We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mercure Haydock Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mercure Haydock Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

673 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 667: English reviews
Scotland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Hotel aspiring to four star standard. Nearly but not quite there. Modern development very close to Haydock racecourse and in site of the M6 motorway. Pleasant site surrounded by road, motorway and industrial sites. Within the hotel there is very good suppression of external noise e.g. Particularly the motorway. On arrival mid evening only one person working on reception with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed whilst travelling on business. Good access to and from the North West and within easy reach of the motorway network. Very well sign posted and plenty of parking. Close enough to the motorway network for ease, but far enough away not to hear that distant rumble of traffic. Well appointed rooms and the hotel has recently had a 'make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

One night stay for attending a friends wedding late December. Lovely grounds and friendly staff. Nice reception rooms. Drinks alittle bit pricey but thats to be expected. Nice warm room. Would really recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SKHelm11
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Down visiting family in Liverpool ,only 30 minutes away. First person we met was the professional chloe with her infectious smile and warmth an easy check in and she sorted out my loyalty card immediately. Then we had the pleasure of meeting the hard working teresa and karen who could not do enough for us. Nothing was a problem. Room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John Y
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Check in very slow because they had a corporate booking where people were arriving in a very steady flow and only one lady on a temporary reception. I had booked a superior room and returned to reception to check it was actually a superior as, although a decent size there were none of the upgraded amenities (coffee machine, slippers, robe...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrscarpio
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Mrs Carpio, Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a comprehensive and constructive review. You have given me a number of points that I will take very seriously and will investigate to ensure that we improve the consistency of the standards expected. You will be very please to hear that our refurbishment is now complete and...

england manchester
Reviewed 1 week ago

It is with great sadness and soul searching that I am writing a very negative review on this hotel . I booked in the summer period for myself ,my wife and two friends to come here and celebrate New Year 2017, I booked because they assured me that we would be in adjacent rooms our friends needing assistance which we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stnco
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed here from Tues 7th - Fri 10th Feb. I went with my wife, and two girls 4, and 9 months). Can't fault the room, very nice, clean, and fantastic nights sleep! The rest of the hotel is nice, and we spent a lot of time in the pool. Negatives: * the food is expensive, not massively, but 30-50%...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DamienellIs
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Damien, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback online. The team are always really grateful to receive positive feedback and kind comments so thank you sharing you opinion. Personally I am always grateful to receive constructive feedback so I do appreciate your thoughts in regards to our car park, please rest assured that your...

Urmston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with my wife and friends , the hotel was great staff were great but what we did not ice was the rudeness sexist manager to any one that was female, my self my wife and friends sat and observed the way the manager treated his female staff whch was disgracefull , this is the 21 century not the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Warm I
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Camper581, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback online. I am very disappointed to hear that you have witnessed a member of the team acting inappropriately. I would like to assure you that any inappropriate behaviour is not tolerated and I would very much like to opportunity to investigate this matter. Please contact me directly so...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel is ok but was surprised to be charged £5 to park my car even when web site states that it's free. When I challenged reception I was just brushed off, the hotel have already updated the web site although trip adviser still shows free parking. I spent well over a hundred pounds in the bar/restaurant so out of principal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenny m
Adam C, General Manager at Mercure Haydock Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Kenny, I am very sorry that you are disappointed that we charge for parking and I am sorry that the information on Trip advisor was incorrect. We have now updated this. As our hotel is situated in a prime location next to the M6 for people to travel the North West region, we have found that a small charge...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

After the long drive from Newcastle I was delighted to arrive at the newly refurbished Mercure in Haydock. After checking in I headed straight to the bar as I was ruddy starving, I was greeted by Max who poured me a lovely pint of Heineken, he gave me a comprehensive run down of the food menu and also told me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joshuacrowther

159 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (138)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (71)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haydock
0.5 km away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct 23
#1 of 2 in Newton-Le-Willows
687 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Ibis Styles Haydock
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
Premier Inn Haydock Hotel
#5 of 21 in Warrington
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Chalon Court Hotel
Chalon Court Hotel
#3 of 4 in St Helens
400 reviews
15.5 km away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,346 reviews
9.6 km away
pentahotel Warrington
pentahotel Warrington
#4 of 21 in Warrington
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Food & drink at the hotel
No photo provided
Beechers
Cuisines: European
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mercure Hotel, part of Mercure Brand operated by Accor Hotels, is perfectly placed for exploring Merseyside and the north-west - or enjoying a day at the races. Located exactly halfway between Liverpool and Manchester, the hotel is just a mile from the famous Haydock Park racecourse. Local attractions include stately homes, the region's industrial heritage, and Britain's biggest designer outlet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Haydock Hotel

Address: Penny Lane, Haydock WA11 9SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Haydock
Price Range: $85 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Haydock Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Haydock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Haydock Hotel Haydock
Thistle Hotel Haydock
Haydock Thistle Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mercure Haydock Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Haydock Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for rooms with comfortable seating, such as a sofa or armchair”
 of 5 bubbles malcolmb434, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go elsewhwere”
 of 5 bubbles stnco, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All room are worth what you pay”
 of 5 bubbles colind648, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Not sure about all rooms we had 216 good size no view but spotless.”
 of 5 bubbles X1010ZOmariaf, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“an early 100 room means less walking with heavy bags.”
 of 5 bubbles VivienH177, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5