We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Crown Inn

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

251 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 250: English reviews
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 August 2016

nice room ,a very nice building in a great location with everything in the town within walking distance , the breakfast was excellant , all members of staff that i met were very helpful and very courteous

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank james h
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your positive review - we aim to please.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 August 2016 via mobile

Some nice beer and the food was decent. Bar staff particularly rude, especially the blonde girl, as rude as rude can be. Pretty poor attitude. First time in Hebden Bridge and it's a lovely place, this was the first pub we came to, would try the other ones next time.

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank G M
Pamela R, Manager at Crown Inn, responded to this review

You seem to have reviewed another establishment - we have not been serving food (which you rate as decent) and no member of staff can be described as rude and blonde.

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed at crown Inn 29th & 30th Aug was made welcome and had a brill time thanks to Pamela landlady clean rooms and friendly atmosphere thanks pam all rooms themed and quirky try the old gate for good food

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paul A
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Very pleased you enjoyed staying with us, we're quite new here and scheduling continuous improvements - all suggestions very welcome.

Portland, Oregon
Reviewed 31 July 2016

Spacious, comfortable room, and a large bathroom, which was a treat.. Enjoyed the decor. The breakfast was wonderful, and the host very considerate. Great R & B music downstairs in the pub. Location is very close to a pedestrian area, which was really nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank _amgadbois
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

Far better to reserve judgement until you have stayed here. TripAdvisor reviews are sadly much open to abuse, as has evidently happened in this case, to the great discredit of the writers. We stayed at The Crown Inn last night - four damp muddy walkers from the Pennine Way at the end of a long day. Clean neat bedroom -...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tamlynalex
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We really appreciate your review. We are endeavouring to improve and diversify & we are very pleased that you and other walkers enjoy staying with us.

bedale
Reviewed 4 July 2016

we hired the room 'indulgence', it should have been named 'negligence', in the morning we discovered a dirty mattress WITHOUT a cover i hazard a guess that it was blood as well as brown stains, dirty room, smallest 'full' english ive ever had, we had a few pints in the bar on the night and i told the 'landlady' that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank willBedale
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Your review is acrimonious and extremely distorted and very vindictive – your objective to severely damage an honest business, fuelled by your transparent prejudices. • The room you stayed in comprises double shower, separate wc with double handbasins, kingsize circular bed, double couch, fridge, TV/DVD ……. • Our rooms are very clean – remarked on by many previous reviewers. •...

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Rumors of a lack of hot water are rubbish. It is an old building and the water takes a while to heat up. The proprietress is lovely and eager to please. We were very comfortable here and the price was very reasonable. The location is ideal, smack in the middle of this hip, "alternative" town. We would strongly recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alan G
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for support and recommendation - glad you enjoyed staying with us.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Such a shame to waste a night in such beautiful countryside in such dismal surroundings, but sadly our walking company had booked us in and we were innocent victims. The whole place feels as though you have suffocated in dark chocolate brown. No problems with African decor, but please do it well and make it either pleasant or uplifting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
9Thank Jenny C
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We cannot understand your statement that our establishment is dismal – suffocating you in dark chocolate brown – when the main area was redecorated 3 months ago (after we were flooded) and the décor is very light, no brown walls (just owner’s brown face). The rooms cannot be described as dismal – and a very small percentage of brown walls....

Ironbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

contrary to the really unpleasant reviews on here, the Crown inn is an OK place to stay. I had a really nice chat with the lady who runs the B&B and Pub and she said that she gets real negativity in her town about her and her Pub. I think Hebden Bridge should embrace this lady and her interesting decor-...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rob F
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review - nice to be appreciated! We took over last year and are continuing with planned improvements.

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

After looking at some "terrible" reviews I have to say a completely disagree. I don't understand how people can complain about being proud of your roots! Also why try an pull someone down for trying to make a living? The design of the decor is beautiful I really like the mixed styled decor. It just shows that the crown inn...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nikita M
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - many thanks for your very positive review. We are developing the business, having taken over last year, and are continuing to make improvements.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
354 reviews
8.0 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
268 reviews
6.5 km away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 km away
Moyles
Moyles
#4 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
40 reviews
0.1 km away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#1 of 22 in Hebden Bridge
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently reopened in December 2012 after the floods in July of the same year. After a full refurbishment we rebranded ourselves to further improve your visit and our levels of customer service. We are a 4* Bed & Breakfast with hotel rooms on offer, a varied menu and lots of different drinks available, please don't hesitate to contact us to enquire about your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 10 Crown Street, Hebden Bridge HX7 8EH, England (Formerly Bar Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Price Range: $128 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Place Hotel Hebden Bridge
Crown Inn Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gemini is painted dark brown but has big windows and is not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Pints, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay clear of the crown”
 of 5 bubbles willBedale, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Keep your eyes closed”
 of 5 bubbles jennycP3959LV, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are clean the juliet has an outside balcony for fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles mrsbmiddlesbrough, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Let the Land lady help you with the choice of room to suite your needs”
 of 5 bubbles 769murdom, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5