We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

George Hotel

Booking.comUSD 50*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
May 7 May 8
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
George Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

377 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for George Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 377: English reviews
Leeds, West Yorkshire.
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

After an absence of seven years I decided to visit the Severn Valley Railway (SVR) for the weekend. It was the weekend when Flying Scotsman and Tornado were there! I checked out a few places to stay in the area online and eventually chose the George Hotel in Bewdley which is about ten minutes walk from the SVR station. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nigel K
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I'm sorry to read you were disappointed with your visit. I'm afraid we are a room only hotel but do have a breakfast menu available to purchase in the restaurant with lots of options to choose from. I'm sorry we did not have the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Lovely old building, full of character. Room small but clean and comfortable, nice and quiet (at back of building). Good breakfast available in the pub/restaurant. Can highly recommend to anyone coming to events at the SVR, or just visiting the area.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith H
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your lovely review! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and would recoomend us to others. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next visit to Bewdley

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

We stayed at the George Hotel for two nights . The room was spacious and we had a large walk in shower. The room was also well equipped with Kettle and plenty of tea and coffee. The towels were also plentiful. We found that all the staff were very helpful from the receptionist to the bar staff and waiting staff....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie/Richa... S
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay at our hotel. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay and your meals in our restaurant. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next time you visit Bewdley.

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

A really nice old building, sympathetically modernised. My room was spacious and with a bit of character, overlooking the street in front of the hotel. The bathroom was a bit basic but perfectly acceptable. The bar was distinctly under-staffed, even though the bar/restaurant wasn't particularly busy, so both check-in and ordering a meal was slow despite the staff being helpful....

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JohnP1248
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your recent visit to us in Bewdley. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with your room. I'm sorry if our service wasn't as quick as it should've been, we will look into why this was the case so that we can improve...

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Perfect, been three times and will go again, safe free parking, lovely room, and good value food and drink. Bewdley is a lovely town on the river seven with the seven vally railway running alongside the river so there is plenty to see and do, also great for fishing for barbel.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickn65
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello! Thank you so much for your kind comments and for taking the time to leave them. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also that it was your third visit! Looking forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Bewdley!!

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Happy receptionist on arrival. Room was excellent with separate washing facilities. Good location for buses to Ludlow and Kidderminster, 5 mins walk to Severn Valley Railway. Staff very friendly even on busy Friday and Saturday night. As with any Wetherspoon's lodges or pubs good selection of real ales.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank epcot2000
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your lovely review! I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and were happy with the service you received from everyone at The George. Look forward to seeing you next time!

Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

I asked for a lower floor room which I did not get but did not complain as we were only there for two days and it was a late booking. Room small but very clean with all facilities apart from t.v being on top of the wardrobe which meant you had a crick in your neck trying to watch it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank margshell29
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your review following your stay with us. I'm sorry we were unable to accommodate you with a lower floored room, we do try and assist with all requests but unfortunately this time we did not have anything available. I'm also sorry for any noise disturbances you had during the evening, although...

Brigg, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

This was the first time I'd stopped in a wetherspoons hotel, it was a pleasant experience the room(208) though in the rafters of the building was comfortable, you did need the light on even during the daylight. There was a problem with the toilet flushing, but after reporting that to reception it was corrected for my return that evening. My...

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nigel336
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your stay with us. I'm glad your first visit to a Wetherspoon hotel was a pleasant one! Due to the age and quirkiness of the building, the rooms do vary a lot in size and shape, so if you are ever unhappy with a room, please do not...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 September 2016

A An interesting historical hotel with easy access to the nearby Severn valley railway witch is great for railway buffs! Inside its a typical Wetherspoons with pictures of local interest and a nice selection of real ales at cheap prices ,perfect for railway &real ale buffs!!!

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon
 Report
Helpful?
Thank bobsmodelrailway
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us. I'm pleased you liked the character of our historical hotel and that we had a good selection of ales on for you. Hope you enjoyed severn valley railway! See you again next time.

Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Popped in last Friday night for a light meal and a drink. We settled for Fish and Chips twice with peas, I had a pint of Real Ale and my dearest a glass of Chardonnay with our meals. So for less than £ 12 we were fed and watered, for a cheapy what more could you want!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vince G
Paige S, Manager at George Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback following your visit to our restaurant in Bewdley. I'm pleased you were happy with your meals and drinks. Look forward to seeing you both next time!

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (15)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
May 7 May 8
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bewdley
1.7 km away
Mercure Kidderminster Hotel
3.4 km away
Gainsborough House Hotel
Gainsborough House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Kidderminster
438 reviews
5.4 km away
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
Hallmark Hotel Stourport Manor
#1 of 1 in Stourport-on-Severn
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
Premier Inn Kidderminster Hotel
#2 of 5 in Kidderminster
647 reviews
21.3 km away
The Crown
The Crown
#1 of 12 in Worcester
369 reviews
7.5 km away
The Granary Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about George Hotel

Address: Load Street, Bewdley DY12 2AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Bewdley
Price Range: $64 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from George Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Bolton, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from George Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn stay just went for meaj”
Y3776TKjuliel, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Take your chance but avoid 302 !!!!!!”
naomim574, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“See the room before you hand over your card”
576davidjames, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a standard room with a shower.”
Geoff122, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you need a accessible room ask! It was well appointed. The quirky routes for the wheel need explanation.”
8Linda8, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
USD 50* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUSD 50
PricelineUSD 50
LateRooms.com
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates