We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Discovery Parks - Ballina

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Discovery Parks - Ballina
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

295 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 293: English reviews
Lismore, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in one of the waterfront villas - very comfortable with enough space for a family of four. A nice verandah with BBQ looking out over Shaws Bay made for a very pleasant stay. We had heard that the insects in the afternoon were diabolical but didnt experience any problems ourselves. The kids had a ball riding bikes along...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rilee0211
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear that you enjoyed the facilities and the Shaws Bay view. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

Hobart, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just stayed 3 nights at Discovery park 25 Fenwick drive East Ballina had great time with young grandchildren lots for them to do great pool area ,fun park ,got up grade rooms very clean and every thing provided in cabins great valve WILL be sure to return

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 11carollb
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're thrilled to hear you and your grandchildren had such a pleasant time at our park! Thank you for sharing your review and we do hope you have the opportunity to return to Ballina.

NSW
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a confirmed booking with this park done through Wotif and the park office lady rang us to say we did not have a booking. She did not offer us another cabin even though they had others available. We were told to go and book again through a third party site and it was our problem to sort out!!!!!!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DianeNSW
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with your experience booking at our park and our customer service, Diane. Your feedback will be addressed with the team. To discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review.

Brisbane Region, Australia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed in several of the different types of accomodation available at the park and have been perfectly comfortable in each type. The waterfront villas have fantastic views of the lake from the attached verandahs. The cabins contain all the essentials and are clean and tidy. The waterpark is a great place for the kids, as is the games...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diane M
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

It's lovely to hear you had the opportunity to kick your feet up and really rest at our park, Diane. Thank you for sharing your review and for choosing us as your top pick in Ballina!

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed in a standard cabin which is outdated and old but would of been fine if it was clean. the cabin was very musty and the floora appear to have not been cleaned for a while they made our feet dirty. There was no shower curtain, dishes were dirty on cubbord. There is no where to put excess rubbish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Justin G
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of cleanliness of the cabin, but happy that you enjoyed the facilities and location. To discuss your feedback further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au. Thank you for sharing your review, Justin.

Gympie, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We really enjoyed our stay overlooking the lake. It was a large park with quite a lot of permanents, but it looked as if there was pride taken with every little house. The whole park was neat and tidy, and they even had a new set of raised garden beds with veges and herbs growing, presumably for the permanent residents,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

It's wonderful to hear that you appreciated the time and care that we put into our park, Barbara. Thank you for your feedback on our facilities and we hope you have the opportunity to return!

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great location but maintenance well below standard. Fan Lights hanging by wires. 3 light globes blown. Spa doesn't work properly. Shower taps came off. No fan switch knobs. One shelf in fridge. Tiles in pool missing. All this issues have been listed in previous reviews and obviously not getting addressed. Tidy but not clean. Mould in shower and floors dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank emlambert
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear you were disappointed with the level of maintenance at our park, but happy that you enjoyed our location. Your feedback will be addressed with the team. Thank you for providing your feedback.

Reviewed 30 October 2016

We chose this park because it allowed us to take our dog. Paid for 3 nights $500. Checked out after second night. Fridge had only one shelf, fly screen doors had holes, fan switches had no knobs to turn on fans. Electrical switches had now over plates. Has a large Lounge but badly needs a coffee table in front of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

We're sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the level of maintenance in the Superior Spa Cabin. To discuss this further, please contact us at customerfeedback@discoveryparks.com.au with your feedback and the cabin number. We appreciate reviews like yours in order to continue to make improvements to our park. Thank you for taking the time to share your review, David.

Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night passing through on holidays. We wanted to stay longer. Reception, staff where all friendly. Easy check in process. Great access driving through park. Stayed in a villa for $200 a night. Units looked near new, well laid out & had everything we needed in there. Great park, bouncy pillow, mini golf, 3 different levels of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomadsby4
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review and recommendation. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay including our facilities. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my 2 kids (5 and 8) we stayed on a powered site. I couldnt fault the park and would highly recommend it. The staff were very helpful and the receptionist is an asset to your company she was always helpful and in a friendly manner and always greeted us with a smile. The facilitys were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma J
DiscoveryParksGroup, Manager at Discovery Parks - Ballina, responded to this review

Thanks for sharing your review and recommendation Emma. It's great to to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (36)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ballina hotels
2.2 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Ballina Byron
3.2 km away
Comfort Inn All Seasons
Comfort Inn All Seasons
#8 of 19 in Ballina
149 reviews
2.5 km away
Ballina Beach Village
Ballina Beach Village
#10 of 19 in Ballina
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Quality Hotel Ballina Beach Resort
1.9 km away
North Coast Holiday Parks Ballina Central
3.2 km away
Coast Inn Motel
Coast Inn Motel
#6 of 19 in Ballina
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Beachfront
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Set alongside the sparkling waters of beautiful Shaw’s Bay lake, Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park offers a range of accommodation to suit all budgets including bungalows, cabins and powered caravan and camping sites, all with waterfront options. Park facilities include a swimming pool, waterpark, modern camp kitchen, jumping pillow, mini golf course, indoor games room, kids nook, TV room and gymnasium. Nearby activity options include cycling, paddleboarding, fishing, golfing or just relaxing by the pool. Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park is a tranquil retreat where simple pleasures offer their own reward. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Discovery Parks - Ballina

Address: 25 Fenwick Dr, Ballina, New South Wales 2478, Australia (Formerly Ballina Lakeside Holiday Park)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Ballina
Price Range: $75 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Discovery Parks - Ballina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Discovery Parks - Ballina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Parks - Ballina
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Campbelltown, Australia
Morayfield, Australia
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Discovery Parks - Ballina staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Waterview villas have the best outlook”
 of 5 bubbles Rilee0211, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Do not go to this park bad customer service”
 of 5 bubbles DianeNSW, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Waterfront villas are great!”
 of 5 bubbles dianemT641GE, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Choose a waterfront luxury villa”
 of 5 bubbles wizhead2016, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“This is not a HOTEL as you would like reviewed. There was a Lake & it was good for Kids / Swimming.”
 of 5 bubbles paulrQ1041RS, 31 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay