We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Ballina Homestead Motel

Cnr Cherry Street & Fox Street, Ballina, New South Wales 2478 Australia
avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (43)
Room & Suite (42)
Dining (16)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#9 of 15 motels in Ballina
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Featuring a tropical courtyard with swimming pool and outdoor entertaining area with BBQ facilities, Ballina Homestead Motel is centrally located within walking distance to the local sports club, shops, hospital and the river. ​The clean and quiet rooms feature free Wi-Fi, Austar, TVs, ensuites, plus tea and coffee making facilities and toasters. Upgraded rooms add sitting areas and/or courtyards. There are also studio rooms with kitchenettes, as well as 2-bedroom family rooms. ​Free secure undercover parking is provided and our guest have access to laundry facilities, room service breakfast and a room for private events. The Proper Cafe is Ballina's quaintest coffee shop serving only homemade delicacies. The Ballina Homestead Motel is known for its great service, cleanliness relaxed atmosphere and the best value accommodation in Ballina. The motel is located in central Ballina, 3.7 km from Ballina Byron Gateway Airport, and 3 km from Ballina’s unspoiled beaches.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Coffee shop
Bicycle rental
Bowling
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Car park
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Fence around pool
Breakfast in the room
Wine / champagne
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Express check-in / check-out
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Room service
Telephone
Microwave
Refrigerator
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Family
Languages Spoken
English, French, German
69Reviews0Q+A12Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 24
  • 29
  • 11
  • 3
  • 2
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Buderimdeb wrote a review Mar 2023
Buderim, Australia74 contributions25 helpful votes
Dog friendly! A lovely room, quality vinyl flooring was the only difference to any other room. A very generous bathroom with a huge shower. Bed was very comfortable. Separate seating with good lighting for a change. No old dog smells. There is a cafe on-site and not far from shops. The shady courtyard area was a nice spot to sit with a cuppa. There's undercover parking as well as open areas in front of rooms.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you and your furry friend have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Zee T wrote a review Feb 2023
1 contribution
Had the cleaners come into our room do nothing but complain about doing their job they did not change the bedding because apparently that's not their job???? and then leave our door wide open twice and then even said they did not enter our room very rude and wouldn't take our complaints have had to start taking legal action and will be having the cleaners charged seeing they told their boss they where not in the room when they had clearly been in their and tried to blame someone else a video has been sent to police.!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 28 Feb 2023
Dear Zelena, It is unfortunate that you have been evicted due to suspected drug use. We have made our house rules very clear to the Department of Community & Justice who booked your accommodation for a 'respite'. We have a ZERO tolerance policy and you have been blacklisted. Your behaviour results that will no longer accept bookings through the Department of Community & Justice and it is disappointing because people with a real need for emergency accommodation are going to miss out. I hope you are proud of your achievement.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
622reecew wrote a review Jan 2023
Newcastle, Australia23 contributions2 helpful votes
Short walk to local feed and shops. Friendly Staff, Nice Pool and Outdoor Area. Annoying little step in the room that I stubbed my toe on at 4am in the morning. For those ecomentalists, you'll love it, there is at least 6 undercover charging stations
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Sherpa123 wrote a review Nov 2022
Sydney, Australia450 contributions84 helpful votes
+1
We stayed for two nights. The motel is within walking distance to a Club which is very handy for dinner (plus the motel offers a 'member discount card to use')or a short two minute drive into the CBD where there are plenty of restaurants. The motel room was lovely and clean and quite spacious. The couple on reception very friendly and helpful. The beds are very comfortable, plenty of space in the bathroom and a lovely little outside area with a table and chairs to enjoy the fresh air. Only about five minutes from the airport. Under cover parking and although this is near a busy road, we found it to be very quiet and no street noise.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: We were up a level and I'd recommend these rooms.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 26 Mar 2023
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, and we are looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jayne M wrote a review Sept 2022
Brisbane, Australia6 contributions
The hotel was clean, tidy and fresh. Bed were comfortable and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Some of the brochures in the reception were outdated, but on the whole, nothing to complain about. We were travelling past and this offered a perfect place to stop. Not too far out of the way, we had a good nights sleep and had a good filling meal at the local bowls club just a short walk up the road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: It is what it is with no bad surprises
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 8 Sept 2022
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you've enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to seeing you again at some stage in the future.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Paul T wrote a review Feb 2022
Townsville, Queensland, Australia77 contributions31 helpful votes
Travelling with two dogs is never easy but everything about our stay here was made seamless and painless by the absolutely amazing Kiv. The room was clean and fresh and all of the staff were very friendly. The Homestead is only two blocks walk to the Cherry Street Sports club which had great food and facilities. On your room key ring I got a club card to present for members discounts at the club which is just one more favourable factor in choosing to stay here. At the Homestead Cafe I had a fantastic breakfast, coffee and then takeaway coffee for my onward journey. Once again served by Kiv along with Nikki. I would highly recommend this motel to anyone and everyone. Who knows you may even be fortunate enough to meet Kiv who appears to do everything and be everywhere.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 22 Feb 2022
Dear Paul, thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you and your furry friend have enjoyed your stay with us and has some time check out our cafe. We are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
jeni wrote a review Nov 2021
Canberra, Australia348 contributions46 helpful votes
+1
When we needed a pet friendly place to stay close to Ballina Hospital while one of us recovered from surgery, Ballina Homestead Motel checked all the boxes. We've had the most amazing stay here. The managers and staff are all lovely people. Our room is very nicely designed, our very comfy bed overlooks the motel's central leafy sun filled courtyard, and our dog has enjoyed meeting many new friends. An unexpected bonus has been The Proper Cafe, filled with home cooked treats and scrumptious breakfasts. It will be very hard to leave :)
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: our room 21 had lovely summer breezes
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 14 Nov 2021
Dear Jeni, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Anke & Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Carol T wrote a review May 2021
Sydney, Australia60 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
Booked 2 nights. Used Google maps but unable to recognise facility as no Motel signage & entry is off the main street mentioned on Google. My bedroom appeared clean. Bathroom disgusting. Mouldy ceiling, dusty toilet brush holder, bathroom floor tiles needed a good scrub, 3 x 30 ml shampoo/ conditioner tubes provided but 1 was only 2/3 full. Showed photos to Management at breakfast & I was reimbursed breakfast cost. On return prior to 2nd night's stay, toilet holder had been wiped down but but still unclean. See photos.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Check if bathroom has been cleaned to your satisfaction.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 16 May 2021
Dear Carol, Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Our sincere apologies about the bathroom, we'll share your comments/images with our housekeepers to ensure our standards are met and there is no reoccurrence of this incident. The images you have taken from behind the toilet however refer to worn seals that will be addressed as part of our bathroom refurbishment program. Unfortunately the motel is not new and whilst we have renovated all our rooms, some of the bathrooms need to be upgraded however still reflect the standard of a 3 1/2 star motel. Regarding the signage or lack thereof, we had our sign removed as required by council to make room for the new roundabout construction. The recently finished roundabout has vastly improved access to our motel and has made a difficult intersection much safer for traffic. We offer no excuse for not having an old-fashioned motel sign since most people use mobile phones for navigation and we have a very prominent corner location.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Regina F wrote a review Apr 2021
Nabiac, Australia7 contributions
Had stop over here with grand daughter and puppy - the staff were friendly and helpful - and the room was very clean and fresh - with excellent walking paths near by for granddaughter and puppy - definitely stay here again - my new stop over on way to Brisbane
Read more
Date of stay: April 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 10 Apr 2021
Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay again at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
adamf771 wrote a review June 2020
Kensington, Australia9 contributions4 helpful votes
We had to take our beloved Labrador with us at short notice so I was lucky to find availability at this motel. We were thrilled by the incredibly modern tidy and comfortable studio which looked almost brand new. The studios have their own entrance from the back of the motel where you can park outside your room. There is also a small private courtyard where you can have your meals. A terrific coffee shop is attached to the motel serving good food and Byron Bay coffee. I had booked without doing my usual research but was very, very pleased with the comfort of the room. Good new air conditioning, TV and comfortable bed. Highly recommended, with or without pets.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: Always advise on booking if you require a pet-friendly room.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Michael Fellner, Owner at Ballina Homestead Motel
Responded 21 June 2020
Dear Adam, Thank you so much for your feedback and for choosing to stay again at Ballina Homestead Motel, we appreciate it. Glad to hear that you and your furry friend have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to seeing you at some stage in the future. Kind regards, Michael
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ballina area.
PRICE RANGE
AU$181 - AU$203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
AustraliaNew South WalesBallina ShireBallina
NUMBER OF ROOMS
25
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BALLINA HOMESTEAD MOTEL (AU$181): 2024 Prices & Reviews - Photos of Motel - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Ballina Homestead Motel
Which popular attractions are close to Ballina Homestead Motel?
Nearby attractions include Ballina Naval & Maritime Museum (1.2 km), Ballina Historic Waterfront Trail (1.2 km), and Ballina Memorial Pool and Waterslides (1.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ballina Homestead Motel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and free parking.
Which room amenities are available at Ballina Homestead Motel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Ballina Homestead Motel?
Guests can enjoy barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Ballina Homestead Motel?
Yes, free parking, a parking garage, and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ballina Homestead Motel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ché Bon Restaurant, The Cove, and Ballina Gallery Cafe.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ballina Homestead Motel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Are pets allowed at Ballina Homestead Motel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Ballina Homestead Motel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, and German.
Is Ballina Homestead Motel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.