We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Posada Azul

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Posada Azul
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

343 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 307: English reviews
Start your review of La Posada Azul
 Click to rate
Brisbane
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was like a small boutique hotel in a hectic beach town. All rooms opened into this lovely blue themed indoor/outdoor lounge and veranda living area. There were lovely lounge settings for sitting and relaxing. The floors were all polished wood with great decor. The pool was just fantastic and a little bit of heaven to relax in the heat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank L_and_RBrisbane
Virginia
Reviewed 1 week ago

La Posada Azul is great! It is very conveniently located downtown. It is not on the noisy streets, but within a 1 minute walk to all the restaurants, bars and shopping. You can see the beach from the front entrance (i.e. very close). It is beautifully appointed and very nicely remodeled. The rooms are a great size, super clean and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ShanieBartlett
New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This place was great, it was right in the middle of everything but still super quiet! I loved the free breakfast! It has a nice porch area where you can chill with a book and a shaded pool with bar if you need a break from the sun! Would definitely return!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy858
Spokane
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Small hotel, only about 7 rooms - about 2 blocks from the ocean. We stayed here twice on our trip. We stayed here twice on our trip for a total of about 8 nights. The beds in both rooms were not very comfortable, but I think pretty standard for hotels in the area. The courtyard area was like an oasis;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Datagram
Oklahoma
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

This was a wonderful place to stay. It is quaint with only 7 rooms. 1/2 block from the beach. WONDERFUL breakfast. Staff was so helpful too. Highly recommend staying here if you are in San Juan Del Sur!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Melika688
Nelson, Canada
Reviewed 8 February 2017 via mobile

I loved this place, with its big wooden porches, lovely gardens & shady areas to relax, plus the pool came with a iguana. Very clean, great breakfasts, wifi everywhere, nice pool. I think what I liked best about this place was how they used the antiques as functional pieces. Beds are very comfortable. If you like natural light, book a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robyn G
Dickinson, North Dakota
Reviewed 28 January 2017

Fabulous breakfast - fresh fruit plate, homemade juice, muffins, and savory main dish such as broccoli quiche or breakfast burrito was amazing. It was fresh and delicious. Serve yourself coffee or tea and sit in the shade or sun by the beauitful pool. Snacks and drinks are on the honor system outside of breakfast time. Our room had air conditioning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NDAdventurers
Reviewed 27 January 2017

We arrived late in the day to discover the 3 rooms we had confirmed, and paid for, were mysteriously unavailable. We stayed at the Hotel Victoriano--beach front, very nice--but we wondered what happened to our confirmed and purchased rooms. Now we have to deal with getting our refund.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela S
propietarios1950, Owner at La Posada Azul, responded to this review

We are sorry you had this experience at our hotel , we researched with our manager what happened and this is what we found out in our managers words ... "The reservation was through Cloudbeds on our website. We did not understand what happend because when it is a reservation from booking, expedia, or our website ,that should close the...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

As it was NY the rooms were more expensive than normal. I'd definitely recommend staying here, the hotel was small and nicely laid out. The rooms were comfortable, clean, good AC and with a safe. The rooms were cleaned daily and pool towels provided. There is an honesty box for drinks and snacks which I always find useful. The breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank katythompsonuk
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Really great place to stay. The best breakfast of 3 week trip to Nicaragua. Good WIFI, safe in room, air con, hot water and confy beds made our stay a pleasure. We had the delux room which gave us a portch overlooking the pool. Definitely worth it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sam T

183 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (179)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (34)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (38)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan del Sur hotels
0.1 km away
Barrio Cafe Hotel
Barrio Cafe Hotel
#5 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
205 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Alcazar
Hotel Alcazar
#11 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
160 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Victoriano
Hotel Victoriano
#12 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Rositas Hotel
Rositas Hotel
#8 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
145 reviews
2.6 km away
El Jardin Hotel
El Jardin Hotel
#9 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
224 reviews
2.2 km away
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
Villas de Palermo Hotel & Resort
#10 of 27 in San Juan del Sur
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
La Posada Azul is located just steps from the beach in a beautifully refurbished historic wood house in San Juan Del Sur, Nicaragua . Each elegantly appointed room has a private bath, hot water and air conditioning. Enjoy a cold drink in the palapa by our large pool in our garden that is filled with colorful bougainvillas. Our famous breakfasts are served on the porch and are included in the room rate.We are proud to announce the opening of our "little sister" Hotelito El Coco Azul located adjacent to our Posada. El Coco Azul offers a more moderate priced stay in San Juan del Sur, but with the same cleanliness and attention to detail as we are known for at La Posada Azul ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Posada Azul

Address: Avenida del Parque, San Juan del Sur, Nicaragua
Region: Nicaragua > Rivas Department > San Juan del Sur
Price Range: $143 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Posada Azul 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your La Posada Azul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Posada Azul Hotel San Juan Del Sur
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Posada Azul staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
columbia, maryland
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from La Posada Azul staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms would be similar but all very nice”
  • everything you needed
 of 5 bubbles L_and_RBrisbane, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All the rooms seemed great (and unique)!”
 of 5 bubbles ShanieBartlett, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1 is closest to the street. Anything from room 4 and up is probably the quieter choice.”
 of 5 bubbles Datagram, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“room 4 was pretty small for 2 people”
 of 5 bubbles akimi, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Room 6 was the "upgraded" and had a nice porch for sitting.”
 of 5 bubbles Lynne_n_Steve, 31 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5