We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Black Horse Lodge and Suites

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Black Horse Lodge and Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

116 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Black Horse Lodge and Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 116: English reviews
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 10 January 2012

If you need a nice place to stay for 1 night this is it. It was clean and the mirror on the ceiling made me laugh.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank bull69
Lancaster, PA
Reviewed 16 December 2011

This place has been here forever, but it's great. Many years ago it was a Howard Johnsons and I think the current owners have made it an even better place for couples or families. I've stayed in both the king rooms, which are much larger than your average chain hotel and the full suites with kitchen and living room/dining room....

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank wildraisin
Reading, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I don't live far from the Black Horse, but hadn't experienced it until this week. Because of the freak October snowstorm that knocked out power for days, we were scrambling to find a room for our family/young kids. We stayed one night at a chain hotel that increased its price dramatically because of demand. The next day, I called the...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank 182Kristi182
Milltown, New Jersey
Reviewed 20 October 2011

My husband and I stayed with his family (two adults and two kids) in a large room (two double beds, kids slept on the floor). The room was simple and clean and the woman booking the reservations was super-sweet and helpful! We had a continental breakfast the next day and it totally was sufficient! The hotel was about 20 minutes...

 Report
Helpful?
6Thank Gianna H
Newtown Square, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 4 October 2011

When Hurricane Irene came in August 2011, we retreated to Lancaster county. We had reservations at the Black Horse. Maybe we looked at the wrong rooms, but at the top of the rise past the swimming pool we found rooms with small doors and not enough light. Clean enough and the Hotel staff was very cordial, but we opted for...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Robert B
BlackHorse272, Restaurant Manager at Black Horse Lodge and Suites, responded to this review

Dear RobertB, I am truly sorry to hear about the experience you had at The Black Horse Restaurant. We pride ourselves on having a friendly and professional staff, so I assure you that I am taking your comments very seriously, although I sincerely hope that this is just an unfortunate misunderstanding. I have sent you an email via tripadvisor with...

NYC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I was recently married in the denver area and our home base for all things wedding was the Black Horse lodge. We had freinds and family from all over the country in town and the staff at the Black Horse was exceptional. They went above and beyond in everyway they could and I am yet to hear any minor complaints...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank ksaves
BlackHorseLodge, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Lodge and Suites, responded to this review

It was our great honor to host your guests, as we know it was one of the biggest days of your lives. We truly loved serving all the guests. Thank you for reccommending the Black Horse Lodge.Best wishes to the newly weds.

Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewed 20 September 2011

I recently traveled to the Black Horse for a friend's wedding, where many of the guests stayed at this property. We had a great time!! The staff was very hospitable; they really went out of their way to make sure everyone was taken care of. They even kept the restaurant open late for us! The restaurant was convenient and the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank trvlgal30
BlackHorse272, Director of Sales at Black Horse Lodge and Suites, responded to this review

I am glad to hear that you had a great time; this was such a fun weekend for all of us as well! The restaurant was more than happy to stay open late for the private after-party and we are so glad that you took advantage of the new outdoor dining terrace. Thank you for your feedback; we are currently...

Brooklyn, New York
Reviewed 2 September 2011

This was the third or fourth time I've stayed at Black Horse. It's clean, with good, comfy beds, quiet, and the staff is helpful. This last visit, the wi-fi in the room was intermittent, but worked in the office just fine. The food in the tavern at the same site is dependable, reasonably priced and more interesting than other restaurants...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BklynPhyllis
BlackHorseLodge, Front Office Manager at Black Horse Lodge and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for being a loyal customer and for leaving us such a nice review. We strive for great hospitality and exceptional service. I am sorry the wi-fi was not being very cooperative for your visit, unfortunately, the weather can effect the connection. The tavern does offer great food and don't forget they run daily specials.

Garden City, New York
Reviewed 1 September 2011

Recently remodeled and a couple of notches above your typical motel. Restaurant is quite good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnmack63
BlackHorse272, Director of Sales at Black Horse Lodge and Suites, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind review, John. We are continuously rennovating the rooms and the surrounding property, so it is great that you have noticed some of the improvements. I am glad that you were able to enjoy the restaurant during your stay. We have a very talented chef and a great staff. I hope that we see you again...

Cape May, New Jersey
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was checking hotelconnect.com for some places to stay near Lititz PA for a Soccer Tournament weekend with our son's soccer team and family. I came upon the Black Horse and decided to stay her because of all the amenities it had for us. We needed a pool, they had a really nice and clean one. We needed a nice...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Carol Ann H
BlackHorse272, Director of Sales at Black Horse Lodge and Suites, responded to this review

Congrats on your tournament win; we knew you had it in the bag and can't wait to see the photos! And thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We had such a great time with your group and hope you will find yourselfs in the area again soon. With our outdoor pool, flat, open land, and...

42 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Denver
0.3 km away
Comfort Inn of Lancaster County North
0.5 km away
Red Roof Inn Denver
Red Roof Inn Denver
#3 of 7 in Denver
91 reviews
8.6 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ephrata - Mountain Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Lititz Inn & Suites
Lititz Inn & Suites
#2 of 2 in Lititz
62 reviews
12.2 km away
Rodeway Inn Akron
Rodeway Inn Akron
#1 of 1 in Akron
34 reviews
25.0 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Myerstown - Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Black Horse Lodge & Suites is an exterior property with seven different room types, all of which are equipped with wireless internet access, regrigerator, hair dryer, coffee maker, iron & board (other amenities are available). A complimentary deluxe continental breakfast is served each morning of your stay. You will enjoy our picnic pavilion with BBQ grills and an outdoor swimming pool on our ten park-like acres. The Black Horse also has an award-winning restaurant & tavern open seven days a week specializing in Certified Angus Beef, seafood and vegetarian dishes. The Black Horse Lodge & Suites is located on the Antiques Capital USA antique mile, just off the PA Turnpike exit 286. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Black Horse Lodge and Suites

Address: 2180 N Reading Rd, Exit 286, Pennsylvania Turnpike & Route 272, Denver, PA 17517-9324
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Lancaster County > Denver
Price Range: $114 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Horse Lodge and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Black Horse Lodge and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Horse Hotel Denver
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Black Horse Lodge and Suites staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Staten Island, New York
9 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Black Horse Lodge and Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I don't there are any”
Q4059KOdianes, 5 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Less expensive than the surrounding chain hotels, BUT ............”
237katiek, 7 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Sadly, there doesn't seem to be any good rooms.”
JudiB263, 7 Feb 2015 | Read review
“First Floor when available, No elevators that I know of.”
The_1979_Critic, 12 Jan 2015 | Read review
“We stayed in an executive suite which was a great deal and very comfortable.”
irishsccr81, 11 Nov 2014 | Read review
5 of 5