We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Solstice

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Solstice
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

310 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Solstice
See the most recent reviews
Showing 309: English reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family for ONE night. That was all the more we could take. Hotel was completely filthy. Stains everywhere. The floor was so dirty we didn't take our shoes off the entire trip. Stains all over the comforter. Hallway smelled of smoke and rooms smelled musty. Ended up having an allergy attack from the dust caked on the ceiling...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank travelbug2122
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival, the room doors were propped open. Anyone could have been lurking in our rooms. The carpeting was stained with what looked like cigarette ashes, the couch full of unknown stains, the curtains were even stained, and the bed sheets also stained. Dust built up on the ceiling fan blades. Thick dirt was around the bathroom floor. Light bulbs...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank reviewer1086
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Bolivar, OH, United States
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel because I had points to burn from a business trip several years ago. I've stayed at Country Inn's in the past and have always enjoyed them. The bed was comfortable. The room could have used some work. Scuff marks on the walls, lightbulbs that were burnt out, the fan didn't go fast to circulate the...

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy D
Hancock
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Our stay there was great. We just noticed that around the picture frames and on the headboards of the desk hadn't been dusted in a very long time. The continental breakfast was wonderful. You can save the money you pay for breakfast in a restaurant and eat their continental breakfast. The woman doing the breakfast kept things full, and offered...

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean J
Reviewed 23 August 2014

I will admit, I was afraid what I would find upon check-in after reading the reviews on here. After I arrived at the hotel I was immediately put at ease. The hotel was very nice. There were minor issues that management needs to address such replacing curtains that had small stains and a minor crack on the ceiling in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenieboy
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Really enjoyed our time at this hotel. Very clean and friendly. Pool was too cold but whirlpool was too hot.... Other than that, would recommend to other people. Looking forward to staying their again.

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Katrina M
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We arrived a bit early and they had two rooms cleaned at 1:00. The first room was directly across from the pool. Upon entering it had a terrible musty smoky smell. The carpet was FILTHY, I wouldn't let anyone with bare feet on that. The holes where the sprinkler system is were not done properly and the walls had TONS...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zena33
CarlsonRezidor, Carlson at Solstice, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Buffalo NY
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff was very friendly & attentive - too bad the Inn tarnished their efforts! It worked for our 1 night stay for Erie days ...but was glad we were 1 & done. The place is run down & in need of many repairs. Walls are dirty, as is carpeting & our toilet ran all night. The place was sold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrHackBflo
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact Corporate Customer Care.

Prospect, United States
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our room had a broken bed and 2 holes in the walls, the hotel was full so they did not fix it and could not move us to another room (they did give us 1 night free but made no effort to fix or replace the bed). The breakfast had frozen milk, a broken waffle iron, stale cereal, the wrong...

Review collected in partnership with Country Inns & Suites By Carlson
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
CarlsonRezidor, Online, Customer Support at Solstice, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services with the condition of our guest rooms and breakfast. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations. If you would like to discuss your...

Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were told they had cribs right at check in and then had to call several times before they brought a broken pack n play. We were told that was all they had so had to sleep with baby. The carpeting and sofa in our suite was very dirty and breakfast was a bit chaotic with things running out. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheri P

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erie hotels
0.2 km away
Wingate by Wyndham Erie
0.2 km away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Erie
0.1 km away
Home2 Suites By Hilton Erie, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Candlewood Suites Erie
0.1 km away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#29 of 38 in Erie
268 reviews
4.0 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Solstice features an indoor pool and a fitness center. High-speed wireless Internet access is complimentary. A complimentary breakfast is offered each morning. This family-friendly hotel also offers complimentary newspapers in the lobby, a fireplace in the lobby, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Onsite self parking is complimentary. Solstice is a smoke-free property. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solstice

Address: 8040 Oliver Rd, Erie, PA 16509-4620 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Erie South)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Erie
Price Range: $105 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Solstice 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Solstice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson Erie South
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Erie South Hotel Erie
Country Inn Erie South
Erie Country Inn
Country Inn Suite Erie
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solstice staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Solstice staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We liked the 1st floor. The pool was a few doors away and the little ones loved that and so did we.”
 of 5 bubbles 787phyllisc, 22 Aug 2016 | Read review
“We were on the 3rd floor near the elevator & vending machines_Quiet. 1st floor had extra padding under the carpeting.”
 of 5 bubbles CrunchandMunch17, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I would not stay again”
 of 5 bubbles mortaleffect, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Pick another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles W3607HWrebeccaf, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms here. The rooms are in drastic need of renovation.”
 of 5 bubbles 352kayh, 2 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5