The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge

Skinners Shoot Rd Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Traveller (238)
Panorama of the 6 Bed Dorm at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
360
Panoramas (34)
No words.
Room & Suite (152)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
AU$99
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#6 of 12 hostels in Byron Bay
3.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Budget
Languages Spoken
English, Dutch, German, Italian
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Pool
Bar / lounge
Bicycle rental
Game room
Shuttle bus service
BBQ facilities
Parking
Paid wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Restaurant
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Board games / puzzles
Baggage storage
Picnic area
Shared bathroom
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Express check-in / check-out
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Safe
Seating area
Kitchenette
Room types
Non-smoking rooms

Location

Skinners Shoot Rd Arts Factory Village, Byron Bay, New South Wales 2481 Australia
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 68 out of 100
68
Ballina Byron Airport
21.7 km
See all flights
Lismore Airport
39.1 km
See all flights
857Reviews9Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 212
  • 145
  • 89
  • 82
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Mary B wrote a review Mar 2020
London, United Kingdom78 contributions46 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Saw bad reviews for this place on WikiCamps but good reviews for the hostel itself.
Seems the only hostel in Byron to allow campers to park $20 ppn
Just a car park, little space in between campers, showers and toilet accessible via hostel.
Location is reasonable, walkable to beach and town and nice vibes from the Byron breweries and hostel itself.
If you’re looking for a nice camping experience I wouldn’t recommend here and book a caravan park or drive out to national parks instead.
You’d like it here if you enjoy the hostel vibe and only going to be sleeping in the van and not hanging out and chilling in your van.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded 17 Mar 2020
Hey Mary, You are right, we are operating as a hostel and tent camp site and not a caravan parkas such - hence why your experience felt a little like that. Since we are the only hostel in Byron bay that offers affordable van parking, our van parking option makes it possible for travelers, especially solo-travelers, to stay close to the town center, experience our hostel community and have access to facilities. Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback and we hope you will be enjoying the rest of your trip around Australia, Arts Factory Crew
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Tour689212 wrote a review Feb 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I visited for one week around a month ago and stayed in the lakeside cottage. It was beautiful surroundings the bed was comfy and had clean sheets. Kitchen was clean and had space in fridge. Also we had our own bathroom which was a nice touch. I went to the yoga classes which were really good. As a solo traveller I actually found it really hard to make friends here. Most people were all already in groups of friends and I found myself in communal areas alone having a drink etc but never socialised or became part of any group. For me despite the entertainment being really good the nights were long as just felt so lonely watching everyone else have so much fun. I would come back but only if I was with friends already!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arts I, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded 8 Feb 2020
Hey, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review, it means so much to us and is super helpful for other travelers too. We are super happy that you enjoyed the hostel, its such an awesome feeling when we get to share what we have with people. We are deeply sorry that you found it hard to meet new people, we host these events in part for people to socialize to meet new people, so we are sorry that this didn't work for you. Please feel free to come and have a chat with us if you are ever in the same situation again, as we sometimes know people who are super friendly and always open for new friends, plus, on occasion we can have good chats ourselves. Thanks again for your review, and we hope that you enjoyed your time in Byron despite not knowing anyone. Cheers!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lyra wrote a review Aug 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom28 contributions22 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Hostel itself is really cool; really good social area with amazing art and lots of places to socialise. Lots of permanents who are mostly very friendly and inclusive, although they do tend to group together! Really chilled vibe and even had a cafe which is open until 11pm and pretty good value for money, perfect if you’re craving a snack!! Lots of free parking available too, which is really good as parking in central Byron is $4 an hour. Only bad thing is the hostel is pretty outdated and not very clean. Kitchen is tiny and gets messy quickly, and the rooms themselves are also pretty rubbish. If you value socials and good vibes over cleanliness then you’ll love this hostel, however if you like somewhere clean, quiet and organised then this is not the place for you! We had a good time here, but the messy state of the hostel made it quite hard to relax sometimes!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded 17 Aug 2020
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed beautiful Byron Bay. We do go to great lengths to keep everything clean however sometimes we do not get everything right. We clean the communal bathrooms and kitchens three times a day however with such a high number of guests using these facilities they can get messy especially during peak times. We hope this didn't affect your stay too much and that we seen you again next time your in Byron Bay. Happy Travels!!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kate B wrote a review Feb 2020
10 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Don’t know where to start with this place . . . After seeing the photos online (which seemed to advertise the place to be very nice and hygienic) we booked 4 nights. We arrived to find a prison cell like room is such terrible condition, nothing like the photos that we fell for. The room was absolutely filthy and swarming with dust, including the window nets and fan, the whole room looked like it hadn’t been cleaned for months. There were hairs in the bed, cobwebs all over, stains on the mini sofa, walls covered in marks and dead insects (mosquitos and dragon flys that had been splattered to the wall and just left). And to make it worse, the shared bathroom facilities were just as bad! Floors were covered in urine which stunk and the toilets and showers were also filthy. Kitchen was constantly overcrowded and noisy. Holes in the ceiling looking like they were about to collapse at any minute due to mould and corrosion. We rang air bnb immediately and left the property, ended up sleeping in our car as there were no hotels available with it being so late. Awful experience! Would not recommend to anyone!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded 27 Feb 2020
Hi Kate, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your comments and hope you enjoyed beautiful Byron Bay. We do go to great lengths to keep everything clean however sometimes we do not get everything right. We clean the communal bathrooms and kitchens three times a day however with such a high number of guests using these facilities they can get messy especially during peak times. I'm sorry to hear you experience here wasn't the best. I wish you happy travels.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ME_l0ve wrote a review Sept 2022
Gold Coast, Australia95 contributions46 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked at the Arts Factory because I was intrigued by the style and the fact that was on a quiet area of Byron and away from the bars.
We booked a private Island room on the lagoon; the room is made out of tent and has a wooden frame with sliding doors to get into the room and to go out of the balcony. to get in one of the private rooms need to walk through a green area on a wooden path which is really nice.
the downside is that being made out of a tent material you can hear anything from outside and also it is not weatherproof, it can be very cold at night or very hot during the day.
That night we came back around 10 pm and went straight to bed, there were still people around the resort chatting and having a good time. no dramas.
around 1.30 am it got much louder, music and loud talking which we initially ignored. around 2.30 couldn't bare it anymore and called the reception. the night guy said that will look into that.
we managed to fall asleep again. then a 5 am it was getting unbearable the noise, the music and loud talking, very disrespected bunch of people that didn't care about other guests staying. I called the reception again and spoke to the same guy, this time I heard the guy went and talk to the group. the group of people were very rude to the staff member and became argumentative. they argued for 20 minutes, and the staff member couldn't get them to stop. they just ignored him and kept going.
It was a nightmare for us, we barely slept.

Cleanliness, the bathrooms are shocking, I saw one morning one of the "cleaners" mopping both bathrooms (male and female) without changing the water in the bucket, he was walking barefoot which is unhygienic also dangerous on a wet floor.
I think this is what you get when the company uses the backpackers that are staying there as a worker in exchange for free stay.
Good bathroom amenities provided.
We wanted to try the coffee shop but was closed at 1 pm when we arrived and also closed at 8 am on the next day when we were checking out. Not sure how many hours operates.
Wouldn't come back.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arts Info, General Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded 19 Oct 2022
Hey Legend, Thanks so much for your informative review. I hope you understand that we can't always control what other people do - even though we can try. We have since had similar issues with the same group of people and some of them have been asked to leave due to this. We are so sorry that you had this negative experience. We have been trying very hard to make sure everything is clean - we sometimes miss a few spots, but we are so sorry that you found them all on this occasion. Being barefoot is not permitted by any staff and you are right - this has also been amended, as well as changing the water in the buckets. We don't use any work for accommodation staff - all of our staff are paid, and so should be better than what you have experienced. We have also passed on your feedback to the cafe - which is a different business from us. They are now open 7am-11pm. We are sorry that you had a bad time here and wish that it could have been better for you. Regardless, we thank you for the time it obviously took to write this review and hope that you had a good time in Byron despite this. Thanks again, Arts Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ellie T wrote a review Jan 2020
Brighton, England, United Kingdom70 contributions75 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
It seems like it should be such a great space but this hostel hosts way too many people. Trying to cook in the kitchen at peak time is a nightmare and good luck finding any space in the cupboards or fridges! The kitchens end up disgusting with no clean side boards or utensils to use, which really just comes about from having too many people for the facilities. It is not great for anyone with a food allergy (which my partner has).

I was really looking forward to a stay here in the Island double tent room, but was very much disappointed. There were many bugs in our room (I would expect some camping but this was a lot!). Thankfully the bed linen was clean (no towels provided though). The floors were dirty and the Wifi was useless (you basically just can't get anything through it).

Being out of town a bit the shuttle is useful, although not too frequent. In the evening there is noise until at least 2am and then we were woken up at 6.30am the next morning to the bins so really not great sleep at all.

I think if you are up for a good party and some super chilled vibes this would be a great place but if you value some good sleep and a smaller community feel this isn't the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Arts I, Manager at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Responded 18 Jan 2020
Hi Ellie, Thanks so much for taking the time to leave such an informative review, its super helpful for us and other travelers. We are so sorry that you didn't enjoy it here, we understand what you mean about the amount of people, sometimes it can get to be too much if you just want something a bit quieter, however, this is peak season so we are at our busiest. We do our best to keep the place clean, unfortunately, sometimes some things get missed, and our housekeepers can only clean up after so many people before they make mess faster than we can clean it. We are doing what we can to improve this though. We have staff on all night, so anyone is super welcome to come and talk to us, or call us (the number is in all the rooms) to talk about noise, bugs or anything else. Unfortunately, if we don't know about this then we can't fix it, and we haven't seen any bugs in any of the rooms. We also have a noise curfew - we make sure its nice and quiet after about 10, however we have no control over the Brewery next door. We apologize for the state of the room - all of those rooms should come with towels, and are swept and mopped after every checkout. Our bin cleaner doesn't start until 7:30 so we aren't sure who would have moved the bins at this time, but we are looking into all of this and hope to use your feedback to improve our service. Thanks again, and we are deeply sorry that you didn't enjoy it here, however we hope that you don't let this get you down and have a great time exploring this beautiful country. Thanks, Arts Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Marie C wrote a review Mar 2023
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This place was honestly the most horrific experience I’ve had so far on my trip up the east coast. I have never stayed in such a horrible dirty facility in my life. I can’t even put into words how dirty and foul smelling the kitchen area was. There was live turkeys walking around eating food off of the floor and who knows what diseases they were carrying. The smell coming from the fridges would knock a horse. If there wasn’t something dead in one of the fridges I don’t know what was causing such a horrific smell. You could smell it coming from the hall you didn’t even have to get close to them.
I didn’t want to be anywhere near the place the lack of hygiene was disgraceful. The place needs to be fumigated and closed for a week for a massive deep clean and health and safety officers need to be brought in to check this place out.
Thank god we only had to stay there for one night because I would not recommend anyone to stay there for even 10 minutes. We have met numerous people since that had the unfortunate experience of staying there too, one man described himself feeling like he ‘had slime’ on himself from the arts factory even when not there, ptsd from the stay.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Morris Family wrote a review Sept 2020
23 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Before reading this please know I am a Sydney born employee of a 5 star hotel so my standards are quite high. I’ve stayed here twice and both times absolutely LOVED my stay! First stay was in an island room, loved the vibes. I stayed with a group of girlfriends and it had electricity and comfy enough beds for me to enjoy my stay. Next stay was in the love shack which was private and had everything we needed! So many activities to do, trivia nights, talent quest, nature talks... has a shuttle bus going to town frequently but it is easily walkable also (Don’t be lazy guys!). The uniqueness and quirky decor of this place truly makes it such a magical place to stay. They had cool hammocks to chill in by he water but they were gone on my second trip. They also have a cafe on the grounds which is reasonably priced and open late. If you’re looking for a real Byron experience THIS IS IT!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emily a wrote a review May 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with 3 of my friends for a couple of nights and the staff were really attentive to everything that was going on around them and really looked after all the guests. George and Marco went above and beyond their expectations. Will definitely be recommending this hostel to friends :)
Read more
Date of stay: May 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maddie wrote a review Nov 2020
Sawtell, Australia4 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is in such a lush beautiful location and really has so much potential. We stayed in one of the Island retreat rooms. It was pretty basic and dirty for what we paid. The place really needs a revamp. It also needs enthusiastic and friendly staff that care. When we checked in on the Friday afternoon the guy wasn't friendly or welcoming at all. The bathrooms were filthy.
We got about 3 hours sleep on Saturday night due to the literal rave that seemed to be happening. There was a number in the room to call the night duty staff for noise issues. We rang that number about 6 times, no answer. There was no night security or staff monitoring, clearly no cut off time at all for noise.
Of course being a backpackers there is going to be noise and people partying but this was a whole other level. Drug and intoxicated people screaming and arguing and trashing the place til the sun came up.
I stayed here years ago and had a very different experience, a much more positive one so I'm really disappointed. There are beautiful trees and water dragons and so much nature to enjoy but it's completely ruined by the lack of care.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Lisa v
Utrecht, The Netherlands27 contributions10 helpful votes
Hi, my name is not James and I am not writing anything about a restaurant so I think you must have confused my review with someone else’s
Ella R asked a question Oct 2017
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello Fam ; Is there a weekly rate ?
Answer from artsfactory_13
Byron Bay, Australia
Hello there, all our dorms have share bathroom and no ensuite.
Samagal2000 wrote a tip Dec 2023
Singapore129 contributions75 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Way too expensive for 1 room"
Read full review
Eve C wrote a tip Nov 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Aquarius is a good alternative if your looking on the cheaper side, if you don’t mind spending a bit more then stay in Wake up or surf house"
Read full review
Emma wrote a tip Oct 2023
Ormskirk, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid the whole place."
Read full review
Niamh wrote a tip May 2023
Paris, France4 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not good for short stays, don’t get put in the teepee"
Read full review
Lukas wrote a tip Jan 2023
86 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring a tent. Mosquito spray, guitar, open mind."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Byron Bay area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$87 - AU$117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the arts factory backpackers hotel byron bay
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesByron ShireByron Bay
NUMBER OF ROOMS
41
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ARTS FACTORY BACKPACKERS LODGE (AU$87): 2024 Prices & Reviews (Byron Bay) - Photos of Hostel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Lets Go Surfing Byron Bay (1.0 km), Belongil Beach (0.8 km), and Byron Bay (1.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Manna Haven, Chihuahua, and Dip.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.4 km away from the centre of Byron Bay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, German, Italian, and Dutch.
All Byron Bay HotelsByron Bay Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Byron BayHotels near The Arts Factory Backpackers Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars