We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

489 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 439: English reviews
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 July 2016

The hippie beach themed hostel is perfect for those looking for a quirky stay. There is a fun, easy going and friendly atmosphere and staff were nice. The on-sight cafe was super and did great meal deals all day-perfect for backpackers! The common spaces were lovely and rooms spacious and clean with lockers. The other options for accommodation looked great-I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy-Rose96
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review Amy, we are so glad to hear you enjoyed the hostel and staying with us. Please come back again some time! Happy travels :)

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Arts factory is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. It is absolutely great and I loved the cabins next to the lake. The atmosphere is relaxed, the staff is super friendly, the rooms are clean and price is good. I'd definitely recommend this hostel!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lucypearson1
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and get the positive feedback for our team! Please come back and stay again some time! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 10 July 2016 via mobile

Arts Factory is the best hostel I've stayed in so far. It has a really relaxed atmosphere and all the staff are friendly. The cafe has good food and there's hammocks, a swimming pool and a little lake in the communal area. If I didn't already have other things booked I would extend my stay and definitely want to come...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zara B
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your positive review Zara, very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, please come back again sometime. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

The arts factory has character. It provided a clean room.We stayed in rectangular prism # 9. Good service at the right price. Loo's and showers a little grotty. Quite a few drunks feeling the need to speak loudly until early hours although topics of conversations quite humorous. Cafeteria great value and friendly staff. Must be fun when the brewery is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mick B
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Mick, we are glad yo hear you enjoyed your stay. We will pass on the feedback to the night team and housekeeping, as it sounds like there is room for improvement in these areas. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

Rocked up solo on a Friday and stayed in the 10 mix dorm room to meet some people for 5 days. Best decision I've made!! Every night at this hostel was unique! Full of energy/life and very talented musicians. This hostel definitely has that hippy chill vibe, flexible rules and a sense of community. Wish I never left!!! 10 min...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Karina K
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Karina, so glad you enjoyed you time with us. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

THE ARTS FACTORY.should be renamed paradise.vidited a few years ago and was blown away.first impression was "ewww a hippie commun" then I arrived.tucked away in beautiful byron bay this is the ideal place for backpackers to stop and relax. I stayed in the camp area and never felt more welcome.evening entertainment was good but it's better to just chill with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl L
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us Carl, we hope to host you again some time. Happy travels :)

Reviewed 17 June 2016 via mobile

Place was very nice and clean. Close to town and there's a free bus that takes u around. People are very friendly at the arts factory. Very relaxing. Very nature. I love the set up of the hostel. Stayed for three days and it's affordable. Toilets are clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juanita H
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Juanita, so glad you enjoyed your stay and it seemed to be positive all round for you! Happy travels :)

Reviewed 9 June 2016

I stayed at this hostel almost 10 years ago and had an amazing experience. It felt like family. So 10 years later, I decided to return. Unfortunately, I feel the vibe is not the same as it used to be. It is now owned by Nomads World (I remember it was independently owned the first time I stayed). The hostel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gabasaurus
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to write a review Gabasaurus! Plus great to have you as a return guest. Sorry to hear you feel it is not the same vibe as it used to be. Correct that it is now owned by nomads, and you are right, it was owned by a family before that. Many of the staff and...

Jakarta, Indonesia
Reviewed 22 May 2016

The reason why I was going to ByronBay is because i want to learn how to surf. First, I just planned to stay at Byron Bay for one night, but after me and my friend arrived, we just fell in love with this city, which famous for surfing and weed! Lol. So we decided to stay one more night. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arichi11
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Arichi, so glad to read your review and read that you enjoyed your stay at the Arts Factory.The big tent you are talking about is our big teepee that sleeps 10 guests, and the very best thing about it in winter is that it has a wood fire stove to keep you toasty warm! While we do charge guests...

Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewed 15 May 2016 via mobile

All the vibes of a hippie commune but none of the morals. If all you want to do smoke dope then this is perfect for you. I stayed at the campsite and found myself camping on an overcrowded over priced piece of dirt. The bathrooms and kitchen areas are both dirty and no one seems to take any responsibility for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank 854Jane854
artsfactory_13, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jane, Thanks for writing a review. We don't permit people to smoke dope at the hostel, but as we are on five acres, if there is not a manager around they light up. But it is ot something we condone and guests caught smoking are asked to leave. We do clean the bathrooms and kitchens 3 times per day,...

170 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (152)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (88)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Byron Bay hotels
1.0 km away
Cape Byron YHA
Cape Byron YHA
#5 of 64 in Byron Bay
397 reviews
0.8 km away
Nomads Byron Bay
Nomads Byron Bay
#33 of 64 in Byron Bay
376 reviews
0.6 km away
Backpackers Inn on the Beach at Byron Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Backpackers Holiday Village
1.3 km away
Byron Beach Resort
Byron Beach Resort
#6 of 64 in Byron Bay
447 reviews
1.0 km away
Byron Bay YHA
Byron Bay YHA
#24 of 64 in Byron Bay
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Address: Skinners Shoot Rd | Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Byron Shire > Byron Bay
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Arts Factory Backpackers Hotel Byron Bay
The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge Byron Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Caloundra, Queensland, Australia
19 days ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Private rooms were available if you want privacy, but probably not worth the extra $$”
E7104UHemmab, 19 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The common areas can get quite noisy at night”
Merysapemu, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Book ahead if you want your own room”
405chrisbbb, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't think it makes a lot of difference, all the rooms are on the most quiet locations possible of the building.”
rinkedehond, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dorms are comfy and conveniently located near restrooms.”
EddieWren, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5