etc in room. Security was good. Roller door to garage was broken but they employed a security guard until it got fixed which was great as Byron is very busy and filled with a variety of people. Location was good too except that main beach nearby was totally washed away in the weeks before we got there. We will try somewhere else next time.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 25 Oct 2020
Hi MazMar735, thank you for taking the time to review us, but a few inaccuracies were quoted. We have 5 garden views on the ground floor , not one,, and definitely not quoted how many on any of our sites. We also do not quote balcony seating as that would be inaccurate. We have outdoor seating on 3 other room types that you did not choose. Complimentary coffee and muffins have been offered complimentary to guests for over 10 years. We stopped the muffin service given the restrictions put in place during CoVid which will be resumed as soon as we have been given the go ahead from the Industry watchdog, given they are not individually sealed. I do hope regardless of your concerns that you may visit us again in the future. Regards The Team@WavesByronBay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Donna U wrote a review May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed in room 05 1 night $306.00. I rang direct. Upon checking in the room we noticed it was dark and dingy, screen to balcony was filthy and covered in vegetation (trees) to the main street near the roundabout. The price did not reflect the age of the room, cleanliness was poor (photos taken) I was locked in the bathroom as the double doors were broken when we closed them to have a shower (opp front door) couldn't open as came off tracks and my husband struggled to open one side to get me out. The bed was old and offered no support. The lights were such a low wattage that we couldn't see to read. The lounge had marks on it and the carpet was filthy especially in the corners and around the skirtings. When we raised the issue when we checked in the receptionist reported it had a "spring clean" yesterday. I filled out the feedback form and when we booked out again we were told the room had been spring cleaned. I posted the feedback form to Waves Management Group PTY LTD ACN 117819342 Corporate Office P O Box 2225 Ascot QLD A007. No response I then rang 07 38683334 listed on the feedback form.. phone disconnected. I then rang the property supervisor again to get the correct details.. she was going to ring me back as she didn't have the details !, only an email but would not give me the email address... said she would ring me back... that didn't happen either so I rang back again 4/5/2021 top get the details, will now email. The PM wanted to know what I wanted...
I do not recommend this accommodation especially at the price we were charged of $306.00.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 05 on main road and roundabout outside.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waves Resorts, General Manager at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 9 May 2021
Hi Donna, thanks for taking the time to review us, but as we are immersed in private negotiation I am somewhat surprised at this public forum. Our housekeeping and maintenance team assessed your room upon your comments and found it to be perfectly clean inline with current extended Co-vid cleaning requirements. Indeed I believe you did have an issue with the a bathroom door but as there are 2 sliding doors this should not have been a problem until maintenance resolved it. Thank you for including our Head Office details but our Managers are responsible onsite. Notwithstanding this, we did in good faith offer you a credit of another nights accommodation which you have declined. Our staff pride themselves on Waves Byron Bay and their service, and are disappointed you were not 100% happy with your recent stay.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
cecoz wrote a review Apr 2021
australia
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Good location however the hotel is poorly maintained. Our bathroom and our front door had hushed cracks in them. The bathroom had not been cleaned properly which was especially worrying as we stayed there 2 days after corona virus restrictions were removed from the area.
Bathroom was filthy plus they did not come and clean our room one day and the bathroom stand of sewerage.
Fruit and muffins were nice fro breakfast but otherwise poor form
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Waves Resorts, Guest Services / Front Office at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 17 Sept 2021
Hi cecoz, I do wish you had contacted our Reception about your concerns as we have an excellent Housekeeping and reception team evidenced by all of the fabulous reviews, however May was a month of continuing reburishments in most of our rooms so I'm sure you will be loving the new look rooms. Social media is probably not the best forum for fixing inhouse concerns. Regards The Team@WavesByronBay
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Toni C wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel cancelled my booking. Called to enquire, and they said they double booked the room despite me receiving confirmation of my booking and receiving cancellation some weeks after booking. Turned out I got a cheaper price so my booking was cancelled due to demand, and people paying a higher rate. Disappointing. I will not book through them again.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from WavesByronBay, Guest Relations Manager at Waves Byron Bay
Responded 29 Mar 2020
HI tonic, Thanks for sending the review and giving us a chance to let you know what the Hospitality business is coping with right now to the Covid-19. In all good faith we decided to honour ALL deposits regardless of whether their cancellation policy allowed this or not, in the form of a credit. As all festivals were cancelled we put in priority any of these guests for bookings when festivals were re-scheduled. Byron Bay was not informed of the new dates and we were flooded with online bookings, which does automatically generate a return confirmation. We still believe we have morally done the right thing by honouring all of the previous guests as we had confirmed with them. I hope you can understand and appreciate our reasoning during this difficult time, and hope you were able to secure other accommodation.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Melissa F asked a question Aug 2020
Has waves got a pool
Answer from Yvonne U
Sydney, Australia281 contributions73 helpful votes
No - my husband used the Byron Bay pool which was 1500 steps round trip from the hotel.
Answer from WavesByronBay
Brisbane, Australia9 contributions3 helpful votes
Hi Natalie, we will organise the linen for you. Looking forward to welcoming you at Waves.
Ben11 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Brisbane, Australia9 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Our room backed onto the lane behind and was very quiet. Other people in our group commented their room wasn’t so quiet."
Read full review
Esperanza0908 wrote a tip July 2023
Sydney, Australia75 contributions13 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you own a big 4WD, the height limit for the basement parking is 2.03 metres and the parking spaces are very narrow. "
Read full review
shellybellybuster wrote a tip Mar 2023
Penang Island, Malaysia56 contributions38 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"On-site parking is available. If you like a poolside experience then this hotel is not for you"
Read full review
Carolyn Burcham wrote a tip Dec 2021
Orange, Australia512 contributions164 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"I was there at the busiest time & we all had to wear masks. It did not stop up us from seeing how lovely Byron Bay had become after having"
Read full review
Donna U wrote a tip May 2021
1 contribution3 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Room 05 on main road and roundabout outside."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Byron Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$227 - AU$334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
waves byron bay hotel byron bay, waves hotel byron bay
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

WAVES BYRON BAY (AU$227): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Waves Byron Bay
Which popular attractions are close to Waves Byron Bay?
Nearby attractions include Lets Go Surfing Byron Bay (0.10 km), Byron Bay (0.2 km), and Craig Parry Photography (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waves Byron Bay?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and dry cleaning.
Which room amenities are available at Waves Byron Bay?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Waves Byron Bay?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Waves Byron Bay?
Yes, free parking and a parking garage are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waves Byron Bay?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manna Haven, Chihuahua, and Dip.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waves Byron Bay?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.
Is Waves Byron Bay accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Byron Bay HotelsByron Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Byron BayHotels near Waves Byron Bay
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars