We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swan at Streatley

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Swan at Streatley
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

578 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 567: English reviews
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Room and bathroom was a good size and very clean. Get a room with river view if possible as waking up to the view is great. Currently undergoing refurbishment it was difficult to find the entrance when we arrived on foot at night so some signage would be good! Only gripe was there was no breakfast included in the £140... More 

Helpful?
Thank Genevieve S
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Genevieve, Thank you for your constructive feedback. It's great to know you liked your room and enjoyed the spectacular views of the Thames. Thanks for bringing the signage issue to our attention. We're fitting additional external lighting and signs which should rectify this problem. As for the rates, they fluctuate but it's always worth booking direct to get a... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in 3 rooms in the new part of the hotel. Rooms look nice but when you look closer you find lots of imperfections lots of cobwebs and dust, there's no carpet so you can see everything. I moved my bed and there was thick layer of dust but housekeeper was very helpful and he cleaned the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Denky81
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback and you'll be pleased to hear that since your stay with us, we've put a lot of time and effort into staff training and getting the missing details spot on to ensure great guest experience. As for breakfast, the restaurant is closed for renovation now, but our beautiful Boat House Cafe... More 

UK
Level Contributor
160 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We never got to stay in the hotel so I cannot comment on it but I can comment on the very poor customer service. I e mailed the hotel in mid-September to ask about booking two rooms for this coming weekend (Friday 21 to Sunday 23 October 2016). No reply. E mailed a chaser several days later. No reply. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LFKUk
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi, I am not too sure what happened with the email responses or emails in general that were sent, they were clearly not as quick in replying as we normally are and I'm sorry about that. We did send you an email confirmation which included the information about our restaurant closure, and unfortunately Booking.com is a 3rd party website which... More 

Travellers are raving about these Streatley-on-Thames hotels

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I've stayed at the hotel numerous times at least once per month and the refurbished rooms remain some of the best I have ever stayed in. The views of the river and associated wildlife are fantastic. The gym is well stocked with new equipment. My only issue this time around is that the restaurant is shut for refurbishment which I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank colinj506
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Thanks for your constructive feedback, apologies you were not aware of the closure of our restaurant and events space, its much needed as I'm sure you would agree....! We now always sent out bookings confirmation emails with the information regarding this closure, our website is regularly updated plus we advise where is best to eat in the local... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

Not so busy at n the moment but a beautiful place to be. Nice in and outdoor sitting Yummy hot chocolate and delicious cake varieties. The town itself isn't that big and no big shopping area. Just come and enjoy the water

Helpful?
Thank Tellthetruth6
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi! Thanks for your review, short but straight to the point! Our Boat House (closest to the bridge side) is now open from 7am and apart from the amazing hot chocolate and cakes we now also offer breakfast and other lovely lunch dishes so worth another visit....! Thanks again. Best wishes, Michael Westenbrink More 

Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

So pretty to sit on the river side. Picturesque views & warm friendly surroundings. Sadly the whole ensemble has gradually gone down hill. The food is not as good as ot has been & the general decor has deteriated considerably. The good news however is its about to close down for 9 months for a full well deserved revamp. Yipee.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Marc P
Michael W, General Manager at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Marc, Thanks so much for your feedback, we are all so looking forward to getting the refurbishment completed, so needed as you rightly say! It's time for the green carpet with swans to make their way to the history books and memories.... Not sure how we can pull off your request for the sun, however the new terrace will... More 

Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2016

On arrival, staff at the reception were very helpful on check in and apologized that there may be disruption due to ongoing refurbishment in the hotel . Food very good and the portion size is too much . quality of food served was great .had a wonderful time with my wife celebrating my wedding anniversary in a beautiful river side... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Gaurav J
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Gaurav, Thanks for your review, great to know you enjoyed your anniversary stay at the Swan and I'll share you kind words with the team. Hope to see you back soon! Best Regards, Michal More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

I've stayed for 2 night whit my lady last week and i'm glad i picked this place.The location it's absolutely perfect.Staff members were smiling,friendly and always there if you needed something.The room was decent ,but the entire experience can't be described in words. Will definitely return.

Helpful?
2 Thank Claudiu G
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Claudiu, Many thanks for your fantastic review. The location is indeed spectacular and I will share you kind comments with the teams. We cannot wait to see you again soon! Best Regards, Michal More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Firstly the location is awesome and worth 4 stars alone. Great upgrade to Suite 54 which is brand new and is amazing. Cannot praise too highly!! Unfortunately the main hotel is very run down and almost scruffy in parts. Breakfast was in this part of the hotel and was absolutely the worst buffet we have ever endured. I will not... More 

Helpful?
Thank ColinHB_13
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi Colin, Thank you for your review. We're glad you like our new rooms and please be assured that we're working hard to bring the dated parts of the building up to the level that this fantastic location deserves. Sorry about the breakfast let down and hope to see you again! Best Regards, Michal More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2016

My partner and I popped in for lunch last weekend and it was amazing! We had a delicious toastie from the deli outside on the river and it was like being in a Mary Poppins film! Quiet but busy with ducks and geese. Staff really friendly and the place was spotless! Sad it's closing for renovation October 2nd but looking... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank 123businessreview
Michal W, Deputy GM at The Swan at Streatley, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your review, great to know you enjoyed your lunch at the Swan. No need to be sad, you are still welcome to use our Boat House Café while the restaurant and bar get a completely new look. See you back soon! Best Regards, Michal More 

226 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (202)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Streatley-on-Thames
5.9 km away
The Elephant at Pangbourne
The Elephant at Pangbourne
#1 of 4 in Pangbourne
303 reviews
19.7 km away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
16.9 km away
The Great House At Sonning
The Great House At Sonning
#1 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,017 reviews
16.5 km away
French Horn Hotel
French Horn Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sonning-on-Thames
184 reviews
38.9 km away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Swan at Streatley is set on the banks of the Thames in the picturesque Berkshire village of Streatley and enjoys wonderful views of the river. The Swan has over 20 newly renovated bedrooms, a cafe as well as a new bar and a fully equipped gym and spa. The restaurant is currently closed as The Swan undergoes a multi-million pound investment to redesign of the restaurant, meeting & events spaces. Accommodation is be available on a room only basis in the newly renovated rooms and guests can purchase breakfast, lunch and refreshments onsite at the Boat House Cafe and dine in the local restaurants a short walk from the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan at Streatley

Address: High Street, Streatley-on-Thames RG8 9HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Streatley-on-Thames
Price Range: $115 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan at Streatley 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Swan at Streatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan At Streatley Hotel Streatley On Thames
Swan At Streatley On Thames
Swan Streatley Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan at Streatley staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room with a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles 864genevieves, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear of the hotel overlooking the river are glorious.”
 of 5 bubbles colinj506, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“best views”
 of 5 bubbles 123businessreview, 27 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The larger rooms with river views are very good”
 of 5 bubbles johnlA1387CX, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a riverside room on the first floor, the views are simply amazing.”
 of 5 bubbles 380johnyg, 1 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay