The Cubana Ballina
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Cubana Ballina

329 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478 Australia
Traveller (53)
Room & Suite (33)
Pool & Beach (11)

View prices for your travel dates

No prepayment needed
AU$165
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

5.0
#1 of 4 small hotels in Ballina
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Cubana Ballina, a stylish modern motel with a cool retro vibe. An extensive make-over was completed at the beginning of the year and now very inch of the property has been renovated with sparkling clean bathrooms, brand-new comfortable beds & pillows, designer interiors, brand new smart TVs and reverse cycle A/C. There is also a bar fridge in each room and a larger fridge and box freezer in the communal kitchen. With the newest and cleanest rooms in the whole of Ballina, The Cubana Ballina stands out above the rest as a super stylish space which is fun and relaxed for the whole family. Bring back the golden age of the east coast road trip this summer and drop in to one of our inspiring retro properties in Ballina and Nambucca Heads showcasing the playful vintage style of hotels from the 1960s.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycles available
Canoeing
Taxi service
24-hour security
Street parking
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Shallow end in pool
Fence around pool
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Outdoor dining area
Hiking
Fishing
Water park offsite
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Shared kitchen
Shared lounge / TV area
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun umbrellas
First aid kit
24-hour check-in
Clothes dryer
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Washing machine
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Walk-in shower
Seating area
Sofa
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Iron
Private bathrooms
Microwave
Oven
Refrigerator
Stovetop
Electric kettle
Kitchenware
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

329 River St, Ballina, New South Wales 2478 Australia
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 49 out of 100
49
Ballina Byron Airport
Lismore Airport
27.8 km
See all flights
1 Attraction
within 1 kilometer
84Reviews1Q+A11Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 69
  • 13
  • 2
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate F wrote a review Jan 2020
Banksia Beach, Australia25 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Needed somewhere to stay to break up a drive from the Sunshine Coast Qld to Urunga NSW. It was perfect. The room was spacious without being over large, it had a comfy lounge to watch TV if required. A small fridge with mini bar (nice wines, beer & cider) tea & coffee making. Bathroom was modern & very clean, easily accessible with room to move. Shower & toilet with vanity unit in between. Non slip floor tiling made showering safe & comfortable. As an amputee this is important to me & can make or break the enjoyment of a stay.
We had a double room for our stay & it was roomy enough for us both to wander around without getting in each others way. The room also had an ironing board & an iron for guest use plus extra blankets & pillows if needed. The room was airconditioned both for cooling or heating as needed.
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in, not to hard not to soft. The pillows were just as comfortable. My husband & I both slept better than we had in a while. The linen on the bed was crisp & clean but soft enough to make the bed that little more cosy.
The Cubana Ballina is on a main road but you wouldn't know it unless you were sitting outside. There was no road noise in the room at all.
There is a pool for guests although we didn't have time to enjoy it.
We were really pressed for time so our stay was short but perfect for us.
We will be back & for longer next time.
Our arrival was going to rather late, Jean-Pierre our host organized & provided me with links to the app that would allow us entry to our room after office hours. It made the whole late arrival so much easier.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms were all on ground level & easy to access.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dreamer21950284973, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 2 June 2020
Hi Kate, A belated thank you for your kind review. It is always great to read such a nice review. Hope to see you back here or perhaps at our resort in Nambucca Heads Happy travels, Ben.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SuzieLee71 wrote a review Mar 2021
Brisbane, Australia5,895 contributions793 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Although this is an older style motel, the rooms have recently been renovated to a high standard. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable and the motel is in a good location just a 10-15 minute walk to the restaurants at Ballina. Our newly renovated room had a comfortable bed, bright modern bathroom and a flat screen TV. There was also a well maintained pool area in the motel complex. Tracy is super friendly and the coffee at the little caravan at the front of the hotel is very good. This is a good budget friendly option for a Ballina stay!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 11 Mar 2021
Guests love the colorful renovations and super clean rooms. Great to see you loved your stay. Thank you for reviewing Cubana Ballina. Regards, Tracey & the Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kristina S wrote a review Dec 2020
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at The Cubana last month for 3 nights, and honestly it's the best motel in Oz. Our room was renovated with an ensuite style bathroom that had an amazing rain shower and water pressure. It was super clean, the bed was comfy, and the decor was spot on. Staff were really friendly. Check in/ out was a breeze.
Would definitely stay again if passing through Ballina.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 7 Dec 2020
We really appreciate your great feedback. We think Cubana Ballina is awesome too. :) We look forward to your next visit with us.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jo J wrote a review Mar 2020
9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great value for money, this motel has obviously had a quality renovation recently. It's bright, well set up, beautifully clean with lovely linen and really comfy beds. Bathroom is immaculate and roomy. The manager/owner very kindly stayed past last check-in time for us, as we were delayed.
Will definitely stay again when travelling through. My daughter (who usually doesn't like motels as she is on the autism spectrum ) really liked The Cubana because of the simple, stylish renovation. Highly recommend
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Family room was good for us travelling with one child as there is a queen bed and 2 singles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Dreamer21950284973, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 2 June 2020
Hi Jo, Thanks so much for your review. It is always a pleasure having you and your family stay with us at The Cubana. We hope to have you all back again soon. Cheers, Ben.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jodie W wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were on a road trip to Townsville and after 11 hours on the road we arrived at The Cubana. The girls had already contacted us earlier as we were arriving after hours so we were prepared for the contactless check in. It was pouring with rain but we were able to park right out front of our room so we kept dry. The room was a very pleasant surprise - newly refurbished, very clean and comfortable. The shower is quite large and very good pressure. Mini bar is nicely stocked with local beverages. We'll be visiting the cute coffee van in the morning before our trek to Rockhampton. Just wish it hadn't been raining so we could take a dip in the pool. Will definitely be back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 3 Feb 2022
Hi Jodie, thanks for your great review. We are so happy that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay. We look forward to having you back again and hopefully next time the weather is nice enough for you to lay by and enjoy our pool. Kind Regards, The Cubana Ballina Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Seongwoon Kim wrote a review Feb 2022
3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed 5 days 4 nights in Cubana Ballina. Late check-in was easy and smooth. When I entered the room, I found the aircon was on for me. Thank you again.

Room was super clean and tidy, and the kitchen was nice and clean. The property seemed to have had renovation lately.

Tracey at reception and housekeeping ladaies helped me a lot and they quickly responded to my questions and requests.

I strongly recommend this accommodation, couldn't be better.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 6 Feb 2022
We appreciate your great review & feedback. We hope to have you stay with us again in the future. Regards, Tracey (Manager)
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frougster wrote a review Dec 2020
Canberra, Australia71 contributions37 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is so comfortable. The rooms are spacious and exceptionally clean with a toaster, iron and hairdryer included. The pool area has a bbq, fridge and microwave. As a nice touch, the hosts (who were lovely) leave fresh herbs and vegetables from their garden in the fridge for guests to use. It’s about a 1km walk into the town and only a short drive back out to the freeway. I would stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 22 Dec 2020
Pleased to see that Cubana Ballina felt like home. We look forward to your next visit. Cheers.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alexander M wrote a review June 2022
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
My experience of Cubana was that it was a great place to stay. That I have no difficulty with and the staff at Cubana was great. My beef is with Booking.com who led me to believe that I could book the room immediately for a reduced fee of 122 Australia dollars for the night which I tried to do twice and it did not work on the booking.com site so instead I chose the pay later option and immediately Booking.Com charge me 203 dollars. Feeling a bit ripped off ...
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 29 June 2022
So happy to hear your stay at Cubana Ballina was a great experience and your meal at the new restaurant in Ballina was wonderful experience as well. We do not have any control over the 3rd party booking systems, as we always encourage our valued guests to book direct or through our website. We look forward to welcoming you back to Cubana Ballina sometime in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ian E wrote a review Feb 2022
Melbourne, Australia3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for two nights on a road trip to Brisbane. The staff were friendly & welcoming, the room was immaculately presented & nicely cooled on what was a warm & humid day. Although we had no in-room cooking or laundry facilities, on-site amenities included a free laundry, full kitchen & a coffee van serving great coffee & a small selection of snacks. The Cubana Ballina is a short walk from Ballina CBD, with its selection of pubs & restaurants & close to the Richmond River. Book direct with the motel to get the best price. Would happily stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: A selection of rooms is available, each with their own colour theme. Pick your favourite!
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 28 Feb 2022
Thanks Ian, great to hear you had a fabulous time & loved the facilities. Hope to see you again soon. Regards, The Cubana Ballina Team.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
melindaom wrote a review Mar 2022
Sydney, Australia25 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our flight home was cancelled at the last minute due to inclement weather/flooding and we were lucky to be able to book 2 rooms for my parents and my husband and I. The staff were absolutely brilliant, the rooms modern and well equipped. We were all evacuated at 7am and Tracy told us they would keep our rooms in case we couldn't fly out that afternoon. We were ever so grateful! Luckily we could get a flight home yesterday.
Thanks so much to everyone there, from the management to cleaners...you're all awesome!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Tracey Dowie, General Manager at The Cubana Ballina
Responded 7 Mar 2022
Hi Melinda, thank you for your review. We are so pleased we were able to accommodate you and your parents. We look forward to having you back someday soon! Kind Regards, The Cubana Ballina Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kylie N Paul asked a question Dec 2020
37 contributions1 helpful vote
Hi just wondering is this a dog friendly hotel?
Answer from CubanaBallina
Ballina, Australia
Thank you for your enquiry Kylie, at present our newly renovated rooms are not pet-friendly. There are local kennel/boarding facilities available for your pet if required. We hope to have you visit with us at some stage. Regards, Tracey
LookseeJo wrote a tip Apr 2024
Sydney, Australia134 contributions57 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking spaces were a little tight for larger vehicles and we were forced to take up 2 spots."
Read full review
Takeahat wrote a tip July 2023
Springwood, Australia358 contributions97 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"BYO body lotion and shower cap"
Read full review
Phobos1967 wrote a tip Apr 2023
Mackay Region, Australia222 contributions147 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Check out the pillows and ask for a change if not happy "
Read full review
Tracey M wrote a tip Jan 2023
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Walking distance to the CBD."
Read full review
Annette K wrote a tip Dec 2022
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"It is on a busy main road but room was not too noisy."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballina area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$158 - AU$195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesBallina ShireBallina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
26
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE CUBANA BALLINA (AU$158): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Hotel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Cubana Ballina
Which popular attractions are close to The Cubana Ballina?
Nearby attractions include Captain Cook Park (0.9 km) and Ballina Camping and Disposals (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Cubana Ballina?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at The Cubana Ballina?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at The Cubana Ballina?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Cubana Ballina?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Cubana Ballina?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Cove, Thai by Night by Chalee, and The Boardwalk - Ballina RSL.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Cubana Ballina?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is The Cubana Ballina located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Ballina.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Cubana Ballina?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Is The Cubana Ballina accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Ballina HotelsBallina Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in BallinaHotels near The Cubana Ballina
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars