We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crown Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Crown Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 235: English reviews
bedale
Reviewed 4 July 2016

we hired the room 'indulgence', it should have been named 'negligence', in the morning we discovered a dirty mattress WITHOUT a cover i hazard a guess that it was blood as well as brown stains, dirty room, smallest 'full' english ive ever had, we had a few pints in the bar on the night and i told the 'landlady' that...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank willBedale
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Your review is acrimonious and extremely distorted and very vindictive – your objective to severely damage an honest business, fuelled by your transparent prejudices. • The room you stayed in comprises double shower, separate wc with double handbasins, kingsize circular bed, double couch, fridge, TV/DVD ……. • Our rooms are very clean – remarked on by many previous reviewers. •...

Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

Rumors of a lack of hot water are rubbish. It is an old building and the water takes a while to heat up. The proprietress is lovely and eager to please. We were very comfortable here and the price was very reasonable. The location is ideal, smack in the middle of this hip, "alternative" town. We would strongly recommend the...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Alan G
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for support and recommendation - glad you enjoyed staying with us.

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2016

Such a shame to waste a night in such beautiful countryside in such dismal surroundings, but sadly our walking company had booked us in and we were innocent victims. The whole place feels as though you have suffocated in dark chocolate brown. No problems with African decor, but please do it well and make it either pleasant or uplifting. The...

 Report
Helpful?
8Thank Jenny C
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We cannot understand your statement that our establishment is dismal – suffocating you in dark chocolate brown – when the main area was redecorated 3 months ago (after we were flooded) and the décor is very light, no brown walls (just owner’s brown face). The rooms cannot be described as dismal – and a very small percentage of brown walls....

Ironbridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 June 2016

contrary to the really unpleasant reviews on here, the Crown inn is an OK place to stay. I had a really nice chat with the lady who runs the B&B and Pub and she said that she gets real negativity in her town about her and her Pub. I think Hebden Bridge should embrace this lady and her interesting decor-...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Rob F
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review - nice to be appreciated! We took over last year and are continuing with planned improvements.

Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

After looking at some "terrible" reviews I have to say a completely disagree. I don't understand how people can complain about being proud of your roots! Also why try an pull someone down for trying to make a living? The design of the decor is beautiful I really like the mixed styled decor. It just shows that the crown inn...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Nikita M
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - many thanks for your very positive review. We are developing the business, having taken over last year, and are continuing to make improvements.

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2016

I decided to spontaneously book the Crown Inn with my partner. It was easy to find in a great location. We was greeted very well and sat down for a nice drink before being shown to our room. We were shown to our rooms efficiently. The lady lady was upbeat, talking to us in a friendly manner and informative. The...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank OMAR163
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us - looking forward to your next visit!

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 June 2016

From the moment we turned up the landlady was unpleasant and bordering rude, her first words were that hotel.com had made a mistake and she has been arguing with them for days about not renting the family room to 3 adults, after that intro I then suggested that we get our money back so we could go somewhere more suitable...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Garyandlou
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We’re sorry that you felt the need to post such a damaging review – especially as it does not represent the facts (as recorded on CCTV and reported by witnesses): • You booked the family room online, through an agency - for you & your partner & your mother. • When you arrived the owner tried to explain that this...

Reviewed 7 June 2016 via mobile

I have been stopping at the Crown for the last three months. Two and sometime three nights a week. Pam is the perfect host and has always made me very welcome. I have stayed in three of the rooms and they all have two things in common. 1 very clean with a comfortable bed 2 extremely good bathrooms with a...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Martin F
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Many thanks for your positive review and recommendation! You are also the perfect guest!

Reviewed 31 May 2016

An ok room (noisy, but that's to be expected in a town centre pub) and an ok breakfast, but the welcome and service were unfriendly. Couldn't work out if the landlady's approach was meant to be dry humour or rudeness, but it certainly wasn't warm and welcoming.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank M S
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

We're sorry you found our service unfriendly. The landlady is very enthusiastic but sometimes misunderstood with her mixture of Nigerian and Merseyside humour - certainly no rudeness intended!

Sitges/Yorkshire
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

We visit here regularly and we always receive a warm personal welcome from Pamela and her team. Great decor and friendly atmosphere. Sky and BT sports when you want it. Excellent service snd always a friendly word. If you're visiting Hebden Bridge it's well worth a visit.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank SpanishMike
Pamela R, Owner at Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your positive review - we enjoy your company too!

45 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hebden Bridge
0.1 km away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
331 reviews
8.0 km away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
257 reviews
6.5 km away
The Queen Hotel
The Queen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Todmorden
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 km away
Moyles
Moyles
#4 of 21 in Hebden Bridge
37 reviews
0.1 km away
Croft Mill
Croft Mill
#1 of 21 in Hebden Bridge
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently reopened in December 2012 after the floods in July of the same year. After a full refurbishment we rebranded ourselves to further improve your visit and our levels of customer service. We are a 4* Bed & Breakfast with hotel rooms on offer, a varied menu and lots of different drinks available, please don't hesitate to contact us to enquire about your stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crown Inn

Address: 10 Crown Street, Hebden Bridge HX7 8EH, England (Formerly Bar Place)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Hebden Bridge
Price Range: $134 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Travelocity so you can book your Crown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Place Hotel Hebden Bridge
Crown Inn Hebden Bridge, West Yorkshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crown Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Crown Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Gemini is painted dark brown but has big windows and is not noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles Pints, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“stay clear of the crown”
 of 5 bubbles willBedale, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Keep your eyes closed”
 of 5 bubbles jennycP3959LV, 23 Jun 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are clean the juliet has an outside balcony for fresh air”
 of 5 bubbles mrsbmiddlesbrough, 21 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Let the Land lady help you with the choice of room to suite your needs”
 of 5 bubbles 769murdom, 22 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay